We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nashoba Festival of Lights”

Nashoba Valley Ski Area
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Westford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located only 45 minutes from downtown Boston, this ski and recreational area is popular for year-round fun.
Milford, New Hampshire
1 review
“Nashoba Festival of Lights”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Nashoba Festival of lights in my opinion is a waste of time and money. The website pictures made it look so promising, but when we got there it was another story. The entrance fee $18 per person, for a 10 minute ride on a tractor with a guide who talked more about drunken elves and things irrelevant to Christmas. Rides are included with the entrance fee but honestly the rides were not great, and more for very young children, so older children focus more on the games which cost even more money.
We spent a total of 40 minutes at the place with our 7 yr old daughter, after trudging through mud and puddles in the parking lot to get to the front entrance. Carnival rides and games and a petting zoo do not seem to be a Christmas festivity at all and really added nothing to the event. In addition, the carnival games were outrageously priced but how do you say no to a child after you paid $18 to go to a festival and you’re done in 10 minutes and ready to leave? $10 to play a game and win a stuffed animal that is no more than 6 inches tall. So needless to say, we spent 40 minutes at the Festival of lights and $80 ($60 to get in the place and $20 on games) and went home feeling cheated, ripped off and so not in the Christmas spirit. I definitely do not recommend the Festival of lights especially if you have more than one child, you will drop a fortune and walk away wondering what you just spent all that money on.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    39
    22
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Expensive”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Displays are old and tacky and will only be enchanting to those 5 and under - not worth $18. The night of our visit they were making snow and it was windy - so much so we were pelted with the snow which felt like ice. Cold and wet in first 10minutes which the warming tent and fire pits couldn't help. We ended up leaving after the hayride.

Could be so much better - hide the tacky tiki hut area, get rid of carnival v. holiday atmosphere think more like global ski village. Make light displays closer together to make better transition with no down time during ride - little kids and tired parents have short attention spans. Make last display a walk through so little kids can get up close and personal like at Jordans Enchanged Village. More activities for kids: make holiday crafts, snowman making, decorate gingerbread cookie, scavenger hunt, igloo maze (real or faux), engage local students in arts/culinary programs to create ice sculptures, band/chorus to entertain & theatre club to put on a play, have talented skiiers/boarders put on show doing tricks, create walk through decorated trees with a different them every yr (country, sport, color, etc.) create world market area for christmas shopping where different country/culture specific organizations rent booths/little houses to sell their wares, partner with local charities (for the love of erika, the wish project, loaves&fishes) to collect donations every night open in exchange for discounted tix or free raffle tix, engage local merchants to provide giveaways (free or via raffle tix where money goes to charity). Encourage all ages to linger, spend money and help others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sister90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tubing area, but small ski and snowboard area”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The tubing area was fantastic. On the other hand, the ski and snowboard area were good , but not as good as the tubing area. To begin with, the ski and snowboard area was a bit small, but was still fun. The terrain park was good, also. The restaurant was great. If I were to rate the ski and snowboard area from a beginner to expert, I would say Nashoba Valley is a beginner mountain. Other than that it is a small mountain, I recommend this hotel to othe skiiers/snowboarders.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

this place is good expecially for kids. There is ski lessons and snow tubing. I will be going here again even though the wait is very long

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smrithi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
334 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great family skiing close to home”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

For people who want to bring their family skiing, but don't enjoy the time it takes to get there, this may be a perfect solution. Although this does not provide the challenges and variety of trails, it will bring the skiing experience to you without driving 3 hours to do so. Weekends and night skiing lines are larger than average, but they do have plenty of air and surface lifts to get you to the top. Since all will bring you literally to the same spot, it doesn't matter which lift you take.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aram1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nashoba Valley Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Nashoba Valley Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing