We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a favorite in town”
Review of Tavern Restaurant

Tavern Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Westfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westfield, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“always a favorite in town”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

been going there for a few years now and never had a bad experience. Tried many of the menu items and never had a bad meal. Great place for a date or to bring a family.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank shaneq158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Old Time Tavern”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Tavern Restaurant is located in a former post office built in 1910. The interior 20 foot ceilings along with several arched windows add to the ambience of this century old building. With it's granite foundation and limestone block walls the building served as a former civil defense shelter during the Cold War.

The structure might be what brings you in but the quality of food and service will surely bring you back. We eat here often. The atmosphere is like an old time tavern; the service is quick and courteous; the price is right; and the food is plentiful and delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fantastic625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will never go back.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were a party of 15 people getting together for Christmas. we had made reservations months in advance we were called the day before and were confimed for our 6:30 to 6:45 reservation. When we arrived we were told it would be a 20min. wait by a very nasty owner or manager so we went in the bar. and stood there as there was no place to sit. the rest of our party was standing in the stairs. we went to check how much longer and we were told another 15 min. no apolgy just very blunt look that said take it or leave it. we decied to leave. I am not sure how the food would have been. I already had a bad taste of the place and the nasty owner. So if you make reservations for a group you may end up all dressed up with nowhere to go. I'f Westfield had more restaurants they would not be in business.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unimaginative, basic, bland food”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant offers a meat and potatoes type of menu. Is the food interesting? Inventive? Creative? No--it is the type of food that provides relief from hunger but it won't satisfy your senses or compel you to return. It is a totally forgetful dining experience and if Westfield had more dining options this place would have been out of business yesterday.

Helpful?
Thank stayeatshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Unlikely to return”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nothing of interest here. Salad soaked in dressing (order on the side folks), soup too thick (maybe a few pounds less of flour), main course bland and extremely fatty.

Oh, the baked potatoes were good.

So if you have a desire for a baked potato, try the tavern, otherwise try some place else.

Sorry

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RecRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tavern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing