We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westfield
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent one night in a suite on the first floor at this hotel. The hotel does not guarantee early check in, and when we arrived at noon (check in at 3), our room wasn't ready. However, the woman at the front desk told me to check back in about half an hour, and when I did, she gave me a room on the first floor. The room itself was large and clean. I thought the bedding was very comfortable. The room itself was showing some signs of wear and tear, but it was very clean. Even though we were on the first floor with a window to the parking lot, noise was at a minimum. The breakfast in the morning was simple but good. All of the housekeeping staff was very friendly and went out of their way to talk to my four year old daughter.

The only complaint I have about the hotel is the indoor pool. The water was very cloudy, you couldn't even see the bottom. I know sometimes this is an indication of a dirty pool, but since I could smell chlorine, I don't know what the cause was.

Other than the pool, this was a good hotel and we will definitely stay again when in the area. If you are planning on spending time in the room other than sleeping, definitely pay the extra money to upgrade to a suite, as you do get more room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregK1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking some time to provide us with your feedback. I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your room accommodations and that our staff had been so accommodating. I will be sure that our housekeeping staff recieves your kind words. We truly pride ourselves on providing a great guest experience. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having you visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Nathan Byrd - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    65
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
72
34
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westslny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I would like to give this hotel 2.5 stars.My experience was not poor, but it was below average. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable though the sheets were a little threadbare. I stayed here 7/26 for one night. Check in was fine, not overly friendly but ok.
I arrived with lunch leftovers, some water, juice and a bottle of wine. No refrigerator. It was the 1st time in a long time I have stayed in a chain hotel with no fridge or microwave. I was told at the front desk that they only have them in the suites. As a solo traveler, I hardly needed a suite. With the buying clout of Holiday Inn, I'm sure they could get them for $30 each. I had to put my dinner leftovers in the breakfast room refrigerator which was a total drag, as I really wanted a snack at 11pm, but I just didn't feel like getting dressed, going downstairs...etc.
The TV selection was terrible. FOUR espn channels, cartoons and news, news, news. No Food channel, HGTV , Lifetime or Lifetime Movie Channel.WOMEN TRAVEL TOO!
The bathroom was okay; the lights were really really bright and you couldn't just have the sink lights or the overhead on, you had to have both. The shower head was designed for an NBA player---IT was way high up. I didn't care about that except that the stream was stuck on pulse and it was too high up for me to adjust. this was no big deal and I probably wouldn't have even made a note of it without the other problems.
When I wanted to go to bed I realized I had no " do not disturb" card which meant a trip to the desk and requesting one from a somewhat sullen clerk.
Breakfast was beyond terrible. There was no place to sit, seven or eight people were in line for the toaster and they blocked the juice machine. Perhaps they could move the toaster and add a 2nd one. I grabbed a Styrofoam bowl, a couple sausage patties a piece of stale wheat bread and a little container of peanut butter and headed back to my room.
I'm not much of a complainer; I wasn't expecting The Ritz-Carleton. Hotels have to something about the breakfast thing. Offer cereal and breakfast sandwiches in a warming tray ala McDonalds. Offer a communal table for solo travelers.
A few tweaks and this place would be really nice. I for one would rather have a better cable package and a fridge and skip the granite counter, marble threshold and two phones ten feet apart.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear lily1949,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations with our amenities and the services you received. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here with my son and his team for a hockey tournament. We were greeted with very friendly and efficient service. The staff were ready to check in the whole team with keys and room numbers as soon as we arrived.

Our room was clean and modern. It backed on to the elevator, but we barely heard a sound. The kids loved the pool area. The complimentary breakfast offers a wide variety of items.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank is1groovygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. I was absolutely delighted to hear that your family had enjoyed the room accommodations, staff services, and a nice swim in our indoor heated pool. We truly pride ourselves on providing a great guest experience. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you visit us again whenever you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Nathan Byrd - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very good welcome from "junior" who gave us a room on the ground floor ,as we had lots of luggage.
We also appreciated his help in finding a good place to eat that evening.
We used the swimming pool, which was very good to relax after a long flight.
Breakfast good.
Easy to find this hotel from the through way ,but no road noise.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandS60plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. It was a pleasure to hear that you had enjoyed your accommodations, staff services, as well as starting the day off right with our Express Start Breakfast. I will be certain that our Guest Service Representative, Junior, receives your kind words. We truly pride ourselves on providing a great guest experience. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Nathan Byrd - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed for the night while passing through on our way back from Boston. It is a fairly new hotel, clean and comfortable. Junior at the front desk was helpful and friendly.
Westfield was a lovely, small town to visit also. We ate dinner at "Tavern" and breakfast at "Soups On" in town, supporting local business and drove around, admiring the lovely houses and tidy downtown before we hoped back on the I-90. A great place to stop and stay- the locals were incredibly nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilfish5626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. I was very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your accommodations and that our guest service agent, Junior, had been so accommodating. I will be certain that he receives your kind words. We truly pride ourselves on providing a great guest experience. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you visit us again whenever you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Nathan Byrd-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We took in a show at Tanglewood last night, and wanted to avoid all of the pricey "3 night minimum" deals at the hotels, inns, and B&B's in the immediate area around Tanglewood. And we also decided to pick a spot on the way back home to NH.

The Holiday Inn Westfield fit the bill. The staff was pleasant and accommodating and the room was clean. The hot & cold breakfast buffet offered was just fine before the ride home.

The location is ideal, easy off and on to the MA Turnpike. Would choose this hotel again in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bogeyjim30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking a few moments to provide us with some feedback. I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed the room accommodations, staff services, and starting your day off right with our Express Start Breakfast. We truly pride ourselves on providing a great guest experience. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Nathan Byrd - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I chose this hotel because it is the easiest location between I-90 and my parents house. I have stayed here before during the Snowpocalypse of October 2011 and that was an out of the ordinary experience. They had put us across from the emergency stairs and since the power lines eventually fell, we were up all night with people running up and down them. The worst part is the slamming of the doors. They either don't have door closers (the arm/hinge at the top of the door that has hydraulic dampers to regulate speed) or they do but they aren't adjusted correctly, because the force with which these doors close behind people - holy crap.

Anyway, I remembered that from last time and requested a quiet room. I was put NEXT to the stairs this time, but gave them the benefit of the doubt. Obviously circumstances were different this time and the elevator should filter out most people. At about 10PM it sounded like workers were using the stairs, and fyi they still slam. I only hope it wasn't the hotel maintenance workers because that would just show a complete lack of trade knowledge. I put ear plugs in and my boyfriend sleeps like a log so no true problem. Just a warning to others and if the hotel staff reads this, it's an easy fix to adjust them not to slam! If you don't have them, it'd be worth to take up with your owners.

The hotel itself if getting older but still perfectly acceptable. Room was average, clean. Check-in was nice. The guy was super friendly and joked with us too. I know the area and I would NOT stay at any of the other hotels in the direct area. So this is the place to stay if off I-90 is where you need to be!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back-right face a main drag for tractor trailers coming off I-90, so can get noisy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmkd_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. It was wonderful to hear that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us. I would like to extend our sincere apologies with regards to the stairwell doors that you had mentioned. I can assure you that your comments have been documented and we will certainly look further into this matter. We truly pride ourselves on providing a great guest experience and always welcome the opportunity for improvements. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having you visit us again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Nathan Byrd - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westfield
4.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Holyoke-Springfield/North
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicopee/Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn West Springfield
Hampton Inn West Springfield
#1 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
11.1 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield
Address: 39 Southampton Rd, Westfield, MA 01085-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Westfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westfield, Massachusetts Hotel Convenient to the Mass Turnpike The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Westfield, MA nestled in the foothills of the Berkshires, offers easy access to I-90 and is just a short drive from the city of Springfield and Bradley International Airport (BDL). The 100% non smoking Holiday Inn Express & Suites is just minutes from the Basketball Hall of Fame, Six Flags New England and Blandford Ski Area, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Westfieldis perfect for families or individuals who are looking for lodging in Westfield. A short drive will bring you to the Quadrangle in Springfield, home to a variety of museums. For those who love to shop, we are also close to Holyoke Mall. Conveniently located near Atlas Copco, Mestek and General Dynamics as well as Noble Hospital, Amelia Park and Westfield State College. Our Westfield, MA hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in Westfield. We can host your next event in our meeting room and help you stay connected with our free high-speed Internet access. While lodging in Westfield, MA take the time to enjoy a swim in the heated indoor pool or work out in the fitness center. You can eat well every morning at our free Express Start hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Westfield hotel deals and book your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Westfield
Holiday Inn Express Westfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing