We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westfield
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Westfield, MA is a very fine hotel. It is affordable and very clean. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is very helpful and always pleasant. The hotel is right off of the Mass Pike in Westfield. The breakfast in the morning is just fine for any hotel in this price range. My wife and I have stayed here many times and really like it. So if you are in the Westfield area and need a hotel the Holiday in Express is very much worth the stay.

Room Tip: Have breakfast early. The dining area gets crowded after 9AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. It was wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy a range of ammenities that our hotel has to offer. We would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to you visiting us again when you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 182 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here this past week. Check-in was friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the standard fare.

My only complaint is that the person staying in the room above us must've had on some cement shoes. My gosh, he was a heavy walker. Why aren't other guests more thoughtful/considerate?

This location was good for us as we were visiting family in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank It'sTimeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us some kind words regarding your stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope that you will visit us again when you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our third time staying at the hotel and we have always been very impressed. The hotel is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. We use the pool area and it is nice and warm. I wish they would get a hot tub though! My only complaint is that the water was not warm at all this morning for showers. This is the first time it has happened to us here.

Room Tip: Top floor, this hotel hosts a lot of sports group. You can't hear them running in the halls up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your most recent stay! It was wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy our indoor heated pool as well as your room had to offer. We sincerely thank you for your continued loyalty and look forward to having you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here overnight in early April 2013. The staff were pleasant, the lobby and my room felt new and clean. There were a couple of housekeeping mistakes--the soap dish hadn't been cleaned since the previous tenant, so there were dried soap bubbles under the new (wrapped) piece of soap, and the bag with the coffee maker cups had been opened and one cup removed. Like another early April reviewer, I also found that the hot water cooled during my shower (at peak morning time, 7:00). The bed had a crinkly mattress cover under the sheets which proved to be a lot more comfortable than I feared when I first pulled back the covers. The room was darker than many hotel rooms I stay in, and I had a very good sleep.

In short, I would go back again. It's a hotel with quick access to a Turnpike, and I'm not looking for a luxury experience.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor, facing the Turnpike--and heard NO traffic noise at all. I wonder whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gathering_No_Moss_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Gathering_No_Moss_1,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was there from 4/5/2013 to 4/7/2013.
Room was quite comfortable and I slept extremely well, despite hte low outside temperatures for this time. Warm water in the morning was less than lukewarm, but this might have been due to high demand. Breakfast (only continentnal type, not what I expected for this price, even though the inviting company paid for it).
Internet acces in the room quite okay, but in the business centre, I encountered some challenges, which I ressolved on Su 4-7-2013 at the airport in Hartford.
Overall, personnel made quite an effort and was very friendly (even on a Su morning at 0530), but the hardware was not complying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMX280150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear AMX280150,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Staff were reasonably pleasant and the room was clean, however, the hotel provided nothing that warranted paying $130/night (including taxes). Everything was average, except breakfast, which was terrible. I was told that there would be both hot and cold items. However, it was mostly cheaply-made cold items (muffins, cinnamon rolls). There was a small tray of greasy/cold bacon and eggs in a warming tray. They were not exactly edible. I have read past reviews from several months ago that say the same thing. Hotel managers respond to these reviews by saying that they will modify and improve breakfasts, however these improvements have clearly not occured. In short, the hotel would be fine for an $80-90/night establishment. I would only stay there again if it were slightly cheaper (110-120) AND there was a full breakfast (i.e. a waiting staff + baked goods and eggs, bacon etc made on site) .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. It was great that you were able to enjoy the services of our staff as well as the room amenities, however, we sincerely apologize that our breakfast had fallen short of expectations. I can assure you that your comments have been documented and will be utilized to make improvements to the products and services that we offer our guests. Being a limited service property, we do not have a full kitchen on-site, which often limits us on what breakfast items we may make available to our guests. We take a great deal of pride in our products and services and it is with your valued feedback that we are able to improve upon them. Thank you again for your time and we hope that you will visit us again when you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

In a nutshell- pool was closed because of a bursted pipe. Googling plummers near Westfield, there are at least 10. Based on what the front desk told me (not proof but strong suspicion) if it was truly just a bursted pipe then why couldn't you fix it within 4-6 hours? Secondly, the 2 double beds we had both had what was likely a baby wet pad built into the mattress cover...completely uncomfortable and unnecessary. Every time you moved, it felt and sounded like I was laying on wax paper. Really? Had an upgraded 'suite' which really only meant we had a 'sleeper' couch...which I personally slept on. Now I know I never want to go to jail because this bed felt like punishment for a crime. How can you even consider this a 'bed'...its more like a park bench. Hotel NOT recommended even for the $130 +/- price incl tax.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to send out our deepest apology for our indoor heated pool being unavailable during your most recent stay. As you can imagine, our heated pool is a strong amenity in our hotel, especially during the frigid New England winter months. Unfortunately, with the frigid cold comes risks/ problems which we have to be ready to handle at any given moment. We had two water pipes (both hot and cold) burst in the ceiling between our pool and south stair well due to to sub zero temperatures for three days straight. After numerous hours of trouble shooting, turning water in the building off, to pin point exactly what had happened and why. We learned that due to a construction issue (hotel was built in 2008), the pipes were exposed to sub zero temperatures for 3 consecutive days above the ceiling due to lack of insulation. Although the problem had been found, numerous damage had already been done to several important areas of our hotel (pool, fitness center, south stairwell, pool bathrooms). As much as we hoped for it to be a quick fix, it was just not physically possible for that to happen. Given the location of the pipes along with several other key factors ranging from ordering new pipes, new insulation, getting the water out of several carpeted areas, holes in the walls to let the in-wall insulation dry, and water being shut off in that section of the building, it has taken 10 days to this point to get everything back together and running, and this is with both ARS Restoration and BG Mechanical working tirelessly around the clock (both companies have done an outstanding job). We are now 10 days from the incident and should have our pool back up and running within the next two days (plumber inspection pending). In our industry, we are open 365 days a year and are open 24 hours a day. What we have learned over the years is that problems like this, that our completely out of our hand, will occur, and it's how hard and fast we work to recover from them to fix it. Unfortunately, this time with several factors in play, we were unable to get it up and running in short period of time to have the pool available for the night of your stay, and for that we are truly sorry. It was both hazardous to guest safety and health to keep our pool running with so many obstacles to cross on the way to the pool as well as no functioning water in the pool rest rooms or guest showers, and for that we have to keep the pool closed until the pipes are back up and running to protect our guests safety and health. We hope this helped clear up the situation or at least offer a better understanding of it. We are just as upset about our pool not being available during these cold winter months as it is one of our best amenities, but look forward to it being back up and running in the next few days for all our guests to come enjoy it while it's still cold out! Again, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay but we love an opportunity to make it right for you if you chose to return! Thank you for your feedback as it really helps us pinpoint guest issues to improve our performance/ service to our guests. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westfield
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Holyoke-Springfield/North
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
5.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn West Springfield
Hampton Inn West Springfield
#1 of 17 in West Springfield
648 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield

Address: 39 Southampton Rd, Westfield, MA 01085-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Westfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westfield
Price Range: $116 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westfield, Massachusetts Hotel Convenient to the Mass Turnpike The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Westfield, MA nestled in the foothills of the Berkshires, offers easy access to I-90 and is just a short drive from the city of Springfield and Bradley International Airport (BDL). The 100% non smoking Holiday Inn Express & Suites is just minutes from the Basketball Hall of Fame, Six Flags New England and Blandford Ski Area, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Westfieldis perfect for families or individuals who are looking for lodging in Westfield. A short drive will bring you to the Quadrangle in Springfield, home to a variety of museums. For those who love to shop, we are also close to Holyoke Mall. Conveniently located near Atlas Copco, Mestek and General Dynamics as well as Noble Hospital, Amelia Park and Westfield State College. Our Westfield, MA hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in Westfield. We can host your next event in our meeting room and help you stay connected with our free high-speed Internet access. While lodging in Westfield, MA take the time to enjoy a swim in the heated indoor pool or work out in the fitness center. You can eat well every morning at our free Express Start hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Westfield hotel deals and book your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Westfield
Holiday Inn Express Westfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing