We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay a little extra and go elsewhere”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed September 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Tidewater over the weekend for a quick getaway. I wanted a room with a jacuzzi tub, but since it was only for a weekend, I tried to get the most reasonable rate. All I can say is "You get what you pay for" and I overpaid at the Tidewater!

First, let me say that the staff was very friendly and professional. We checked in at 6:00 PM on Friday night. We were given a room in the building closest to the road. Since the property is located right on Rt. 28, you can hear the road traffic. I inquired about moving, however, the jacuzzi rooms are all located in that building. They were very willing to move me to another room, but, I booked the room because of the jacuzzi. The room was clean, but a little shabby. The carpeting, curtains, bedding and furniture have all seen better days. The bathroom needs a complete renovation and the vanity area is too small since they have a microwave, coffee maker and ice bucket/tray on the counter. There was so much stuff on the tiny counter, I had no where to put my toiletries. The bed and pillows were hard - I woke up with a stiff neck and back both mornings. I didn't bother to complain because short of a complete renovation, there was nothing they would have been able to do. Putting all that aside, the room was adequate for 2 nights, and I had a Jacuzzi (which is what I really wanted when I booked the weekend). However........ every time someone in the building filled the jacuzzi (including us), it sounded like the pipes were going to come crashing through the walls. Since I didn't want to disturb others, I didn't use the tub nearly as much as I wanted to. Other guests were not so considerate. On Saturday night, the couple in the next room filled their tub several time between midnight and 3:00 AM! I didn't sleep the whole time we were there.

It did not seem that the room was "cleaned" by housekeeping. The bed was made and the room was "tidied up" but the bathroom floor was not swept, the carpet was not vacuumed and the vanity area was not washed (wiped, but not washed).

The indoor and outdoor pools are clean and well cared for.

The diner was clean and convenient. The food was hot and fresh and our waitress seated us promptly and was very friendly. I think I would have to say that the diner was the best thing about this property.

The Tidewater is your typical "Old Cape" motel (not an Inn). When we left on Sunday, we drove down Rt. 6A and found lots of pretty Inns and B&B's. While they are more expensive, they are much nicer and well worth the extra charge. Rt. 6A is very scenic (rolling lawns, stone walls, historic homes), where Rt. 28 is very busy with traffic and businesses.

If you are looking for a modern, comfortable, pretty place for a weekend getaway, look elsewhere. I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank RIweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 497 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2008

The Tidewater Inn in West Yarmouth is a well-run Inn in the central part of Cape Cod. Nothing but the highest praise for the very helpful front-desk staff and the breakfast room servers! Rooms are very nice and clean; the price is very reasonable. Any visitor should be able to notice that everyone here is trying hard to make your experience pleasant.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank UPSDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We chose to spend 3 days on Cape Cod in between visits to New York and Boston but left it quite late to book and most hotels seemed to be full or too expensive.

On arrival at the Tidewater Inn, the man on the desk was very helpful and polite. Our room was nice, large and clean with a fridge which was handy. There was a large outdoor pool, and an indoor heated pool and spa pool. In the lobby there was a room filled with leaflets and information, and a PC with free internet access.

It is on one of the main roads, Route 28, where there are plenty of restaurants, shops, gas stations etc. There are some nice beaches quite close by but the best ones are a bit of a further drive.

There is a breakfast diner on the premises but I am hesistant to recommend it. Although the food was very nice and not too expensive, the service was poor. Although there seemed to be plenty of staff they did not seem able to cope and were very slow taking your order, bringing your bill etc. which is frustrating when you are raring to get out to the beach for the day!

On the whole, I would recommend a stay at the Tidewater Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glitterylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Booked last minute and very helpful GM provided reasonable discounted room rate, despite the entire Mid-Cape being almost fully booked. Located a short walk from 2 mini-golfs and fine beaches, and 2 minute ride to Main St. in Hyannis, central location for shopping, restaurants, ferries, etc.
Took a 2 x Double room in back building. The front is "drive up to front-door" motel-style while the back building is more "drive up and enter key-access hallways" hotel style. Slightly musty smell upon entering, but not overpowering. Airing out & A/C all but alleviate it. Older decor, but facilities, A/C, beds, in-room fridge, balcony, all fine. Grounds, halls, indoor connection to pool, all clean and staff attentive to cleanliness.
On-site diner very convenient, 50's retro decor, clean, good food, reasonable prices, good service, a definite plus.
The best feature of this property is the informative, helpful assistance from the staff, especially Voula, the GM. As a first time visitor to the Cape, her insightful advice on times, ports of departure, tours, towns, eateries, sites, etc. etc. proved to be the clincher in making the weekend perfect. That alone was "worth the price of admission".

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JJTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Tidewater Inn was typical old- fashioned motel, which was what I was expecting. However, my room smelled so badly of mildew, I felt like I was suffocating all night long. The carpet needs to be tossed!! I couldn't have been more grossed out.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiBeachbumgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Room had a stale smoke smell and urine smell.. awful!!!! The staff is friendly but the room was horrible.. Won't go back!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mizindependent78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We recently stayed at theTidwater Inn and had a great experience. We were pleased with our accomodations. Our room was toward the back of the property and it was clean & nicely decorated. We enjoyed the pool and the on-site diner which was convenient for breakfast. The staff & front desk were friendly. We would return fo the Tidewater since it was a good value for Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelUSA777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.2 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
484 reviews
3.5 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range: $62 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools and 50's style breakfast diner (open seasonally). Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with water views. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Inn West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing