We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend getaway”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice weekend getaway”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days & 2 nights and it was worth the price I paid through Groupon. Its centralized location on the Cape, makes it easy to get from one end to the other. Being located on route 28 can be a head-ache during peak season, but during the off season, it makes good sense too be located here if you are planning a couple of days of site seeing. Upon arrival, check in went quickly and smoothly and the staff was friendly and helpful with any & all questions. The rooms were adequate and clean, but I found the mattress to be to hard for my liking. The bathroom is small, but kept neat and clean. There is a nice sitting area out back for lounging and reading, as long as the geese and seagulls stay away. A good tip is to not feed the geese, no matter how friendly or cute they seem. I would stay here again, as long as I come during the off season and get the deal again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
The picnic area is great but you are right about the geese. They are so friendly that everyone wants to feed them. Unfortunately, they realize what a easy life they have at the Tidewater with people feeding them that they decide to stay. The only downside is their droppings...We gently try to encourage them to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    170
    79
    49
    41
See reviews for
159
185
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royalston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at the Tidewater Inn because of the price and what it had to offer as an Inn and its location. The owners were present onsite and listened to our needs. The pool and sauna were clean, the room was clean and we could see where they had done some maintenance such as painting. The hallway rug needs replacement and some outside fixtures need repair; but in talking with the owner they brought up the issue first and are working to correct. We enjoyed the breakfast at the small diner; but opted to try other places for our 2nd day. Overall we would go back there again.

Room Tip: Rooms attached to pool area allow you to walk to pool & small diner without going outside; but p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It was nice meeting you and I hope you enjoyed your anniversary getaway. We are well aware of the stains in the hallway carpets. We shampooed the rugs many times in the summer as we couldn't change the carpets in the peak season or fall when all the bus tours come. We are now looking at carpet samples and hope to have all the hallways and stairs changed. Thanks for understanding. Hope to see you again...maybe your next anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed @ the inn Oct 12-16,bought the groupon & got a great price. Room was clean & bed was comfortable. Bathroom was a bit small but spotless. Really enjoyed the indoor pool & the 50s breakfast diner on the premises. Staff was friendly & attentive. Could've used more pillows but all in all a good deal especially with the Groupon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayefaye9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Sorry about the pillow situation. If you call the front desk in the future, we will deliver all the pillows you need. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

For the money this hotel may tempt you but it's a Complicated drive to arrive there, Not very clean from the moment you enter, The breakfast diner is awful, And the service is the worst! You may not be able to do better at the same price but you can Definitely do better!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBoraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Handy for a trip to Provincetown and the Lower Cape, with the room on the upper floor over looking the pond area. Good sized quiet room with all the amenities.
Good value accommodation
Unfortunately on the second night the fire alarm sounded and we had to evacuate at 12.30 am. The staff were very apologetic at that time, and again the next morning. We did fail to understand why some other guests refused to vacate their rooms despite potential danger.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monson, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the Tidewater Inn. The room was comfortable and the outside balcony with chairs and a small table was a nice extra with a pretty view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back building on the second floor. Worth the extra money for a king bed with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louannandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

we chose Tidewater Inn 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673, because it had gotten TripAdvisor 2012 price it could not be bad, BUT we got a room that had not been cleaned and smelled musty was quite humid though it was only on September 23 the weather had been good warm for several days, aircon did not work, the beds were soggy, hanging cobwebs down in several places on the wall and ceiling, and there were animal droppings in front of our room door around the parking lot, the lady who stood at the front desk was cross it seemed as if we were an inconvenience, but the worst was the used towels that were hung up again to look like new, by the way the room did not look like the one on the website.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisbeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Sorry you didn't have a positive experience at the hotel. We try hard to accommodate guests when they are unhappy. Unfortunately, we were not told that you were unhappy while you were at the hotel so that we could fix any problems. If your room was not acceptable, we would have moved you. Also we were not told that the AC was not working. A guest is never checked into a dirty room. Each room is stripped and cleaned thoroughly at check out. We do have a towel reuse program and guests are asked to put dirty towels in the tub or on the floor. Towels that are left hanging are rehung as stated on the card hanging on the towel rack. All guests are provided with as many fresh towels as they would like and only need to call the front desk if they need more.
We also have a building that costs a bit more that is more recently renovated that guests can upgrade to if they are willing to pay the difference. I'm sorry we didn't have the opportunity to make you happy while you were at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.2 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Property: Tidewater Inn
Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools and 50's style breakfast diner (open seasonally). Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with water views. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Inn West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing