We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“60's era motel that is showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    79
    46
    100
See reviews for
144
89
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is good for someone travelling america on a budget. The staff were friendly and helped when needed. The room was clean, however the bed sheets did not stretch over the fit the large king sized bed. Overall this was the best thing to allow me to travel cape cod and not have to pay expensive rate whilst doing so!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clove92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed over on the beginning of Labor Day weekend, room was inexpensive. They served continental breakfast in a.m. and had indoor/outdoor pool and spa. Great place for the money. I would definitely stay again although it could use updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Unclean bed sheets, stained pillow cases, stained towel, sickening smell in room, washroom unusable, breakfast items stale - all at a low price. This pretty much sums up the hotel.

We checked in the hotel late night and though we were very tired because of being on the road for the entire day, my children told me that they wont be able to sleep here. The room smelled awful and the bed sheets had hair on it. I tried to call the reception but there was no dial tone in the phone. Apparently they didnt bother to plug the phone in. I walked up to the reception, and informed the youngish looking boy about the problems and asked him to come to the room. My entire family was up in arms about staying here, and it was too late for me to change the hotel, so I wanted to have him come over and address there concerns.

He agreed with the issues and immediately returned with another set of bed sheets and pillow cases. He replaced the old ones with this new set.

Upon his departure we noticed that even the new pillow case is not really clean. Also, when my kids went to the washroom, they noticed that the towel is stained. We asked them not to use it. There was no question in taking a shower as the bath tub was dirty.

It was passed midnight so we decided that we will stay here but will leave the first thing the next morning

The next morning, my 8 year old son woke up complaining of nausea. I think it was because of the smell in the hotel however I dont know this for sure. It is possible that there are other contributing elements

There was breakfast available at the hotel. The breakfast comprised of white bread, bagels, cookies, coffee, tea, milk, orange juice, raisin bran cereal, fruit loops look alike cereal, regular and peanut butter, raspberry and strawberry jam.

I was skeptical about breakfast as the bread appeared to be stale. Also my son who loves fruit loops, said that he cannot eat it as it "tastes funny". Also one of the fruit loops "looked strange color".

Oh for the jams and cream, they dont have small packets but regular sized bottles. In other words, you are expected to "share " it with all other people who will be having breakfast there. Now, I didnt see anyone in the 20 mins or so that I was in the breakfast room, who is re-dipping his/her knife in the jam but if they choose to they can. Also, there was a very strange looking, probably expired cream cheese but I decided to skip it

The breakfast room was nice though. It was well lit, spacious and clean

The hotel staff, (who I think are also the owners) are friendly.

This is a 2 storey hotel, you park your car in front of your room. Just like you do in a motel.

Based on the overall experience, I will not be staying in this hotel again. My recommendation is the same, ie dont go for the low price but avoid the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here with my family in 2010. I got a good deal on Hotwire- and boy do you get what you pay for! The room was so dirty- stained walls & floors, the bathroom had bugs in it, the fixtures were rust stained and it smelled. I bought and used my own sheets- it was seriously gross. I can still smell it when I think about it. The pool was okay- and that is not saying much. Unless they level the place- I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#13 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area
Address: 149 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Hotel West Yarmouth
Howard Johnson Cape Cod
Howard Johnson West Yarmouth
Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing