We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The only thing this place has going for it is the PHOTOGRAPHER who made it look MUCH nicer than it actually is!!!

Front desk associate, albeit helpful, was on her cell phone every time I needed something. She DID put the phone right down and take care of me, but this was unprofessional.

Towels in the room were very small and VERY scratchy.

Sheets were stained.

Carpet was old and worn.

No directions for using the TV, though we figured it out and it worked just fine.

A non-smoking room with a cigarette butt in it - see below.

Cleaning was less than adequate - see below.

A tiny sign on the counter in the office said we could get a refund of $1.50/night for the safe. I asked for it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 373 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and had a nice view of the bay. The continental breakfast was good,cereals,oatmeal,bagels,toast and jelly, and cinnamon roll,coffee and juice. This is a good location to all areas in Cape Cod. We would stay here again. Could use softener on their towels and more outlets in room, otherwise, a very good place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

David Tu is an excellent manager. Rooms are clean and well kept. Stay there every time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica7591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

When we walked into our room it smelled like they had just sprayed for bugs. We pulled back the sheets on the mattesses and found they were very old mattresses (the kind with stripes on them like in college dorms) and covered with STAINS! Both beds in our room had large stains on the mattresses. The carpet was also torn. We went back to the front desk, who's staff was very friendly, and asked for a refund, which we received. We did not expect a 4 or 5 star hotel, but this was not appropriate for anyone to stay in these rooms. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank OntTraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Having lived on Cape Cod before, I'm aware of the mold issue, but this experience was DISGUSTING! There was mold ON THE BED, on the shower curtain(which sadly, is typical for the Cape) and hair all over the bathroom. I understand that this is not a high-end hotel, yet I have certain expectations....like cleanliness....check out the pictures...GROSS...I've written to corporate and received no reply. The Cape has tons of choices....look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapePhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Beds were hard,I didnt like how the cleaning people just walked into the room and didnt even knock, our sliding glass door was broken,the"play ground" consisted of a swing and a metal slide that was too hot to even go on, the "game room" consisted of a ping pong table (that was busted in some areas), and the hot tub was broken,breakfast was ehh , bagels, bread , two kinds of cereal, oatmeal, juice and coffee, and i do need to add one morning when we were here the toast and bagels were moldy and they still put them out, on the upside they had an indoor and outdoor pool if it rained which was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreilly315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I just got back 8/5/2012 and i read the reviews and thought i was going to walk into something really crappy but it wasn't. So the place was not spotless, the bathroom didn't sparkle but it was clean and the staff cleaned our room very nicely while we were out.They are so nice at the front desk. Breakfast was not great, it had bagels,toast,cereal,hot cereal,a few packaged honey buns but it filled you. We went out to I-hop up the street. The pools were great, the hot tub was broke :( But this hotel is located in a great spot and close to everything. Oh and the beds were hard on my back, so if you have a bad back then bring a pad or something.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tekel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yarmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.2 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod
0.3 mi away
Days Inn West Yarmouth/Hyannis Cape Cod Area
0.1 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#14 of 20 in West Yarmouth
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Address: 149 Main St, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range: $49 - $933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your seaside getaway begins at our Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area hotel, conveniently located minutes from Hyannis Ferry Terminal. Our West Yarmouth location near Seagull Beach offers affordable accommodations with easy access to all of Cape Cod's best attractions, from sandy beaches and restaurants, to day trips to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard. Start your day with a smile as you delight in free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Stay connected with our free WiFi access, swim in our indoor and outdoor pools, or relax in the hot tub. Lewis Beach is less than one mile away and Seagull Beach is just 10 minutes away. Go on a scenic whale watch in Hyannis, visit the famous Point Gammon Lighthouse, or tee off at Bayberry Hills Golf Course. Take a day trip out to Nantucket on the ferry. Explore the ZooQuarium or John F. Kennedy Museum, less than five minutes from our door. Book your wedding party, sports team, or other group travel at our hotel. Submit your request for information about special rates on blocks of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Hotel West Yarmouth
Howard Johnson Cape Cod
Howard Johnson West Yarmouth
Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing