We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had planned to stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we had planned to stay longer”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Great large apartment sized room with 2 bedroom & 2 baths. On water with private beach & heated pool. Beautiful view from balcony. Centrally located on Cape but a mile off the main drag makes it feel very quiet. Very reasonably priced (off season rates). Room is certainly not upscale (80's-90's decor) but is unbelievably clean & well kept. Many activities available for the whole family without leaving the resort. Friendly, helpful staff --- wish we'd gone to them first to plan our outings. Only downside is the noise from the other room ... People noise & water & fan noise can all be heard in adjacent apartments so need to plan to take earplugs & sleeping pills if you have late night neighbors. Even so, we wished we had planned to stay longer & would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stormygew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience. I apologize for the noise situation. The suites are the only first floor or second floor units, so perhaps next time you could book a free standing house or a side by side duplex. All the units here have kitchens, and many have a water view. The rates are lower in the off seasons and it is still warm enough for the pool and beach. Thanks again, and give us a call in 2014. Janice and the GH staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    53
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
138
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our family of four (kids aged 8 and 11) stayed for five nights at Green Harbor and we were not disappointed! The many positive reviews that have been posted by others paint an accurate picture of this wonderful little resort. We had a lovely 2-bedroom cottage that was perfect in size, super clean and well furnished (not "luxury" by any stretch, but quite suitable for families). The property is relatively small, but that works to its advantages: it's cozy, comfortable and safe for the kids, and everyone is just a short walk away from the beach and the pool.

A few of the positive things that were especially noteworthy:
1) There were many activities available for the kids. The fishing derby was a big hit, and my baseball-loving children had an absolute blast playing wiffle ball with a couple of the visiting players from the local Cape Cod league.
2) The outdoor pool (heated) was great, as was the beach, which has very calm water and was not very crowded.
3) The staff were super friendly and helpful.
4) The place was extremely quiet at night. We are always concerned about noise (loud music, drinking) at these types of resorts, but our evenings at Green Harbor were wonderfully peaceful.

There were a few minor inconveniences (nothing is perfect!) which did not significantly detract from our holiday but which could be addressed:
1) The WiFi in our unit (#34) was poor, and despite several hours with off-site tech support, never worked reliably with our mobile devices (although we could connect elsewhere on the property).
2) The TV in our unit was an old fashioned RCA tube model. Tough to watch the ballgame in the evenings when you are used to flat screens and high def. Time for an upgrade!
3) It would be helpful for the resort to provide beach towels, to save packing space for guests such as us that are travelling by plane.

The bottom line: this is a great place for families with young kids. Ours are already asking to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riobard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth description of your Green Harbor vacation! Your children were the perfect age to enjoy all the resort activities, and as they grow, we have larger accommodations that will suit your needs. We will finish upgrading the last few rooms with flat screen TVs this winter. The wireless is the #1 priority on our list to address. We do provide extra room towels for our guests who need them for the pool. Since you balanced out on a positive note, we hope to see you in 2014. Merci !! Janice and the GH staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Green Harbor for 2 nights and wished, we could have stayed longer. We were greatet by the outstanding friendly and helpful staff. Our room, a little cottage with a kitchenette, was nice and clean and very quiet. Unfortunately we didn't have the time to use all the amenities like bikes, kayaks or the heated pool.
We'll do that next time, as we plan to come back.
You are only minutes away from downtown Hyannis, with it's lovely Main Street full of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fra_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Two days is definitely not long enough to see all that Cape
Cod has to offer. We are open from the middle of May to the middle of October, so come on back so you can swim in our 85 degree pool, cycle about, and stroll the main street of beautiful downtown Chatham. All of our accommodations have kitchens, so you can even try a different room type next time. Vielen dank !! Janice and the GH staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fryeburg, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Though we have been to the Green Harbor before and loved it, this was our first vacation with our three month old twins so we were a little nervous. However from the minute we arrived evrything was just fantastic. janice and Eugenie in the office were so kind and helpful. Our 2 bedroom 1st level unit had an incredible view of the bay and lots of grass for our older kids to play. The playground, beach area, and heated outdoor pool were great at keeping the kids entertained so we could relax with the babies. Elaine our housekeeper was so sweet, organizing the kids stuffed animals and blankets on their beds everyday. There was a crib waiting for us when we arrived and when we decided we needed a pack n play one was brought over right away. We love this place and plan on coming back every year!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mackiec777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Green Harbor is owned and managed by families, so that's how we treat our guests. We try our best to provide all the comforts of home, so that packing for the trip is not a chore. The hotel amenities, as well as the special kids programs in season, hopefully allow the moms and dads to get in a little R&R on their vacation as well. Hope to see you again next year, with the toddling twins in tow ! Janice <>and<> Eugenie and Eliane say thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time. Cottages were super clean and staff was friendly. We use the Spa at the Red Jacket Beach resort and it was perfect. This is a great place to stay. The location is right on the water on one side and the river on the other, very peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxRidgeNorthConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for writing ! Green Harbor is the kind of place that even a short visit is a relaxing experience (-: Hope to see you again in 2014. Janice and the GH staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Located right on Lewis Bay, you'll be hard pressed to find a better Cape Cod family resort than Green Harbor. Great views, clean beach, heated pool, and impeccably kept grounds. The town houses have been recently updated- all the comforts of home. Check in was friendly and quick. House keeping employees were efficient and friendly- eye contact and smiles. Plenty of activities for the kids everyday. Just minutes from Hyannis- everything is so close. Don't miss this Cape jewel!

Room Tip: We love the town houses facing the water- stayed in unit #54. Deck overlooks pool and Lewis Bay...be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garrett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I can't add anything to your descriptive review, except Thank You for writing. We are open until October 13th this year. The ocean-front townhouse is also an excellent choice in the Fall because the sun shines on the front deck all day. It is a perfect place to settle in with a good book and also enjoy watching the boats coming in and out of the harbor. Thanks again, Janice and the GH staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

They gave away the room that we were promised and had no similar rooms available. Wifi was awful. It crashed every three minutes. The grounds and views were beautiful. The cleanliness of rooms and housekeeping were outstanding. The beach could have been kept up better, like raking up the seaweed. For the cost per night, all of the above should have been as excellent as the housekeeping was. We'll have to think about a second try at Green Harbor or may try some place else next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie4723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We apologize again for your unexpected room location, although the room type was correct. The popularity of third party reservation bookings now stands in our way of "perfect vacations." Here at Green Harbor we have 53 suites, townhouses and cottages, and 19 of them are different. Reservations made through the Green Harbor front desk are guaranteed, especially since 75% of our guests return year after year, same time, same room. Bookings made through a third party are guaranteed by room type, not by number or location. We rent daily, not by weekly Saturday-Saturday rentals, so we have to manage our room inventory accordingly.
Thank you for complimenting our housekeeping staff; they are a big reason for our positive Trip-advisor ratings. The beach is professionally raked on Saturday, and the seaweed is raked up each morning (unless Mother Nature sends in a late afternoon batch ). Given the fact that your positive comments out-weighed the negative, we hope that you will give Green Harbor a second chance, in a room that you booked through us ! Janice and the housekeeping staff (-:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.6 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,235 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
600 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Harbor on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Harbor on the Ocean

Property: Green Harbor on the Ocean
Address: 182 Baxter Ave, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-8315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in West Yarmouth
#1 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Harbor on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family cottage colony with 50 units ranging from one-room efficiencies, one and two bedroom townhouses, two bedroom suites and three bedroom cottages accommodating up to 10 people comfortably. Green Harbor is situated on a seven acre waterfront parcel on Lewis Bay with Mill Creek on its eastern border. With every amenity a family would need to enjoy a most memorable family adventure, the resort features a private beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, outdoor heated pool, playground, miniature golf, basketball, shuffleboard, as well as boats,canoes and bikes. There are no public restaurant facilities on premise, as all guest units have fully equipped kitchens. The resort is less than five minutes drive to Hyannis' popular Main Street. With its spacious cottages and Cape Cod villas, Green Harbor is the perfect setting for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or reunion party. Kids' Club, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities. Open from mid May until mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Green Harbor on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Harbor On The Ocean Hotel West Yarmouth
Green Harbor On The Ocean West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing