We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish, we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wish, we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Green Harbor for 2 nights and wished, we could have stayed longer. We were greatet by the outstanding friendly and helpful staff. Our room, a little cottage with a kitchenette, was nice and clean and very quiet. Unfortunately we didn't have the time to use all the amenities like bikes, kayaks or the heated pool.
We'll do that next time, as we plan to come back.
You are only minutes away from downtown Hyannis, with it's lovely Main Street full of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fra_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Two days is definitely not long enough to see all that Cape
Cod has to offer. We are open from the middle of May to the middle of October, so come on back so you can swim in our 85 degree pool, cycle about, and stroll the main street of beautiful downtown Chatham. All of our accommodations have kitchens, so you can even try a different room type next time. Vielen dank !! Janice and the GH staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    53
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
128
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fryeburg, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Though we have been to the Green Harbor before and loved it, this was our first vacation with our three month old twins so we were a little nervous. However from the minute we arrived evrything was just fantastic. janice and Eugenie in the office were so kind and helpful. Our 2 bedroom 1st level unit had an incredible view of the bay and lots of grass for our older kids to play. The playground, beach area, and heated outdoor pool were great at keeping the kids entertained so we could relax with the babies. Elaine our housekeeper was so sweet, organizing the kids stuffed animals and blankets on their beds everyday. There was a crib waiting for us when we arrived and when we decided we needed a pack n play one was brought over right away. We love this place and plan on coming back every year!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mackiec777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Green Harbor is owned and managed by families, so that's how we treat our guests. We try our best to provide all the comforts of home, so that packing for the trip is not a chore. The hotel amenities, as well as the special kids programs in season, hopefully allow the moms and dads to get in a little R&R on their vacation as well. Hope to see you again next year, with the toddling twins in tow ! Janice <>and<> Eugenie and Eliane say thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time. Cottages were super clean and staff was friendly. We use the Spa at the Red Jacket Beach resort and it was perfect. This is a great place to stay. The location is right on the water on one side and the river on the other, very peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxRidgeNorthConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for writing ! Green Harbor is the kind of place that even a short visit is a relaxing experience (-: Hope to see you again in 2014. Janice and the GH staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Located right on Lewis Bay, you'll be hard pressed to find a better Cape Cod family resort than Green Harbor. Great views, clean beach, heated pool, and impeccably kept grounds. The town houses have been recently updated- all the comforts of home. Check in was friendly and quick. House keeping employees were efficient and friendly- eye contact and smiles. Plenty of activities for the kids everyday. Just minutes from Hyannis- everything is so close. Don't miss this Cape jewel!

Room Tip: We love the town houses facing the water- stayed in unit #54. Deck overlooks pool and Lewis Bay...be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garrett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I can't add anything to your descriptive review, except Thank You for writing. We are open until October 13th this year. The ocean-front townhouse is also an excellent choice in the Fall because the sun shines on the front deck all day. It is a perfect place to settle in with a good book and also enjoy watching the boats coming in and out of the harbor. Thanks again, Janice and the GH staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

They gave away the room that we were promised and had no similar rooms available. Wifi was awful. It crashed every three minutes. The grounds and views were beautiful. The cleanliness of rooms and housekeeping were outstanding. The beach could have been kept up better, like raking up the seaweed. For the cost per night, all of the above should have been as excellent as the housekeeping was. We'll have to think about a second try at Green Harbor or may try some place else next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie4723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We apologize again for your unexpected room location, although the room type was correct. The popularity of third party reservation bookings now stands in our way of "perfect vacations." Here at Green Harbor we have 53 suites, townhouses and cottages, and 19 of them are different. Reservations made through the Green Harbor front desk are guaranteed, especially since 75% of our guests return year after year, same time, same room. Bookings made through a third party are guaranteed by room type, not by number or location. We rent daily, not by weekly Saturday-Saturday rentals, so we have to manage our room inventory accordingly.
Thank you for complimenting our housekeeping staff; they are a big reason for our positive Trip-advisor ratings. The beach is professionally raked on Saturday, and the seaweed is raked up each morning (unless Mother Nature sends in a late afternoon batch ). Given the fact that your positive comments out-weighed the negative, we hope that you will give Green Harbor a second chance, in a room that you booked through us ! Janice and the housekeeping staff (-:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had planned our first visit to Cape Cod online so didn't really know what to expect, but were very pleased with Green Harbor and would highly recommend it for families.

A very friendly atmosphere - many people there were part of 3-generation groups and several people we met had been going there for years.

There is a variety of accommodation - some closer to the water of the inlet, some nearer the pool and some larger houses. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom Admiralty Suite, on the first floor, with a balcony giving fabulous views over the beach.

The facilities at Green Harbor are great. There is a great outdoor pool suitable for adults and children alike, a shuffleboard pitch, a mini-golf course, rowing boats, canoes, bikes (all of which are free) and direct access to the private beach, with chairs or loungers there for you to use as you wish. There are also kettle BBQs around the resort - we think these are available for all but mostly seemed to be used by guests in individual houses or ground floor apartments or in the separate houses - and a laundry room with washers and driers at low cost, which was useful for us.

Parents of smaller kids might want to know that an ice cream van visits the resort every morning. but advertises its presence on the nearby public beach later in the afternoon too....
It's also worth knowing that in the summer there is a kids' club every morning (9-1). The two young guys running the activities were clearly very popular with the kids but also very sensible. I would have had no problem at all leaving children with them in the pool, for example.

All the activities offered are free of charge and you also have access to the other Red Jacket resorts within Cape Cod. We went to the Red Jacket resort (the biggest of the group) and had a great tour round by Marge before spending the morning on their beach, which had softer sand and a shallower entry into the sea than at Green Harbor. The Red Jacket has more facilities, such as a restaurant and an indoor pool but it is much busier. To be honest we preferred the peace of Green Harbor.

There are lots of fun things to do on Cape Cod, often found on the main Route 28 which is half a mile away from the resort. The main road also provides easy access to supermarkets and shops within 5-10 mins drive (there isn't a food shop at Green Harbor so stock up on groceries on your way in).

The only thing we would have liked to see would have been an electric kettle. We Brits do like a cup of tea and waiting for an old fashioned whistling kettle on the hob seemed a bit of an unnecessary waste of time and energy in the 21st Century (but that may be just us - there was a coffee maker too). Otherwise, everything we needed for our holiday was there and the daily maid service meant we weren't worried about housekeeping while on holiday.

We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpaStruckSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Well, there is not much that I can add to your in-depth review of your stay at Green Harbor ! It can be a worry booking a place to stay, sight unseen, in an area that you have never visited. We try our best to describe verbally, and on-line, exactly how to pack for a Green Harbor vacation. We are pleased when we exceed the expectations of our guests. Thank you again for
writing ! Janice and the Green Harbor staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Back from a relaxing short break at Green Harbor Resort. It is a beautiful spot with great views over the water, a wonderful beach and manicured grounds. Great thought has gone into the outdoor and indoor facilities and amenities with almost everything imaginable provided. There is a nice park on the beach and the outdoor pool was great. Our eldest enjoyed the kids club playing mini-golf, making t-shirts and beading key fobs, going to the pool, playing ball. NB there is no indoor facility for kids at this resort in the event of rain, however you are free to use the kids clubs and services of the sister resorts. We went to Bonkerz, a soft play centre on route 28, great alternative for rainy days.

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the studio efficiency for 2 booked (we had been advised the studio might be cosy with 2 adults and 2 young children) comparable to an average hotel room with the added bonus of catering facilities and a sofa bed which was roomy enough for our 4 and 2 year old with all the resort facilities thrown in.

The only issue with the room was the musty, damp, unused smell which greeted us on arrival. While the cleanliness and presentation couldn't be faulted, the off-putting smell permeated the curtains, cupboards, drawers and the bed linen. We thought this might go away after being 'lived in' a couple of days, however when this wasn't the case mentioned it to the Front Desk. We were moved instantly to a different property with breath taking views which was greatly appreciated. A big thank you to Star for organising so promptly and effortlessly.

Other minor negatives. We could really have done with our phone in the studio to have been working on the first day of our stay as we had had an incident back at home and needed to be contactable and the cell reception blipped at times. This was addressed on the second morning (after calling around at 8.55pm the night before when I was in the bath by which time my husband had picked up a charger for the cell from the 7-11). The audio on the TV would go off intermittently although understand these sets are to be upgraded shortly. Not a big deal, spent little time watching TV in the room. The bikes are a great idea, however we would thoroughly recommend testing them before taking them out. The one brake on our eldest son's bike failed when we were going downhill one of the side streets, thankfully only a couple of scrapes and scrages. Star to the rescue again!

We loved Pirate Cove and Keltic Kitchen (Big How are ya to Evie!) on the Route 28. Stop and Shop great for fresh produce and meat/fish for BBQ, the 7-11 is closer to the resort for essentials and Luke's Likor for an amazing selection of beers and wines. The high speed ferry to Martha's Vineyard we felt was a little overpriced and the pirate boat trip would have been better suited to the needs of our little pirates!!! Giordano's restaurant very good, empty plates all round. You really need a car for this holiday as the town is quite sprawling.

The minor negatives aside, on the whole, this was a relaxing break and would return in lower season in a higher spec property.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I enjoyed reading your informative review of our resort and the things to do in the surrounding area. Our goal is to be proactive to prevent inconveniences to our guests, but sometimes
weather or sudden equipment failures foil our plans. Fortunately our staff is ready and willing, when able, to remedy a given situation. You can call us directly at 508-771-1126 when a Cape Cod vacation is in your plans and we can discuss with you the various room options. Thank you again for taking the time to write ....... Janice and the Green Harbor staff ( Star says Hi ! )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.6 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,222 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
593 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Harbor on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Harbor on the Ocean

Property: Green Harbor on the Ocean
Address: 182 Baxter Ave, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-8315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Harbor on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family cottage colony with 50 units ranging from one-room efficiencies, one and two bedroom townhouses, two bedroom suites and three bedroom cottages accommodating up to 10 people comfortably. Green Harbor is situated on a seven acre waterfront parcel on Lewis Bay with Mill Creek on its eastern border. With every amenity a family would need to enjoy a most memorable family adventure, the resort features a private beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, outdoor heated pool, playground, miniature golf, basketball, shuffleboard, as well as boats,canoes and bikes. There are no public restaurant facilities on premise, as all guest units have fully equipped kitchens. The resort is less than five minutes drive to Hyannis' popular Main Street. With its spacious cottages and Cape Cod villas, Green Harbor is the perfect setting for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or reunion party. Kids' Club, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities. Open from mid May until mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Green Harbor on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Harbor On The Ocean Hotel West Yarmouth
Green Harbor On The Ocean West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing