We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Back from a relaxing short break at Green Harbor Resort. It is a beautiful spot with great views over the water, a wonderful beach and manicured grounds. Great thought has gone into the outdoor and indoor facilities and amenities with almost everything imaginable provided. There is a nice park on the beach and the outdoor pool was great. Our eldest enjoyed the kids club playing mini-golf, making t-shirts and beading key fobs, going to the pool, playing ball. NB there is no indoor facility for kids at this resort in the event of rain, however you are free to use the kids clubs and services of the sister resorts. We went to Bonkerz, a soft play centre on route 28, great alternative for rainy days.

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the studio efficiency for 2 booked (we had been advised the studio might be cosy with 2 adults and 2 young children) comparable to an average hotel room with the added bonus of catering facilities and a sofa bed which was roomy enough for our 4 and 2 year old with all the resort facilities thrown in.

The only issue with the room was the musty, damp, unused smell which greeted us on arrival. While the cleanliness and presentation couldn't be faulted, the off-putting smell permeated the curtains, cupboards, drawers and the bed linen. We thought this might go away after being 'lived in' a couple of days, however when this wasn't the case mentioned it to the Front Desk. We were moved instantly to a different property with breath taking views which was greatly appreciated. A big thank you to Star for organising so promptly and effortlessly.

Other minor negatives. We could really have done with our phone in the studio to have been working on the first day of our stay as we had had an incident back at home and needed to be contactable and the cell reception blipped at times. This was addressed on the second morning (after calling around at 8.55pm the night before when I was in the bath by which time my husband had picked up a charger for the cell from the 7-11). The audio on the TV would go off intermittently although understand these sets are to be upgraded shortly. Not a big deal, spent little time watching TV in the room. The bikes are a great idea, however we would thoroughly recommend testing them before taking them out. The one brake on our eldest son's bike failed when we were going downhill one of the side streets, thankfully only a couple of scrapes and scrages. Star to the rescue again!

We loved Pirate Cove and Keltic Kitchen (Big How are ya to Evie!) on the Route 28. Stop and Shop great for fresh produce and meat/fish for BBQ, the 7-11 is closer to the resort for essentials and Luke's Likor for an amazing selection of beers and wines. The high speed ferry to Martha's Vineyard we felt was a little overpriced and the pirate boat trip would have been better suited to the needs of our little pirates!!! Giordano's restaurant very good, empty plates all round. You really need a car for this holiday as the town is quite sprawling.

The minor negatives aside, on the whole, this was a relaxing break and would return in lower season in a higher spec property.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MrsH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

I enjoyed reading your informative review of our resort and the things to do in the surrounding area. Our goal is to be proactive to prevent inconveniences to our guests, but sometimes
weather or sudden equipment failures foil our plans. Fortunately our staff is ready and willing, when able, to remedy a given situation. You can call us directly at 508-771-1126 when a Cape Cod vacation is in your plans and we can discuss with you the various room options. Thank you again for taking the time to write ....... Janice and the Green Harbor staff ( Star says Hi ! )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 234 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just got back from a 2-night stay at the Green Harbor. The pluses: the property is very beautiful and well maintained. There is a playground on the beach, mini-golf, and a nice heated outdoor pool. I was impressed by the brand new quality and selection of the kitchen utensils in our kitchenette, you could tell that the owners take a lot of pride and care in maintaining the units. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.
The cons: we were there for 3 days/ 2 nights and the weather was awful. The property is not comfortable at all when it is rainy/ chilly. The room felt damp the whole entire time, and we were packed in our room like sardines with not much to do. We couldn't go boating, as they did not loan out the paddles due to high wind. We couldn't go biking, because we were freezing. We ventured on the beach a few times, and my son managed to swim in the pool for 2 hours one day before it started raining. There was supposed to be a magician visiting as part of their entertainment and my son was very excited about it, but he never showed up. It was a disappointing trip considering we paid $300 a night. Since it is so expensive and the Cape apparently can have pretty unpleasant weather, even in July, it would be nice if they had an indoor playroom for kids so you aren't holed up in a small damp little room with your kids in bad weather.

Room Tip: Cape Codder for 2 was OK, a bit small but functional for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

First, let me thank you for the positive comments that you shared concerning your visit to Green Harbor. We do have one, two and three bedroom suites and cottages for rent, which would solve that crowded feeling. We did have an unusual bout of cloudy, drizzly weather the
end of June and the first two days of July. When you stay at one Red Jacket resort, you can use the amenities at all the rest. I don't know if you stopped by the office for "rainy day options." The summer program runs from the last week in June thru the last week in August. There is a sample of activities on-line. Our three oceanfront resorts in South Yarmouth can move their kids camp activities indoors on rainy days. Green Harbor is not zoned to build an indoor facility. With this new information, we hope you'll give us another try ! Janice and the GH staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a three day stay here. We were very impressed with the resort.

This property was one of the cleanest ones that we have ever stayed in, which is not easy to do do considering it is on the beach.

The staff are some of the friendliest and most helpful people we have seen in any hotel. I have to mention Janice who was very helpful planning a side trip we made to Provincetown. She got out a map and marked it up for us, even indicating the location of a speed trap. It was above and beyond what we expected and Janice shows that she really cares about her guests.

Here are the some other pros and cons:
Pros
We stayed in an efficiency which had a very good kitchen. Although the kitchen was small, we had no problems preparing our meals. It was very well stocked with utensils.
The property has a heated pool which came in handy, because it was cloudy on the days we were there.
The property was very quiet. We did not notice or hear any of our neighbors at night.

Cons
The Wi-Fi was spotty at best. After a while I gave up and used my cell if I needed to check anything on the web.
The tv is an older CRT, non flat screen., All though there were about 70 channels available, there were no premium channels such as HBO.

Overall this was a great stay. This was our first trip to cape cod, and staying here left a very favorable impression of the cape. We would not hesitate to recommend this and stay here again.
.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

The "team" at Green Harbor appreciates your positive fedback since we all work together to
maintain the resort qualities that you enjoyed. The Cape Codder for 2 that you were in is the next and last on the list for the flat screen upgrades. The wireless server always responds to our complaint if a guest reports the slow service while they are in house. We are open until Columbus Day this year and it is still warm enough then for a ride with the top down (-: Thanks again. Janice and the Green Harbor staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice condo style efficiency. It looked very clean but smelled very musty. The property is beautiful. It would have been nice if they had a convenience store on premises with the basics bc we were only there for a weekend and could have used a couple of basic items. The beach was beautiful and lots of beach chairs and sun beds.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The housekeepers do an excellent job at cleaning the houses, but sometimes, as was this spring, the abundance of damp rainy days does more than dampen everyone's spirits. We have a few items for sale at the front desk, but
town laws prohibit us from selling certain items. There are several convenience stores less than a mile away. If you are here for a longer stay, Stop&Shop PeaPod will deliver right to your door ! Thank you again for chhosong Green Harbor. Janice and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our 15th annual visit to this Cape paradise was beautiful. The place is ALWAYS clean and well manicured. Unbelievable beauty, Super friendly staff and themost pleasant view on the Cape. The Green Harbor is THE PLACE for YOU!!! We will be BACK! Thank you Dick, Eugenie and Janice for another spectacular vacation

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular, it depends on how many people in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We enjoy our seeing our long time guests as much as they enjoy coming to Green Harbor.
We appreciate your loyalty and kind comments. See you next spring, from the entire Green Harbor staff .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've been staying at Green Harbor for a week every summer for the last 15 years. We started going when our kids were 5 & 3 and even at 20 and 18 they still want to go back every year. The hosts are wonderful - the grounds and rooms are kept immaculately clean and they are always available to help with any issues. Beach, pool, mini-golf, shuffle board, bikes, boats, BBQ's - anything you want they have (even S'mores kits!). It's a lovely spot - close to Hyannis and all that Rte. 28 has to offer, but quiet and off the main drag. If you're looking for a family destination where you all get to relax and the kids can have freedom in a safe environment, this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bethhfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Green Harbor - which we refer to as our "quiet cottage community" - has always prided itself in just the sort of service to its guests that you describe. Many of our guests return year after year. We thank you for your previous stays and kind remarks. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Enjoyed a girls weekend trip to the Cape recently and stayed at the Green harbor Beautiful location , awesome staff and very comfortable rooms . Front desk staff was very helpful at letting us know of must see spots on the Cape and reffering restaurants and Bars !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

A getaway with friends can be a welcome break. Our houses, with kitchens, livingrooms and separate bedrooms, is an option above staying in a crowded motel room. Give us a call the next time "the girls" need a week-end away ! Janice @ GHR front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
2.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.3 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Harbor on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Harbor on the Ocean

Address: 182 Baxter Ave, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-8315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range: $117 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Harbor on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family cottage colony with 50 units ranging from one-room efficiencies, one and two bedroom townhouses, two bedroom suites and three bedroom cottages accommodating up to 10 people comfortably. Green Harbor is situated on a seven acre waterfront parcel on Lewis Bay with Mill Creek on its eastern border. With every amenity a family would need to enjoy a most memorable adventure, the resort features a private beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, outdoor heated pool, playground, miniature golf, basketball, shuffleboard, as well as boats,canoes and bikes. There are no restaurants on premise, as all guest units have fully equipped kitchens. The resort is less than five minutes drive to Hyannis' popular Main Street. Green Harbor is the perfect setting for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or reunion party. Kids' Club, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities. Open from mid May until mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Green Harbor on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Harbor On The Ocean Hotel West Yarmouth
Green Harbor On The Ocean West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing