We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and well maintained property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Harbor on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Green Harbor on the Ocean to your Saves list
Green Harbor on the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   182 Baxter Avenue, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
739 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,304 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and well maintained property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a three day stay here. We were very impressed with the resort.

This property was one of the cleanest ones that we have ever stayed in, which is not easy to do do considering it is on the beach.

The staff are some of the friendliest and most helpful people we have seen in any hotel. I have to mention Janice who was very helpful planning a side trip we made to Provincetown. She got out a map and marked it up for us, even indicating the location of a speed trap. It was above and beyond what we expected and Janice shows that she really cares about her guests.

Here are the some other pros and cons:
Pros
We stayed in an efficiency which had a very good kitchen. Although the kitchen was small, we had no problems preparing our meals. It was very well stocked with utensils.
The property has a heated pool which came in handy, because it was cloudy on the days we were there.
The property was very quiet. We did not notice or hear any of our neighbors at night.

Cons
The Wi-Fi was spotty at best. After a while I gave up and used my cell if I needed to check anything on the web.
The tv is an older CRT, non flat screen., All though there were about 70 channels available, there were no premium channels such as HBO.

Overall this was a great stay. This was our first trip to cape cod, and staying here left a very favorable impression of the cape. We would not hesitate to recommend this and stay here again.
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
The "team" at Green Harbor appreciates your positive fedback since we all work together to
maintain the resort qualities that you enjoyed. The Cape Codder for 2 that you were in is the next and last on the list for the flat screen upgrades. The wireless server always responds to our complaint if a guest reports the slow service while they are in house. We are open until Columbus Day this year and it is still warm enough then for a ride with the top down (-: Thanks again. Janice and the Green Harbor staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice condo style efficiency. It looked very clean but smelled very musty. The property is beautiful. It would have been nice if they had a convenience store on premises with the basics bc we were only there for a weekend and could have used a couple of basic items. The beach was beautiful and lots of beach chairs and sun beds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The housekeepers do an excellent job at cleaning the houses, but sometimes, as was this spring, the abundance of damp rainy days does more than dampen everyone's spirits. We have a few items for sale at the front desk, but
town laws prohibit us from selling certain items. There are several convenience stores less than a mile away. If you are here for a longer stay, Stop&Shop PeaPod will deliver right to your door ! Thank you again for chhosong Green Harbor. Janice and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our 15th annual visit to this Cape paradise was beautiful. The place is ALWAYS clean and well manicured. Unbelievable beauty, Super friendly staff and themost pleasant view on the Cape. The Green Harbor is THE PLACE for YOU!!! We will be BACK! Thank you Dick, Eugenie and Janice for another spectacular vacation

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular, it depends on how many people in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We enjoy our seeing our long time guests as much as they enjoy coming to Green Harbor.
We appreciate your loyalty and kind comments. See you next spring, from the entire Green Harbor staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've been staying at Green Harbor for a week every summer for the last 15 years. We started going when our kids were 5 & 3 and even at 20 and 18 they still want to go back every year. The hosts are wonderful - the grounds and rooms are kept immaculately clean and they are always available to help with any issues. Beach, pool, mini-golf, shuffle board, bikes, boats, BBQ's - anything you want they have (even S'mores kits!). It's a lovely spot - close to Hyannis and all that Rte. 28 has to offer, but quiet and off the main drag. If you're looking for a family destination where you all get to relax and the kids can have freedom in a safe environment, this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bethhfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Green Harbor - which we refer to as our "quiet cottage community" - has always prided itself in just the sort of service to its guests that you describe. Many of our guests return year after year. We thank you for your previous stays and kind remarks. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Enjoyed a girls weekend trip to the Cape recently and stayed at the Green harbor Beautiful location , awesome staff and very comfortable rooms . Front desk staff was very helpful at letting us know of must see spots on the Cape and reffering restaurants and Bars !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
A getaway with friends can be a welcome break. Our houses, with kitchens, livingrooms and separate bedrooms, is an option above staying in a crowded motel room. Give us a call the next time "the girls" need a week-end away ! Janice @ GHR front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I recently stayed here May 22-24, and had a great experience here. The cottage was perfect for our size family, plenty of room to roam about, very nice and clean rooms, perfect location to get anywhere on the Cape! Defintitely looking to coming back here again. Can't beat the location or the price. Staff was extrememly helpful and very friendly too. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlelobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
"We'll be back ! " is the most used phrase at check-out time. The variety of houses, suites and
cottages, means that there's something for everyone. Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. Janice and the Green Harbor staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, md
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at the Green Harbor and loved this place. West Yarmouth is a great location to use as a base for visiting all of the towns on the Cape. The Green Harbor is perfectly situated -- a quiet location on the water but close to RT 28. The staff were all very friendly and the housekeeping staff kept the room immaculate. The kitchen contained everything we could have wanted. Bed was very comfortable. Extra towels and pillows were very much appreciated. The cost of our room was about half of what we would have paid for the amenity packed Red Jacket property 2 miles down the road. Since we had the option of using their facilities for free, the savings on the room at Green Harbor was very welcome. This would be a wonderful resort for families with children. The water is calm, swimming pool is heated, miniature golf course is available and playground appeared safe and sound. Thanks to others who had reviewed this resort so favorable on Trip Advisor. We agree wholeheartedly and would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c2andd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are open until October 14th, if you decide on a return trip. We appreciate you taking the time to write a favorable review. janice and the Green Harbor staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
2.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 20 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 20 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#10 of 20 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
14.6 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Harbor on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Harbor on the Ocean

Address: 182 Baxter Avenue, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Harbor on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family cottage colony with 50 units ranging from one-room efficiencies, one and two bedroom townhouses, two bedroom suites and three bedroom cottages accommodating up to 10 people comfortably. Green Harbor is situated on a seven acre waterfront parcel on Lewis Bay with Mill Creek on its eastern border. With every amenity a family would need to enjoy a most memorable family adventure, the resort features a private beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, outdoor heated pool, playground, miniature golf, basketball, shuffleboard, as well as boats,canoes and bikes. There are no public restaurant facilities on premise, as all guest units have fully equipped kitchens. The resort is less than five minutes drive to Hyannis' popular Main Street. With its spacious cottages and Cape Cod villas, Green Harbor is the perfect setting for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or reunion party. Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, fun clowns, fishing derbie and magic shows. Open from mid May until mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Harbor on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Harbor On The Ocean Hotel West Yarmouth
Green Harbor On The Ocean West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing