We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Harbor on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was a really sweet place. The staff was kind, the pool was warm and it was conveniently located next to a small sandy beach with a little playground. The grounds were nicely maintained and we appreciated the ability to bring all our meals and relax in our townhouse. We went with a young child and liked being able to put him to bed and then sit down in the living room area (it was a bit drizzly) and play games. We'll definitely return, and maybe next time we'll bring our friends! Also, although the (free) bikes weren't in the best shape they were perfectly fine for a quick jaunt out. I wish we planned to stay longer!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Happy to read that the drizzly weather did not dampen your vacation experience. The "horse-shoe" shape of the property makes the beach and pool and other amenities just a short walk. The equipped kitchens allow you to enjoy a home cooked or a take-home meal, rather than waiting in long lines at restaurants. The bikes have been well ridden and repaired all season, but a new fleet will be in place for the start of the 2013 season. We hope to see you then! Janice and the Green Harbor staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    42
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
110
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We just made our first trip to the Cape and had no idea where to stay. I needed a place to accomodate my family and my mother-in-law. Two seperate hotel rooms were just not an option. After searching the internet for lodging options and reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we selected Green Harbor. From the time we arrived, we were thrilled! We had a two bedroom suite (number 73) that overlooks the beach and water with great views. Two balconies, full kitchen, sitting area, two full baths. We could watch the kids on the play area and beach from our room or balcony. The resort is spotless and the staff is always around keeping the areas organized and clean. Staff was very friendly and a great source of information about the area. Each morning we were on the beach combing for sea shells and finding crabs to show the kids. The resort has canoes, rowboats, bikes, beach chairs..all for the guest's complimentary use. They even have a kids camp in the morning and a miniature golf course. You can't go wrong with this place. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for unit 73 if you want the best water front view. You can see the sunrise and sunset, panoramic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kc8175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Don't you love it when your doubt turns into a pleasant surprise ? Our goal at Green Harbor is to create a relaxing atmosphere so that you return home feeling like you had a restful vacation. Thank you for your positive feedback, and we look forward to seeing you in 2013. Janice and the staff at Green Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I just returned from a weekend stay at Green Harbor. A few friends and I had a relaxing getaway there in one of the 3-bedroom cottages. The view from our deck was spectacular and we could have sat out there for hours.

The best things about the resort are the staff, the accomodations, and the "extras". The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful - from booking, to check-in, to check-out. The cottage was clean and well-appointed. I had thought we were supposed to have a dishwasher, but alas, our cottage did not have one. Not a big deal really. The "extras" in the way of beach chairs, lots of towels, bikes for borrowing, etc. were a plus. They are not stingy here with stuff like that. Plenty of soap, plenty of clean towels, etc. It was nice to not have to request those things like you often have to do at many hotels.

It was a bit pricey, but for what you get, I understand why. I typically prefer the outer cape over this mid-cape location, but I would definitely return to Green Harbor and may also consider bringing my family next year as it is very family-friendly as well.

Room Tip: Cottage 21 is very nice. A little farther from the beach/pool, but very quiet and a great view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ09-137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Our variety of accommodations offer "something for everyone." Multi-bedrooms for groups to share the house and the price, or attached cottages for multi-generational families to be close, yet be able to sleep in their "own place." Efficiency studios are also available for those who want a "get away from it all" stay. We appreciate feedback from our guests so that we can continue to improve our amenities. Thank you for sharing. Janice @ GH front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband's folks began coming here before he was born, nearly 57 years ago and they came almost every year. We have come every year that we could , due to living far away. A lot has changed in the property buildings in the years but one thing has not, the beauty, the quiet, the clean and quaint accommodations and the wonderful staff! When we stay here we are amazed that we could just sit out all day and just enjoy the fabulous view. When we venture away to explore our other favorite places to eat and visit we are always anxious to get back to this resort. Everyone that comes here seems so family orientated. There are lots of family reunions held here as we have done for years. It is a fun and safe place for people of all ages. Everything you need is here and more. Prices are very reasonable off season. It may seem pricey during the in season, but you are right on the ocean and the property is maintained I think better than any resort I have been to. Just about the same staff is there to great you every year and they get to know you and your family. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else except for one Inn on King's Highway maybe for a night or two. Nothing in my opinion compares to Green Harbor. The only problem is that once you stay here you don't want to leave. Some of my best memories with my family are here. Hope not much will ever change here. Love you Green Harbor!

Room Tip: Townhouses closest to the beach are my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Generations of families have vacationed here at Green Harbor. The managers have been here for forty-one years, and 100% of the staff returns every Spring. The number of repeat guests makes each check-in feel like a family reunion. Thank you for your loyalty and your positive comments, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cape Cod. Janice and the GH staff !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to Green Harbor in 2 years. We loved it last year and really enjoyed our stay again this summer. The resort is perfect for our family with elementary-aged children. The private beach is small and located in a bay which keeps the waters calm (no big waves here). There is a playground on the beach and a 9-hole mini-golf course on property. The pool was clean, warm, and never overly crowded. My kids enjoyed the free bicycles and the kids camp program. We especially liked the full kitchen in our well-kept, clean suite, in which we cooked all our meals. Supermarkets and fish stores are conveniently located. The resort is also near to several Cape Cod tourist sites and family-fun attractions.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carynshek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Our Green Harbor family is happy to hear that your family enjoyed your recent vacation ! See you again in 2013 (-: Janice and the Green Harbor staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What can I say, other than as first timers to GH, we will return! We used trip advisor for the first time to reserve our family vacation to the Cape, and wasn't sure how we should interpret some of the reviews. Especially when terms like "Cape Cod luxury" are used. We didn't know what to actually expect. Even some of the site pictures do not do justice to the manicured well maintained site and buildings. So we arrived with guarded expectations and was pleasantly surprise! Most all the recent positive reviews are accurate, and even some of the nit-picking negatives are spot on. As a frequent traveler there are many items that can ruin a trip, especially a family vacation, and this property isn't one.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelnCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I am happy to hear that your vacation at Green Harbor exceeded your expectaions. Pictures and words are a good guideline, but nothing beats the actual Green Harbor experience! Thank you for taking time to share. Janice @ GHR front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family stayed for 3 nights in a townhouse. It was spacious clean and we had our own deck and patio w/ Weber grill which we used for roasting marshmallows the tv's were not fancy but we were not there to watch tv anyhow. The property was well manicured and beautiful! We were able to relax because the resort included many COMPLIMENTARY amenities such as lounge chairs, umbrellas, children activities, mini golf, bike and helmets, shuffleboard and our favorite boats and kayaks to explore. The front desk (Suzanna paricularly) was polite and courteous to all of our needs. We forgot to bring beach towels and we were promptly brought extra towels to use. The pool was clean, large and very refreshing. We also were welcomed at their other resorts close by which had watersports, an indoor pool and a restaurant. We did venture off to the Riveria for jetskiing and one day to the Red Jacket Beach for the restaurant convenience and to enjoy another beautiful view of the Nantucket Sound. All of us enjoyed our stay and although we would return we usually go somewhere different and new every summer. The value and variety were very much appreciated and each of us had a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your descriptive review ! If your vacation cycle reaches the "repeat" stage, give us a call. Thanks again from all of the Green Harbor staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
2.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
14.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Harbor on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Harbor on the Ocean

Property: Green Harbor on the Ocean
Address: 182 Baxter Avenue, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Harbor on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family cottage colony with 50 units ranging from one-room efficiencies, one and two bedroom townhouses, two bedroom suites and three bedroom cottages accommodating up to 10 people comfortably. Green Harbor is situated on a seven acre waterfront parcel on Lewis Bay with Mill Creek on its eastern border. With every amenity a family would need to enjoy a most memorable family adventure, the resort features a private beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, outdoor heated pool, playground, miniature golf, basketball, shuffleboard, as well as boats,canoes and bikes. There are no public restaurant facilities on premise, as all guest units have fully equipped kitchens. The resort is less than five minutes drive to Hyannis' popular Main Street. With its spacious cottages and Cape Cod villas, Green Harbor is the perfect setting for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or reunion party. Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, fun clowns, fishing derbie and magic shows. Open from mid May until mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green Harbor on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Harbor On The Ocean Hotel West Yarmouth
Green Harbor On The Ocean West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing