We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Cove”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cove at Yarmouth
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Cove”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

The Resort is nice and all, but not my cup of tea!! First of all, there are too many stairs in the place and - although I'm not old - I'm not young either and found the layout of the place challenging. The resort is right on Rt.#28 and the traffic there is a bit obsessive. The rooms were ok and all, and if that's what you want from a vacation to the Cape, then I guess you'll be happy there. There were no view from there or sights and sounds of the ocean. Just allot of people. On the plus side, the Cove had a nice pool and a activity room with convenient hours. For my money and tastes, I'd rather go further out as e.g. Brewster/Eastham areas. All in all, I love the CAPE!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank mpavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    167
    46
    8
    8
See reviews for
169
135
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2006

Me and my boyfriend have been coming to the Cove for the past 3 years. We love it... its always clean, there are many things to do in the area or at the resort.
I wouldnt call it 5 star, but its an excellent place to stay if you want to get away, esp. during "off-season." We've stayed in the suites, and the townhouses... We love the suites! Two bathrooms and a "whirlpool tub" in the suites. Townhouses have a smaller upstairs room, and is kind of a pain. There's also a small "kitchenette" where (even though you cant cook) there's a microwave and a small fridge.
The only thing I'm not a huge fan of is in the summer time, or during school-vacation weeks, there's usually many families and kids around the pool area, but you arent going to find ANY hotels on the cape without children... and sometimes you can have a bit of a walk to the indoor pool, but you'll never have to go outside to get there!
The Cove is the ONLY place I stay on the Cape!

  • Liked — the location, cleanliness, whirlpool tub
  • Disliked — sometimes a far walk to the pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Suites are nicer than the lofts! Also has a door to shutout "living room" to keep privacy!
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank UmassJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2006

When my husband and I decided to spend a 3-day weekend in late March on the Cape with our 22-month-old daughter, we chose the Cove based on Trip Advisor reviews and the fact that the unit had a "loft" bedroom. (We are learning that a separate bedroom is key if you don't want to have to sit in a dark hotel room every time your child needs to nap/sleep!) We stayed in a townhouse, which is bi-level with a full flight of stairs. Needless to say, we put our daughter's crib downstairs in the living room/dining room/kitchen. Because the loft is only separated from the downstairs by a pleated shade, we had to keep the lights out and the TV off when our daughter was napping and when she went to sleep, somewhat defeating the purpose of staying in a non-traditional room. The woman at the front desk suggested that we should try for a "suite" the next time, as the suite unit is all on one level and the bedroom is a truly separate room with a door.

The room was clean and well-maintained. We especially liked having two full bathrooms and two TVs. The indoor pool was a little chilly, but that didn't stop the kids from swimming. We were a little disappointed that the resort allowed many people into the pool who were not staying at the resort. (We overheard two conversations at the front desk regarding "forgotten" membership numbers, and lack of "guest passes," respectively.) It felt like there were a lot of people in the pool, however, we didn't have trouble finding lounge chairs. There was a small kiddie pool, which was warm and a big hit with our daughter, as was the indoor play area with slide, appropriate for children between 1 and 4. Our room was quite far from the pool, requiring a trek each time we went to swim.

Since the weather was on cold side, we entertained ourselves by swimming in the pool, eating out in Hyannis (including Outback and Panera Bread) and walking around the Mall, the latter two an easy drive from the resort. We also ate dinner at Captain Parker's Pub, which had great seafood!

The main issue we encountered during our stay was that the door at the top of the common stairwell was continually slammed throughout the first night of our stay. My husband complained that he didn't get any sleep at all. The second night, we were creative and figured out how to keep the door open (similar to the way the door at the bottom of the common stairwell was open).


I don't know that we would choose to stay at the Cove during the season, as it is not on a beach. However, overall, in the off-season, if we were able to secure a suite, we would likely return.

Helpful?
15 Thank SuzieCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2006

The Cove at Yarmouth is amazing. I am 14 years old and I absolutly love this place along with my family. We love it so much that it is the site of our family reunion every year in the winter. If you go during the summer it is a great place to stay. But when you stay in the off season, it is even better seeing that there is so much to do. There is something for guests to do rom ages 5-90. In addition to the raquetball, volleyball, wallyball, basketball, and tennis courts, ping pong tables, and pool tables, they also have many special activities for the little ones such as hair braiding, sculpture painting, and bingo. If you find there is not enought to do, (Which you won't) but if you do, The Cove is right in the middle of all the action at Cape Cod. Not to mention there is a resturaunt right next to the Resort. Another wonderful aspect to the Cove is it's pools. The indoor and outdoor pools are always kept to wonderful cleanlyness. Once your done swimming you can hop into the steamy sauna or hot tub. After all this you can work out in the wonderful fitness center where they have many different types of state of the art equiptment. So between the wonderful location, the Raquet Club Center, and the pool area it hits you, this is what The Cove at Yarmouth is all about.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2005

The Cove has to be the best resort on the Cape. We have stayed there for the last 3 years. It has everything. Outdoor Pool, Indoor Pool, Tennis, racket ball, health club, actvities, restaurant and more. The rooms are comfortable with 2 baths. It feels like a home away from home. The staff is outsanding, anything you ask for is there promptly. It is extremely clean. You will love it. We bought a timeshare because of our outstanding visits.

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2005

Stayed 3 nights with our two teenage daughters. The location is very convenient and the place is clean, but based on the reviews, we were expecting better. The first impression upon entering the building was a musty smell in the hallway. The room decor is plain and dated. The pullout in the living room sofa was very uncomfortable, so the kids put the mattress on the floor. We had reserved a townhouse (upper level) and were put in a suite (ground level). Trouble with ground level is that unless you want to sleep with the sliding door facing the parking lot open, there's no fresh air. Also had children running around early in the morning above us. Central A/C is very loud when it comes on and blows like the north wind. Two bathrooms are a plus, but there are no exhaust fans to remove the hot humid air after a shower. There is a vent shaft in the bathroom that is connected to the unit above and it happens to conduct sound very well, so all you shower singers will have an audience. The refrigerator is small and the freezer compartment is tiny. If you plan on visiting any of the Yarmouth beaches, rather than paying $15 to park, try to get one of the 25 town beach parking permits that The Cove owns. They become available at 7 am each day on a first come first served basis. The cost is $5 and the permit must be returned that evening.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank LI_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2004

We have owned at this resort for 20 years. Always maintained impeccably. Both the grounds and the amenities. Get townhouse Woodlands view by Atrium. Full rec center with arcade and raquetball, tennis and basketball too! Indoor and outdoor pools with jacuzzi's. This is the largest resort on the Cape although it seems the quietest. Owners are respectful of the property and great class of people. Minutes to walk to the beach and downtown shopping. Golf is incredible. So many courses to choose from. Our family has enjoyed many years of ferry trips to Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket and even Whale Watching. But our favorite thing to do is to get New England Chowder "to-go "and sit on the beach. Best Clam Chowder is at Captain Parker's for sure!

Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
3.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove at Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove at Yarmouth

Property: The Cove at Yarmouth
Address: 183 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cove at Yarmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod's premiere resort warmly invites you and your family to experience the charm of New England. Stroll through the antique shops in the quaint villages of Cape Cod, walk among the dunes and sample some of the finest "Chowdah" Cape Cod has to offer. Whale watching, day trips to the famous islands of Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, fishing, bike riding, sailing and quiet moments await you here on Cape Cod while staying at The Cove at Yarmouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cove at Yarmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove At Yarmouth Hotel West Yarmouth
Cove At Yarmouth West
Cove Ma Yarmouth
Cove At Yarmouth Hotel West
Cove Yarmouth
The Cove At Yarmouth West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing