We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, clean, and conveniently located.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   216 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673 (Formerly Thunderbird Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, clean, and conveniently located.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Our room was reasonably priced, had new carpeting, smelled clean, and was conveniently located. Management was new and the front desk person was very friendly. If you're looking for a clean basic room on a budget, then this place is good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    29
    16
    14
See reviews for
37
49
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are better places to stay on the cape. Their free wireless was just great. I went to read my emails and received 4200 emails and 3500 spam emails. I am still dealing with the emails.
The pictures are very deceiving. The place is run down and dirty. The floor boards in our room by the sink were loose and covered over with carpet so you had to be careful not to trip.
The door and the room were spray painted the masking tape was still left on the handles and around the window frames. Not good. Our room wasn't cleaned and it was 2:30 in the afternoon.Left early. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljmscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Thunderstank, man. You just can't get over that Thunderstank.

Imagine the basement of your house, condo, apartment complex, whatever. Now multiply by two. Then raise that to the exponent of two, perhaps three, depending on how sensitive your nose is. Yeah, it's that bad.

And I'd really like to know where the water that was seeping into the bathroom in my room came from. Every time we mopped the floors with towels, the grayish water came back. Note that this was before we had even run the shower once. Gross.

Thankfully, we were only in the room to sleep, and the bed was actually reasonably comfortable, but there's no way I could have spent another day or two with that smell. You really can't blame this on the cleaning crew -- they certainly did the best they could with what they're given, but management needs to tear this place down and start over.

Spend the extra money and go elsewhere, especially if you're thinking of spending any significant time in your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lansdowne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The grounds were completely unkempt and actually seemed very dumpy and a little intimidating. Like you were in a bad part of town, which was not the case. There was no parking on the side of the building where are room was and truthfully it was not convenient, the room was clean and whatever they used to deordorize the room was extremely strong but it was better than the smoke smell, so that was good since we booked a smoking room since my husband smokes.

Room Tip: The rooms were clean and good sized. but there was nothing remarkable aobut it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is possibly the worst place I've ever stayed! Granted we did book on short notice but the positive thing I can say is the rooms are large and bed was not horrible. It is rundown both inside and out and first rooms we were given reeked strongly of mold. We moved to new rooms which were slightly better but still very musty. Windows were bolted shut so no opportunity for fresh air and likely a fire hazard. The towels were dirty and I tried not to examine the bedding too carefully. No breakfast in sight. Person at check in was rude and housekeeping was very intrusive....rushing us to leave in the am even before official check out time. Thankfully we were only there 1 night and just to sleep. Would never recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you are not looking to stay in a run down dump, then you should avoid this property at all cost. Pictures of the property are very mis-leading, this place is very run down inside and out. Plus you can stay at cheaper places right around this hotel for cheaper money and better accommodations. There is no outstanding value here !!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvSpecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a very nice choice for the budget traveller. The rooms are fairly large and clean; there's a nice indoor pool and a very basic breakfast provided; the wireless internet worked well. The host is helpful with local suggestions. Its location in West Yarmouth is very convenient for exploring Hyannis or the rest of the Cape. I would return here, because for $75 a night (and that included the fee for having a pet) I don't see how you could possibly do better on a Memorial Day weekend. If you're looking to go to the Cape on a budget, this is the way to do it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#6 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#2 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#11 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod

Property: Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod
Address: 216 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673 (Formerly Thunderbird Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel West Yarmouth
Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing