We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectation - can stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mariner Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed at the Mariner for two nights during our recent visit to the Cape Cod last weekend. Reading some of the reviews here, I was somewhat "prepared for disappointment". However, from our perspective, this hotel exceed our expectations.
We paid about $75 per night for a second floor courtyard room (#208). The room was clean, well maintained, and had no odors or disturbances from outside. We felt safe and comfortable there. The mattresses in this room were comfy. We used the indoor pool as well as the Jacuzzi, and both were a joy for my children. We also use their mini-golf, which is not so well maintained but definitely worked for all of us to relax and spend some family time together. The morning breakfast at this time of the year is just few varieties of muffins. Not bad considering we knew about it beforehand but would certainly have liked some more options.
I used their wireless internet connection every morning and evening, and never had a problem.
The hotel location was also great. Near to everything yet not overly busy area. The seagull beach was only a 5 minute drive away and is beautiful. The hotel's staff was also courteous and helpful.
I would suggest to hotel management to see if they can modify the room layout to put some kind of wall seperation between sink and the main room area. When one person needs to use the sink during middle of night or early morning, it may distract rest of the family with the light and noise from running water. Just a small inconvenience.
If you expect a 4-star or 5-star look from this hotel, you will be fooling yourself but if you went with realistic expectations and want to have a good time, you'll love it for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesiMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 482 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2010

beds were rock hard which is ok if your Fred Flintstone or Barney Rubble. Loud partying until 1 in the morning. beer cans on the grounds next day. I was told that a 'noon' check should be fine only to arrive and be told checkin will be at 2 pm. The women were slightly upsett about me asking about an early checkin. I complained VIA email and got absolutely NO RESPONSE so when I read some of these reviews that get a response from the 'GM' or the 'MANAGER', its makes me wonder. My honest assesment is you can do better elsewhere on the cape.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank centralmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHiggins, General Manager at Mariner Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2010

The Mariner's policy on early check ins is to avail the guest to a room immediately upon arrival when possible. There are times when available rooms are not the same type or location as was requested by the incoming guest. Once the requested room is vacated, the housekeeping staff is instructed to clean and inspect this room prior to cleaning any other rooms.

The Mariner is currently in the process of replacing mattresses. In preparation for this, we had given out a questionnaire to all our guests who were arriving over a fully booked weekend. We then compiled that information and are replacing the old mattresses, although individual tastes do vary.

There was some partying going on for one Sunday night. College students who were over the age of 21, had made reservations on our website with valid credit cards. The Mariner staff had them sign and agree to conduct agreements upon their arrival. Unfortunately they did not abide by the agreement and were asked to leave the next morning, which they did without any incident. The Mariner does not tolerate disruptive behavior which interferes with the enjoyment of other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed here the first week of June for a few nights and this hotel far exceeded my expectations for the price we paid. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming up either during peak season or off peak season. Both indoor and outdoor pools were clean and attended to daily. The staff was excellent and helpful. Each room on the first floor has a slider that opens so you can walk right outside. This is convenient if you are a smoker as all rooms are smoke free. We will be returning in the fall before they close for the winter.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigct1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHiggins, General Manager at Mariner Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2010

Thank you for your kind comments regarding out property and staff. The Mariner continues to strive to make every guest as comfortable and happy as you. Enjoy your summer and I look forwarding to seeing you in the fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is not the Ritz but it is above expectation for a hotel in the price range. The Cape is notorious for high prices and often not much value for your dollar. The Mariner is the exception to the rule. Have stayed here with grandkids also and they loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speaker-of-my-house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

First off..the location is easily accessible- right off main route. Within walking distance of many shopping/restaurant locations. Once we entered, the lobby area was clean. We were greeted by pleasant staff members. It was the beginning of "the season" so new staff members were being trained- so a little patience was needed...no problem there. Onc we checked in, we checked out our room- clean, no "motel" smell...The bed could have been a little firmer for a better nights sleep- but that is individual preference. It appears they recently upgraded their rooms. Newer bathroom, including wallpaper/tile, flooring, sink area, linens etc. The cleaning staff was friendly and courteous. We had a problem with the light over the sink...they fixed it quickly. We did not use the pool area- however it seemed to be constantly occupied.
The ony thing that irritated me was that we had to have our key re programmed because they only program them for 2 days...if I"m staying 3- I shouldn't have to go to the desk- especially if my hands are full w/ shopping bags- or tired from all the walking/sightseeing I did all day. Again... was the ONLY thing that did not sit well with me...
All in all staff was pleasant, helpful. The room was more was more than sufficient, and access to other attractions/shopping/restaurants in area was easy....

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottish01453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecent, Manager at Mariner Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your patience upon check-in. Our new staff members seem to be progressing well even if they do occasionally slip up on programming key cards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

After we were allowed to check in early we arrived at our room and were immediately dissapointed. Four adults and two full size beds! We would never have booked a room had we known about the size of the beds. In addition, the beds were so uncomfortable it was like sleeping on a board. The pillows were also flat. My friends and I were so dissatisfied that at 3:30 in the morning, after we were all awake from sleeplessness, we complained to the front desk and were offered another room but we still had a horrible night's sleep. Upon checkout our complaints were dismissed as if they didn't care that we had the worst night's sleep. Needless to say, we won't be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAT3784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecent, manager at Mariner Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2010

I am always concerned when anyone is disappointed with our hotel. In this case the disappointment could have been alleviated had we known prior to 3:30 in the morning they were unhappy with the size and firmness of the beds. Room with king size beds, a refund or whatever the guests desired would have been offered had they returned to the front office immediately after their early check in. All of our rooms have Serta hotel beds, the newer ones tend to be on the extra firm side. It has been reiterated to our desk personnel that any complaints upon check-out be referred to a member of management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We picked this motel online.We were pleasantly suprised.The room was spotless and all of the other areas were clean and well cared forall other areas( pool area ,grounds )were also well cared for. The only things that need improvement are the pillows much too soft all though we asked for extra pillows and that helped also the heating and cooling system was excessively loud,All of the staff was friendly and helpful.We wolld definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecent, Manager at Mariner Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2010

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to review the Mariner. After your feedback among others, I have decided to upgrade all pillows at the Mariner. The pillows have been ordered and we expect delivery the first week in May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.4 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
497 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motor Lodge

Address: 573 Main Street, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range: $75 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariner Motor Lodge is the closest hotel to Cape Cod's Sea Gull Beach and the green fairways of Bayberry Hills Golf Course. An easy walk to excellent restaurants, shopping and amusements. Take a short drive to Hyannis and Barnstable Harbor which offer whale watching tours, fishing excursions, and boat trips to the historic islands of Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard. At the Mariner Motor Lodge, you'll be in the heart of mid-Cape and will have a myriad of things to do that make Cape Cod a cherished vacation year round. Situated in West Yarmouth, this hotel is within a 10-minute walk of Cape Cod Inflatable Park and ZooQuarium. Pirate's Cove Mini Golf and Englewood Beach are also within 1 mile. Along with an indoor pool, this smoke-free hotel has a spa tub and a sauna. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self-parking are also provided. Additionally, coffee/tea in a common area, a seasonal outdoor pool, and conference rooms are onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Mariner Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motor Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motor Lodge West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing