We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Acceptable, well worn, but priced right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariner Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariner Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Acceptable, well worn, but priced right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Mariner is not the Ritz, but it's an acceptable economical lodging option on Cape Cod. Sort of getting "long in the tooth". Could use some upgrades in carpet and perhaps some flat panel tv's, but it's reasonably clean as well as having both outdoor and indoor pools. Outside playground and mini-golf onsite for kids. Has lots of parking and seems to be a safe reasonable option for low key lodging on the Cape. A very minimalist continental breakfast - actually just some sort of baked product and coffee. But the price is right! Least expensive place we stayed in a week in new england.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bavarianbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    160
    80
    38
    22
See reviews for
199
128
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived in a tour bus of 54 passengers and the owner came out to meet us and made sure we were comfortable in our rooms. At the time we arrived there was already one tour bus on the property and another arrived within a few minutes of our arrival.

The rooms were clean even though they were not new, it appeared that everyone from maintenance to owners were ready to help in any way they could.

Our biggest complaint was the intermittent wireless service and the poor lighting in the bathroom and neither were able to be fixed during our stay, even though the wireless was worked on several times. Please remember that this is an older motel located in a very active tourist area, so don't expect a brand new motel. The pool, hot tub and sauna all received high praise for cleanliness from fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the pool and office seemed to have better wireless service if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at this motor lodge and found it centrally located to tour Cape Cod from Woods Hole to Provincetown. Our non-smoking, two double bed room was located at the back of the motel and therefore was quiet. We had a hallway access as well as sliding doors to the parking lot which made it easy to bring our items into our room. Pros: clean, fridge, table and 2 chairs, long dresser, one nightstand, and very convenient to tour Cape Cod. Cons: the very small fridge (and even smaller freezer) was located underneath the sink vanity (the vanity was separate from the toilet/shower). The strange part was that the fridge cord had to be plugged in an outlet on the wall above the vanity. Very strange and it used up one of our outlets. Although the room size was adequate, the toilet/shower area was uncomfortably small; tight even for a small/medium size adult. Air conditioner was loud but helped drown out the noise coming through the walls at times from our neighbor. Even normal conversation could be heard through the walls so that wasn't good. We did not use any amenities so cannot comment on that. Overall, the room was clean enough; although somewhat dated or cheaply updated (outlets were yellowed, looked like vinyl flooring on the bathroom walls). Overall, the location served our needs nicely so we would stay there again and recommend for price and location. For breakfast, we really liked the Keltic Kitchen, quaint, quirky and good food. Also, the 99 Restaurant is a must--several meals at $9.99--very good food, good prices and located just minutes away.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the motel and was quiet. We liked the sliding doors for backing into a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have been to Cape Cod a number of times but usually stayed with relatives. That wasn't an option this time because I was also bringing a friend and there was no room. We found this hotel online and it cost us $510 for pretty much a week long stay following Labor Day. Split that in half and you've got a pretty good deal IMO. Free wi-fi so my iPad worked and we could even watch Netflix. Nice hot tub, outdoor and indoor pool, free mini golf. Good perks

Downsides- Not great variety for breakfast. No juice or milk even served. Still, you're walking distance from Dunkin Donuts so no biggie. The Tv is pretty tiny and old school. They could try upgrading to a widescreen set even if it's small. Also, some of the door handles were sort of falling off the door. This was happening to the one in our bathroom and also to the door that leads into the hall where the rooms were on the second floor.

Biggest pro- Really friendly, helpful front desk staff who remember you. I'd say a door handle here and there isn't so bad in the scheme of things. I've seen worse. For the value and location, I'd go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obriensg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, MA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I run a golf weekend every year on the Cape for 24 women. We have tried other facilities between Yarmouth and Falmouth but I think we finally found one that we'll stick with! How any places can make 24 women happy and not have ONE complaint!!!! Rooms were clean, the grounds were always being looked after, and the staff could not have been better! They were extremely accommodating to our needs, very professional and courteous to everyone. Karen........you're the best!!! Also, we had 3 great days of golf at the courses we all wanted to play. Thanks Howard for taking care of all the details. We've already booked our trip for next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOONSOCKET
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose this place because the price was very reasonable, it has an indoor pool and whirlpool. and they offer free WiFi. We were very satisfied with the cleanliness and size of the room and the helpfulness of the staff. The No Smoking rule was obeyed in every part of the building that we went into. The pool was large and warm, and the whirlpool was large and very warm, and neither was overcrowded when we went there. There is a rope across the middle of the pool so kids don't go out too deep, but adults are free to swim in the deep end. The in-room fridge was small but adequate for our needs. They offer free coffee 24 hours a day; it was good and fresh and they provided real half-and-half, not the dreaded powdered creamer as I had feared. Breakfast was just muffins as they told us in advance, but they were fresh and plentiful. They also gave us a coupon for $3. off meals at several nearby restaurants, which was a nice plus. A few small quibbles: Although we heard no noise from the rooms or hallway on our floor, we heard every step the people took in the room above us the first night, not so bad the second night. The Wi-Fi signal didn't reach our room - we were at the opposite end of the property from the office - but it was fine in the breakfast room and pool area, so I just went there to check my email. And they don't recycle paper at all, not even in the office, so I brought our newspapers home to recycle. None of these items was a dealbreaker for us and we would definitely stay there again. One other thing: We were on the 1st floor and we didn't notice an elevator to the 2nd floor, just stairs, so if you have mobility issues you might want to ask if they have an elevator or request a 1st floor room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the office if WiFi is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, on
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The room had a bar fridge, comfortable beds, "green" tv remote, which means no gross germs hiding within, free wifi. The room overall was clean, but is an older motel so its def. not spotless. What made my stay wonderful was the fact that we booked a room with a patio door leading out to grassed area with patio chairs and table and access to the pool. With it being end of summer, this was truly a great addition. Having an outdoor area to sit at was relaxing in the evening. The pool area is large, with loungers all around and patio tables and umbrellas. The pool gets full sun all day and therefore the pool is quite warm. It was end of summer and the pool was still quite warm. I loved the pool area and the fact that the water will be warm for all the summer months. The indoor pool is heated, is large, has lounge chairs and a hot tub. Looking at other hotels in the immediate area, this one would be my vote. We did not go to the beach, so not sure of how close it is. there are a few resturants within walking distance as well.

Room Tip: if in summer/spring pay the little extra for a pooside room if you plan on using the pool or enjoy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexykitten7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.4 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#6 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.6 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#14 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yarmouth Resort
Yarmouth Resort
#9 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motor Lodge

Property: Mariner Motor Lodge
Address: 573 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4948
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Mariner Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motor Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motor Lodge West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing