We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mariner Motor Lodge Cape Cod”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mariner Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed July 12, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 484 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

My fiancee and I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Mariner. We had been planning this for a month. It was a birthday gift for my fiancee to accompany a set of tickets to see John Pinette perform at the Melody Tent on July 7th. The woman at the front desk was extremely polite and friendly both upon check-in and check-out. However, it doesn't quite make up for the lack of cleanliness to our room and the response from the head of housekeeping. Upon checking in, we entered our room only to find hairs in the sink, on the counter around the sink and in the tub. My fiancee and I overlooked this and promptly washed the hairs away before using the space to put our cosmetics, shampoos, toothbrushes, etc... Later that evening, after returning from a wonderful show and dinner in Hyannis, we returned to our room to shower and relax. As my fiancee walked over to adjust the air conditioning setting, he noticed a squashed bug smeared to the wall. He also noticed that the phone was completely covered in a layer of dust (like you get between the keys of your keyboard if not cleaned) and the receiver and keypad were covered in something oily that came off on your fingers. To make matters worse, when we pulled back the covers on one of the beds, there were black hairs on the white sheets. Although it was close to midnight, we called the front desk and asked for clean sheets. I have to say, they promptly responded and we remade the beds, ourselves. We debated going to the front desk the next morning, as we don't complain and feel slightly embarrassed to do so, but we thought it was necessary in this case and just wanted a more thorough cleaning of the room for our second day (we did not want money back or a different room, again we are easy going and don't like to complain anywhere we go..we know how hard people work and the hours they put in). My fiancee spoke to the desk clerk and the head of housekeeping that morning. The clerk was apologetic, but the head of housekeeping said that the woman who cleans our section had been there for years and never had a complaint. She also stated that hair on the bed didn't mean the sheets weren't washed because "sometimes things just get tangled and stay stuck in them". I have been to many places over the past 20 years and have never had hair in my bed or been told that it's still clean and just happens. They promised to do a thorough cleaning that day. We were ok with that and went to the beach. When we returned to our room around 4pm, most of the room was in fact much cleaner, but the phone had not been touched, the squished bug was still stuck to the wall and the dirty sheets stripped off the bed, were in a heap on the floor. My fiancee had to pick them up and bring them into the hallway, himself. Needless to say, we did not feel justified in tipping the housekeeper. On a positive note, we did find the pools very enjoyable, and as stated earlier, the front desk staff was very cordial and helpful with suggesting restaurants, directions, etc... Yet, the fact that we do not go away often and cherish the few days (here and there) that we can get away, we will probably not be staying here again. A friendly staff and relaxing pools just do not make up for a dirty room and a lack of concern over that fact by the head of housekeeping. We do not hold the manager, or other staff responsible for this, but when deciding where to spend our little bit of vacation money each year, cleanliness of an establishment must be number one on the list.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review the Mariner. I am disappointed in the way your problem was handled as I take all guest feedback seriously. I have just had a long discussion with my head housekeeper on procedures to be followed when guest room issues arise. I encourage all guests to contact a member of our staff or management if they encounter any problems during their stay so that the situation can be corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stay at the Mariner 2-3 times a year and have always enjoyed ourselves. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and always immaculately clean.In addition, it is a great "bang for the buck" type place w/an indoor and outdoor pool, located right on Rte 28 close to Hyannis and many popular local attractions w/rates that will put a smile on your face. In short, it's a winner!!!! Also, a big shout out to Karen!!!!!!-------------Frank

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Can't say enough about our stay at the Mariner....from the minute we checked in, the service was wonderful. "Everyone" is so friendly and helpful, we did not encounter one person there who did not go out of their way to see that our stay was great. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Never had a problem sleeping, very quiet. There are two pools, we used the outdoor pool...lots of chairs and tables....towels are available. The whole area is kept spotless. We used the jacuzzi...also very clean. Breakfast is muffins...fresh and tasty. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available 24 hrs. The Mariner is very well located....restaurants, beaches, Provincetown, Hyannis, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I found this motel on the internet. I was very disturbed by most of the motels' ratings from guests. This one stood out in that it was rated highly by very many of its guests. It is ideally located on Rte 28 near to Hyannis and close to very many locations on Cape Cod. Nice clean rooms with refrigerator, a nice outdoor pool and an immense indoor pool with sauna and hot tub. . There is even a mini golf couse on the property. Hyannis is nearby . There are many restaurants and attractions (also ferries to Martha'sVineyard and Nantucket) close by. The airport is just up the road as are shopping centers. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and they have 24 hour fee coffee and tea. etc.etc. I would stay here again without any questions

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortiaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I and 2 other couples stayed at the Mariner for 1 night over the weekend.
The front desk was very helpful and we were able to get into our room by 11am which was great. Room was fine, 2 queen beds, small table with chairs and small bathroom. We enjoyed the outdoor pool all day as the weather was beautiful. There is a great sports bar right next door called Red Faced Jack's that was also quite good.
We would definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TammyMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This Motor Lodge is conveniently located, but not really a walking distance to the beach. We did walk to Seagull Beach and it took us about 25min. It is a well kept motor lodge, desk service was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed a miniature golf course right on their property. The whole place is non-smoking which is very important to us. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Sometimes it is better to call motel or hotel directly and talk to the person at the desk before boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.4 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,268 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
2.6 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,278 reviews
2.2 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motor Lodge

Address: 573 Main Street, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range: $81 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariner Motor Lodge is the closest hotel to Cape Cod's Sea Gull Beach and the green fairways of Bayberry Hills Golf Course. An easy walk to excellent restaurants, shopping and amusements. Take a short drive to Hyannis and Barnstable Harbor which offer whale watching tours, fishing excursions, and boat trips to the historic islands of Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard. At the Mariner Motor Lodge, you'll be in the heart of mid-Cape and will have a myriad of things to do that make Cape Cod a cherished vacation year round. Situated in West Yarmouth, this hotel is within a 10-minute walk of Cape Cod Inflatable Park and ZooQuarium. Pirate's Cove Mini Golf and Englewood Beach are also within 1 mile. Along with an indoor pool, this smoke-free hotel has a spa tub and a sauna. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self-parking are also provided. Additionally, coffee/tea in a common area, a seasonal outdoor pool, and conference rooms are onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariner Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motor Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motor Lodge West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing