We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved...”
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Much Improved...”
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Our family of four (children 6 and 2) stayed here 8/4-8/7. We had stayed here several times previously (latest 2003). It's obvious they put some money into the place. Rooms were very clean and beds/furniture/carpet were fairly new. Pools were a big hit for the kids - thick padded cushions on the lounge chairs at the outdoor pool (literally nicer than the chairs at a Ritz Carlton we recently stayed at). Nice bar/grill at the outdoor pool as well.

Good location in mid cape... must try the cafe for breakfast - huge portions, very good quality, very reasonable prices (breakfast place across the street is a rip off).

All in all... a nice step up from the typical cape motel type hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Familytripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    158
    92
    55
    36
See reviews for
210
129
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We got a connecting room and stayed at this hotel with our two children. The main attraction in the lobby was the fish. The kids got a kick out of it while we were checking in. The staff could smile a little more, though, but they weren't rude.

Our rooms were very clean and tidy. Housekeeping is great.

The best part was the pool. It's not in the middle of a parking lot, rather, it's tucked away toward the back of the hotel, and away from the road. Good sized pool. The indoor pool is a great alternative for sun-soaked skin or rainy weather. Our five year old liked the children's pool (which is pretty tiny, but served it's purpose).

There are a lot of restaurants and activities in the area - no matter what your budget may be (E.g. Christopher's restaurant was nice, but a bit overpriced. There kids liked the 99 better). We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Very good food. The bar is opened only on weekends, since it wasn't open while we stayed during the week. Oh yeah, the rates are lower for weekday stays.

The beach is only a short drive away (wouldn't want to walk there - too far).

We would definitely go back. The room rate was very good for what the hotel offers.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Our room's view of the parking lot
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

The Cape Point was clean and the staff was very helpful especially when it came to the night time bottle heating and early morning. Considering the area I would definately recommend this place for families. Pool area was great, especially for small children, had a nice kiddie pool (indoor)

Helpful?
4 Thank My2bratzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 6, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Cape Point Hotel over the pre-4th of July weekend.
It was a fine hotel. The staff were friendly upon check-in and out and the rooms were neat and clean. No moldy or musty smell here. The outdoor pool has a nice cabana bar that serves burgers, dogs etc. as well as beer, wine and frozen drinks for the adults.
The Cape Point is not a 5 star hotel but it is an all around, solid, family hotel. We would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Cape Point is an old run down place. The wallpaper in the room was coming off, bugs were on the floor and never cleaned the four days we were there.

The room was musty, moldy smelling. When one opened the door it would knock us back, and we turned the air up and sprayed.

The info said 24 hour coffee and it was available, free, in the lobby during the evening, free, but at 7 one would have to go to the cafe to buy it.

The room needed a good cleaning and updated.

We got it due to it being cheap and the recommendations on Trip Advisor and AAA rated 3. WE were sorely disappointed at the place, and wished we would have left after the first night.

We did cut our trip short a night and there was some concern we would have to pay for an extra night since I did not tell them three days prior to arrival, but three days prior to departure. The problem was solved.

I would recommend someone look somewhere else. Since I do not plan to go back, I did not look at other places to recommend. CAPE COD is delightful, and a great place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#8 of 22 in Hyannis
543 reviews
2.4 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Property: Cape Point Hotel
Address: 476 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing