We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for sleazy - you've come to the right place”
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came back from our stay at the Cape Point Hotel and must say that we were very disappointed with our stay.

i wasn't sure if my husband and i were being too picky when we heard from other guests that they have been there many times and when we saw children running -- barefoot in the hotel hallways but i don't think so as we have travelled many places and stayed in many different establishment ranking from 1 to 5 stars.

I reserved this hotel off of Hotwire it was classified as a 3 star hotel. This is NOT a 3 star hotel.

First off, this hotel is very worn down as you walk down the hallways it makes you feel very sleazy - i was actually embarrassed of being seen there. The doors all seem to have the wood peeling off of them and the door frames all have knicks on them - it's okay that's just the hallways right? The room is going to be better right?

Wrong!! as we opened the door the smell of some cheap spray pot-pourrit attacked our senses -urgh i think that stale cigarette would be better then that. This room was filthy - i even kept my flip flops in the shower for fear of 'catching' something. The tv was held together with some duck tape, there were hair on the bedsheets along with some crumbs, toothpaste on the washroom door frame, stains on the curtains and the patio door was more then filthy.

The front desk staff when we first arrived was rude and unhelpful - we did arrived before the check in time of 3:00pm and we were told to come back later - when we did return later it seemed to have been chaos at the front desk. Very disorganized.

I would love to have something positive to say -- perhaps it was just our room??

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_S41922, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

I was sorry to read your comments. I wish you had asked to speak to a manager while you were here and we could have corrected some issues. First the carpet in the hallways are less than One year old. Second kids like to go barefoot sorry. We use air-wick room freshener spray in our rooms which many guests have requested the name of it because they liked the fresh smell. On cape cod being close to the water you get dampness and all Hotels use a freshener. We have had very positive comments about the cleanliness of our rooms, if your room was in the shape you say I would have expected a call right away. I am sorry we could not check you in early, check-in is after 3:00pm. If you show up early we offer to take your cell phone number and call you when the room is available.If it is ready early we check you in. You are also welcome to use the facilities while waiting for your room.Again sorry we didn't meet your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 500 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Bad hotel. There were coackroaches in the bedroom. Not one, but many.
The lock for the patio door was broken.
The mattress was really uncomfortable.
The room seemed very durty, I kept my flip-flops on the whole time.
The town itself has not much to offer, I would definitly drive the hour more that it takes to go higher in cape cod, where things happen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrée-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_S41922, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments, regarding cockroaches, we have Ecolab on contract who does a monthly inspection due to many insects on Cape Cod. This hotel does not have cockroaches nor has it had them in the past.Water bugs yes, due to dampness on Cape Cod, but cockroaches No.
All our mattresses are Sealy Posterpedic and are less than three years old. As far as the town not having anything to offer, i can't help you their. Being born and raised on Cape Cod I do know that further down Cape things happen till about Eight o'clock then the they roll up the sidewalks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

you may have driven by this hotel located on 28 in yarmouth (next to DD0 many times, We have but we never stayed until this year. The hotel had two great pools, outside one with tiki bar!! the Room was large and very clean. the breakfast restaurant located downstairs was excellent, the food and the service.. they even have an indoor Koi pond,,, what else do you need?

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony on the first floor, oterwise you may have a parking lot view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent 5 days at this facility last week. Really used it primarily for sleeping. However, they had a very nice outdoor pool at the far end of the motel. They also had a large indoor pool (heated to 84 degrees) at the front of the motel. There is an very good café on site which serves breakfast from 7:00-11:00. They have an excellent staff and the prices are very reasonable.
The rooms are spacious and clean but show signs of serious wear. We were on the 2nd floor and the windows didn't open to the outside. They control the temperature with a wall thermostat and if the air conditioner is noisy your only option at night is to shut it off. Lots of restaurants are on Route 28 and the location is close to Hyannis and its downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patagonia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location of this place is good if you're staying in the Yarmouth area. It's on Main Street which runs through everything. I think there were about 5 mini golf places within a mile of the hotel which I thought was sorta funny. Anyway, the place was pretty clean for the price and location. Every room has a bathroom (tub and toilet in separate room, sink in main room). Sliding glass doors. I would recommend staying on the side where there's a lawn. There are chairs to sit out in if you're on the first floor. Otherwise you're facing the parking lot. The girl at the front desk was very nice. There is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool. We didn't use either, so I can't comment. And you get a $3 discount for a few local restaurants. I recommend driving into Hyannis which is a super cute little town. Lots of shops and restaurants and all are on the same street as this hotel. Just head West and you drive right through it.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the side where there's a lawn. There are chairs to sit out in if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillineryMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location is great, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean a bit outdated. The air conditioning blows right on you and there is no way to adjust it. Did not use other facilities, just went there to sleep and work. Pool looks nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlownGlassGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overall this hotel provides good value for the price. The room is pretty simple with no frills, but clean. The room doesn't have coffee/tea makers, probably to save room. But you can get coffee from a cart by the lobby any time. It has only one small round table and two chairs. So it's not good for a business traveller. But it fits with our family on vacation.

It has an indoor pool, outdoor pool, and a jacuzzi. My kids had fun in the pool while we enjoyed the jacuzzi. We didn't use the outdoor pool because the it was not hot enough outside.

Another thing is the good location of the hotel. It's quite, but convenient to go to places around. A Dunkin's is right next to it.

The wi-fi is not very reliable.

Room Tip: Get room facing the courtyard, not the parking lot for rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,277 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.4 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Address: 476 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range: $67 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing