We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Lacking”
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality Lacking”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having friends in Dennis we go to the Cape to visit them a couple times a year. We have stayed at Cape Point 4 times now. Our last visit was our worst at Cape Point. Although the hotel is totally non- smoking, when we entered our room it smelled disgustingly like stale smoke. Also there was no Internet service and when we asked the front desk about it were told that the manager "knew about it". The rooms have gone downhill in quality and need desperate updating. Also in the morning we asked the front desk if they had newspapers and she pointed off in the direction of the ATM and paper machines which were all empty (on a Sunday!). Will definitely not stay here again. A real disappointment

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    158
    92
    55
    36
See reviews for
210
129
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The rooms here are your average "Motel Rooms" not like a "Hotel". No internet connection at all for days and the front desk clerk showed no interest in fixing the issue or even being apoligetic about the situation. Housekeeping did not clean my room even when I specified needing service. The rooms have a old fashion t.v, in them no flat screen.However they come equipped with a safe(just as big as the t.v.) lol and blow dryer no coffee pot and felt like I was at a sleazy place. The hallways are not kept clean and have a odor to it as though they have not been shampooed in years. Over priced not good quality rooms. Not even a walk in closet .Shop around before you make this your top pick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The rate was $69 in April-the pool, sauna and whirlpool were very inviting and the $5 towards breakfast was enough to have an egg and bacon in an attractive little restaurant. I hope to return later into the beach season.

Room Tip: the only negative was a very unsatisfactory gym room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomosu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Trying to make plans to visit the Cape at the end of March, I found many places closed or already booked. The Cape Point Hotel looked good from Trip Advisor -- and so it was. A good location mid-Cape for going out and about. Explored from Hyannis to the wonderful little town of Chatham with ease. The weather was a bit chilly and blustery, so didn't get to do as much beach exporing as we had hoped, but got in a bit. The hotel staff is friendly and rooms are comfortable. We had problems getting the heat to stay warm enough, and I heard the man across the hall complaining about that in his room. Was told at checkout that we just didn't have it on "auto", but not sure that is true. I had good breakfasts in the cafe (not included). We did not use the pool, but saw many people do so and it seemed nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorRob1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have never been so upset , I had an awful experience ! There was a hockey team of kids staying there and that is common . But this place is a uncontrollable environment. The staff has no clue and does not care , complaints to the desk st 130 in the morning and im getting an attitude from the man at the desk , because im complaining of parents and kids sitting in the hall outside my door extremely loud and drinking. Got to the point were I went into the hall at 2am and the hotel did nothing ! It is dirty and out dated. The pool is ok , but the hot tub was packed with young kids so the adults could not go in. There is absolutly no supervision in this place not even in the pool area .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I first want to apologize for the experience you had at our Hotel. We were aware of the problem we had with the hockey team and they have been flagged so they cannot return. We do put extra staff on when we have teams in the hotel. Unfortunately their seems to be a trend with hockey teams. If you go to the other hotel that you wrote a glowing review for you will see a review from another guest stating the same problem their as you had here. Hockey teams are a big challenge and we try to implement many things to insure are other guests are not disturbed, however we have problems like all other hotels with teams. Again we do apologize for the experience you had and hope you would give us a chance to show you we do have a quality product and a good value for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great hotel to stay at if you have young children. My 4 yr old son had a blast in the indoor kiddie pool. The staff was courteous and accomodating. Thinking about returning on the april vacation week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Point for two nights during February school vacation week. They offered lots for the kids to do, from ice cream socials and pizza party to a juggler and clown. The kids had a blast along with swimming in the large pool and doing a fe arcade games. It was a great getaway and the kids had a blast. This is not my first stay at the hotel, and I'm sure it won't be my last. The only thing I wish worded better was the wifi service. It was intermittent and at times did not work at all. Other than that, we had a blast!

Room Tip: They have two views....parking lot or wooded area with a building behind it view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#8 of 22 in Hyannis
543 reviews
2.4 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Property: Cape Point Hotel
Address: 476 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing