We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice getaway for school vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice getaway for school vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Point for two nights during February school vacation week. They offered lots for the kids to do, from ice cream socials and pizza party to a juggler and clown. The kids had a blast along with swimming in the large pool and doing a fe arcade games. It was a great getaway and the kids had a blast. This is not my first stay at the hotel, and I'm sure it won't be my last. The only thing I wish worded better was the wifi service. It was intermittent and at times did not work at all. Other than that, we had a blast!

Room Tip: They have two views....parking lot or wooded area with a building behind it view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    149
    84
    54
    34
See reviews for
197
127
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Being forced to find a hotel due to loss of power .we found Cape Point. I can't tell enough how the Staff was so courteous to us and very accommodating . Steve the general manager was on top of it. We just loved Jennty the bartender. They made a bad experience a better one . I would say that most of the hotel was made of Cape Codders who they might not see again. That didn't alter the good service .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lor591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKLAND
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently stayed Friday-Sunday at Cape Point Hotel. I called Friday morning to see if I could get into my room before 3:00 check-in time. I was told if the room was ready I could get in, if not I could use the pool area until it was ready. She said it was a very busy weekend. I asked if there could be a note beside my room for early check-in and she made a note of it.
When we arrived our room was ready at 1:00. We had a deluxe room on the second floor room 201. The room was very spacious and bright. It had two queen beds, a twin pull out couch, table and two chairs, coffee table, bureau and nice flat screen tv. The sink area to the bathroom was on the left wall as soon as you entered the room which was strange but worked for all our drinks and snacks. The mini fridge was under this vanity. Directly across from the large vanity was a small bathroom and shower. This might have been a problem for a large person, but was fine for us.
The room was clean and neat. We had excellent room housekeeping.
Now heres what put a damper on the weekend...the beds felt like we were sleeping on hard slabs. These had to be the super extra firm beds on the market. Were so used to high quality pillow tops when we stay at other hotels. They looked new and in good shape but were rock hard. This isnt the standard in all the rooms because the other couple we went with had the most comfy king bed.
The second day I saw housekeeping in my room and asked for another mattress cover, thinking this might help a bit, she did give me one but it didnt help much. What they really need for these beds is a memory foam or very thick mattress topper to offer guest that like a softer bed. Nothing can ruin your stay than a bad nights sleep.
We spent a good amount of time in the pool area and it was very quiet. We were expecting a crowd, being a busy weekend but it was very relaxing. Lots of tables, chairs and chaises open. We also checked out the lounge which was very cozy with lots of tv's. We had two rounds of drinks and the mixed drinks were very well made and at a good price.
They have free Wi-Fi here but its very sketchy in the rooms. The best reception was the closer you got to the main office. I used my ipad mostly in the pool area. There was free coffee in the lobby when the cafe wasnt open. We had breakfast in the cafe and it was excellent, service was great too! I thought the prices were very good.
All in all it was a nice relaxing weekend and I would stay again...bringing my own cushy bed topper..just in case.

Room Tip: If you like extra firm beds pick room 201. Second floor room are quieter than first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The Cape Point hotel couldn't be any better! The staff is fantastic, the rooms are great, the indoor pool and hot tub are wonderful. A superb play to stay! A perfect play to come to get away. Very near all sort of tourist & shopping adventures. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnoldCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you’ve stayed at motels/hotels/back ally rooms on rt 28 you know that generally the really really really stink (literally and figuratively).

We’ve been coming to the Cape and islands for many years. Often on our Nantucket trip we like to come out a couple days early, enjoy Hyannis, get our Arnold’s fix (Wellfleet), and just get a little pre-vacation in. Well, we’ve been searching for a solid, budget concise place to stay for a long time. We’ve tried numerous other hotels (10+) on rt28 and have had horrible experiences. Which is the reason for the title….

I think we’ve found a slice of rt 28 budget hotel paradise. ALL we want is a clean, solid room, with a clean pool. That’s it. We’re not expecting a Marriot (if so, we’d simply stay at one!) with flat screens, high-end everything. No, just a clean, functional room. I think we’ve found it!

Room:
Have I said clean enough? I know I’ve seen some other reviews that said they weren’t happy, but our experience was only positive. A clean room! Nice big beds, everything worked. Was there some wear? Yes, but at a budget price, should you expect the Ritz?

Pool: Spacious and clean. Kids had a BALL.

Extras: A small arcade room, which the kids loved.

Location: Centrally located. Easy to Hyannis, to Rt 6 (if you are heading out to Wellfleet!), rt 28 does have it’s typical traffic, but not to crazy.

We will be trying this again in August prior to our Nantucket trip, to see how it holds up in-season (this was a fall trip). Fully expect to be satisfied once again. Sorry to make this sooooo long, its just we've had so many poor experiences on rt28!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank declue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spacious and clean rooms. Helpfull staff. Free parking right outside our room. There's a small cafe on site that serves a great breakfast at a good price. Close to the shore and beaches. Cape Cod mall is closeby aswell if you need to do some shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouschkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Neat clean rooms with comfortable beds, granite sink, and ceramic tile in bathroom. Pleasant atmosphere and helpful staff... some were Eastern European students. Small restaurant on site but breakfast may not be included, although our tour group leader made arrangements for a nice one to be provided. No nearby fast food restaurant. Stayed there three days and would readily return.

Room Tip: Request room near stairway/elevator to avoid long hallway treks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
The Cove at Yarmouth
The Cove at Yarmouth
#4 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#7 of 22 in Hyannis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Property: Cape Point Hotel
Address: 476 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing