We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“booked my cousin in the hotel for the weekend”
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My cousin was on cape cod visiting me and he couldn't stay at my house because he is allergic to cats. A friend told me to book him at the Cape Point, so I did. Not only were the rates low but we went there to pick him up and the inside was awesome. You walk in and look down and there are huge fish swimming. My cousin got a lot of use from the huge pool, the hot tub, the sports bar, and he said the breakfast was awesome in the cafe. We wen t back to the hotel and played cards in the room. The room was very spacious and he had a slider with a table and chairs on the terrace.
I must say he was more then happy with his stay and he can be a bit fussy being from NY city and all. If anyone from the Cape Point reads this, thanks for treating my cousin so well. He needed a nice weekend he's had a lot of stress lately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank qteesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thanks for the nice comments, we hope you will use us again when your cousin gets to come to Cape Cod again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 501 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

People were friendly but there were several little things that made this hotel not as good as others. They have several doors to the outside along the length of the building so you don't have to walk a long way, which sounds like a good idea. If they were all working, that is. The food in the cafe was OK but very expensive. Don't stay on the first floor! If you get people with heavy footfalls when they walk, you will hear every step! It sounded at one point like they were moving the furniture around! Their beds are billed as queen size but to me they were on the skimpy side. And the mattress sagged in the middle. Good part is that they are pretty centrally located.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor rooms as you can hear everything above you when on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEKatInnitou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Wow, that is the first time the Cafe has been called expensive. Some examples: French Toast $4.95, Three egg omelette with two ingredients $6.95, Two eggs,bacon,homefries,and toast, $5.50, Our famous Banana Walnut Pancakes $5.95. Let me give you a tip, don't go for breakfast in a City Hotel If you think we are expensive. Besides being affordable we have many, many, accolades about how good the food is in our Cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After checking trip advisor reviews, decided on this hotel. Great out of season rates. The room was large and clean. Got tips on staying on the grassy side of the motel, and the second floor. The outdoor and indoor pools were nice and clean. The hotel had a definite resort feel about it. Lovely breakfast at a low cost. The room was very charming. Will definitely stay here again. We don't stay anywhere until we check the reviews on trip advisor first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the grassy side, second floor. If you want to use the outdoor pool, the far end u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxborotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We always enjoy our time at the Cape Point Hotel. The rooms are large, with a safe provided for your valuables. The front desk staff is very knowledgeable especially Eileen:-) Having both an indoor and outdoor pool (with food cabana during the Summer) is an added attraction. There is also a jacuzzi with the indoor pool and a childrens pool. A sauna is provided in the men and ladies rooms and you can shower there also. There is a koi pond in the lobby by the elevator and a game room for the kids on the first floor. I am sorry but I have to disagree with travellingmomof3_14. Adults have every right to enjoy the pool facilities without all the screaming, splashing and running. We look forward to adult swim!!!! The children have all day to enjoy the pool and should be in bed by 10 p.m. anyway.
The rooms are clean and their restaurant provides an excellent value for breakfast. The food is excellent. We have stayed all 4 seasons at this hotel and come back year after year. It is also a favorite of ours for "girls weekend" which we do once a year. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: During the summer I ask for a room by the outside pool. I always ask for a room overlooking the woo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel needs an upgrade. Staff were helpful. Carpets need to be replaced or a very thorough cleaning. Pool was excellent. Coffee shop had a good breakfast and the staff were very personable.
The front office were very helpful regarding a fax we needed.
|But the air conditioner! What to say! It had no knobs and in my entire life i have never seen a dirtier one! It also had a bed odor .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gussie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed for a week at Cape Point and EVERY night there were at least 6 to 8 children kicked out at 10:00pm so that 2 or 3 remaining adults could have exclusive use of the pool. The pool is closed to children under 18 years of age between 10:00 to 11:00pm/
The staff and management said this is to reduce splashing so that the adults could enjoy the pool without any children around. This is a real inconvenience to families on vacation. We all pay the SAME price to stay at this hotel. We all should have EQUAL access to all facilities at the hotel.
The pool is twice the size of the pool at the hotel we stayed at prior to Cape Point and it was open to everyone till 11:00pm. The pool is big enough for everyone to enjoy. The only good feature of Cape Point is their large swimming pool and it is so disappointing to the children to limit their enjoyment to 10:00pm.
The staff said the pool is open at 8:00am the next day if the children would like to use it. Why don't the adults get up for 8:00am for the adults only swim. Set up the adult only swim between 8 to 9pm
I won't be returning to Cape Point until this rule is changed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingmomof3_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

As we tried to explain to you while you were here, the pool is open from 8:00am - 11:00pm. If you checked most Hotels their pools close by 9:00pm. We have had the policy of adult only swimming from 10- 11pm for over 20 years and have never had a problem with it. We feel 14 hours of availability for kids to swim is more than enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

You get what you pay for. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay that has indoor and out door pools...this is perfect. It's not fancy, it not perfectly clean. But it's inexpensive. Its centrally located and right on 28, so it's convient. The rooms and rugs etc..are Old ! The a/c unit is loud ! Walls are thin, if you stay on the first floor you hear the floor above you. The indoor pool is not at all spic n span. The lobby coffee maker Never ever works !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

I was sorry to read you were not happy with your stay. I would like to comment on some of your dislikes. Our room carpets are only three years old. Our coffee maker has not been reported broken in 3 months. We do know some guests have difficulty using it but they come to the desk and we direct them on how to use it. Sorry you feel the way you do about our indoor pool, most of our regular guests stay here because of our large, comfortable, salt generated, heated to 84 degree pool. also the air and humidity in the pool is controlled by a dryatron system.
Hope you will consider trying us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,275 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holly Tree Resort
Holly Tree Resort
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Address: 476 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4841
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range: $44 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing