We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worst Experience EVER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 W Yarmouth Hyannis/Cape Cod

Super 8 W Yarmouth Hyannis/Cape Cod
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 W Yarmouth Hyannis/Cape Cod
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Experience EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

In regards to my recent stay at Super 8 , The Emotional distress and embarrassment of the owner yelling at myself and my 70 year old father when we questioned the beds not being Queen size in front of other customers who were eating breakfast, was unjust and uncalled for, The owner was rude, obnoxious going on how not once in 22 years and owning over 20 hotels that nobody has ever complained about the beds, he did not even comment to me about the smell my refrigerator had and that I was afraid to even put my drinks inside of it , he was to busy yelling at us about how we just wanted cheat and that the beds were Hotel Queens,, Frankly when he said Hotel Queen I attempted to ask a question about what the difference was between a Queen and Hotel Queen he just ignored me..So I went and sat down and decided I would get a hold of Priceline whom I booked through and see what could be done , while he continued to keep yelling at my dad.. Finally I just went to my dad and said lets just take care of it later with Priceline and got my dad to try to settle down because he was so upset.. So I went back to my room and called Priceline who advised me that they could not do anything but to contact my bank which I did.. So I started the claims proceeding with my bank and she said lets call the owner and see if we can resolve this issue once more after I told her what I just wrote to you above... When he came on the line she introduced her self and say that myself and her were on the line and that his conversation would be recorded etc.. So she proceeded once again to talk to the owner and say we just wish to pay for the full-size beds we got not that we wanted a full refund..He once again started in and said to her and said Madam they got what they paid for they were queen sizes bed and then the went on to say the reason they seemed to us they were so small was because we were all fat and that's why the beds seem smelled.. As soon as he said that I said excuse me sir my family is not fat , while I am heavy the rest of my family is not, Mind you now at this point I am not mortified because he just said this to my banking Institute , also right after I said my family was not fat he hung up . This whole experience has been a disaster I mean we only had 2 days to have a few days for a trip as a family and this gentlemen ruined our entire trip

Room Tip: False Advertisement for queen beds, they have this new thing called Hotel Queen vs Reg Queen and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outcry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    44
    26
    38
See reviews for
63
40
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chilmark, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've never lodged a formal complaint on a hotel before, but this was my first. The property is old and pretty run down. Repairs have been very obvious and slap-dash - the caulking in the bathroom was re-applied sloppily over old stuff and is peeling away, the sink had a slow drip leak, the whole place wreaked of disinfectant or air freshener, like they were trying to cover up a bad smell. The doors and walls are thin - I was woken up many times by children screaming at the tiny, outdoor pool.

They did not even have fitted sheets... Housekeeping merely used flat sheets tucked in on all sides, which promptly came up after about 10 minutes of sleeping. I found myself laying on the bare mattress (GROSS) several times in the night.

Worst of all, the water heater in the building must be 75 years old, as it goes ice cold and scalding hots randomly and without warning. It scalded me twice, and I eventually just got out of the shower and rinsed my hair in the sink.

We were charged over $100 for the room - on the back of the door, it says the acceptable range for the room was between $30 and $115. I can't believe we were charged nearly the maximum charge for such a sub-par experience. When he realized that we were staying as a couple, the owner even tried to bargain with my boyfriend (who bought the room) into paying $20 extra for a bed with a King mattress.

There are PLENTY of places to stay on the Cape - don't stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was disappointed that this property is part of the Super 8 chain. I have stayed in many before (in fact am in another one tonight in Maine, which is fabulous). Our room had a weird odor -- like car freshener or something else they were using to either cover up smoke or mold/musty smell (although it was a non-smoking room). The breakfast was also advertised as Super Start (and was even advertised as that on the map given away by business) yet it was simply 2 choices of cold cereal and prepackaged muffins or rolls -- no variety. We didn't even eat it the next day. Even a toaster with toast or bagels would have been an improvement.
It was also an old property and we heard every single footstep on the floor and walkway above us. The only thing positive I would say that considering you're in the Cape, the $99 per night was reasonable compared to other properties but if I had to do it over again, I would find another property unless you're not doing much more than checking in and sleeping and getting back on your way. All it owuld take is a little TLC to make this more acceptable, like new bedding and carpet cleaning and some paint.

Room Tip: I would not return to this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alohajmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miinnesota
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The room was OK, some would rate it worse. The tiles in the bathroom were regrouted with calk, just put it over the old. Much too wide. Looked aweful. Lots of little details that needed fixing. Rust on the bathroom heat vent. The "H" and "C" on the facets were missing. The breakfast was two cold cereals, corn flakes and raisin bran. Prepackaged muffens, two flavors, and some other prepackaged roll. It gotold after one day.

Skip Cape Cod all together, Western Mass. is much nicer.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvair65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Read the reviews before booking, so knew this was no 4 star motel. And that is true....a little moldy, a little scruffy and the wifi is not reliable. BUT it is in the perfect location in Hyannis....easy to get to the harbor, to the ferries (important to us) and to the Main St. "strolling" area. Rooms are clean and have any amenties you need for an overnight. Wouldn't want to spend a vacation here, but it is fine as a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I rate all Motels as 3 Stars; however I would give this establishment a 3.5. The Super8 in Yarmouth, Cape Cod is centrally located in Yarmouth giving the tourist a perfect vantage point in the Mid Cape to see all of the local sights without difficulty. The harbor with the HY-LINE ferry to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard is within walking distance. The other quaint towns of Hyannis, Dennis, Chatham, etc are easily accessible from here, however a rental car is essential to see all of the sights on the Cape with any efficiency. Take the Ferry to one of the Islands. Dont' miss shopping on the main street in Chatham. Restaurants which we favored were the Yarmouth House, and we suggest Schooners Restaurant in Hyannis for wonderful Greek/Mediterranean cuisine
The Hotel itself is a simple Motel. The staff quite friendly. The breakfast very stereotypical and simple. My wife Linda and I took a room with two queen size beds (we used one queen for ourselves). The room was large and clean.The Wi/Fi worked well. The Motel is not new. Our attitude is that a Hotel is only a place to sleep. If you want to be pampered, get over it! Or stay at an expensive place. This was a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: see above. 1.5 hour drive from Boston
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We did not expect much from this hotel as it is only 2 stars accommodation and our expectations have been met. The place is OK. The room had AC, fridge and some other basic things you need to stay over night. The beds were not the greatest in the world, but good enough to sleep through humid Cape Cod night. The owners were very nice, polite and helpful. There is a pool outside of the hotel which we did not use. I would recommend this hotel to those travelers who just want to stay in the area for 1-2 nights. It's not very romantic, but it will just fine if you are going to spend most of your time on the beach or exploring Hyannis and surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandreyev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.6 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
0.8 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#2 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#12 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod
1.9 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 W Yarmouth Hyannis/Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 W Yarmouth Hyannis/Cape Cod

Property: Super 8 W Yarmouth Hyannis/Cape Cod
Address: 41 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-8185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 W Yarmouth Hyannis/Cape Cod 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 W Yarmouth Hyannis/Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Hyannis/w. Yarmouth/Cape Cod Area Hotel West Yarmouth
Super 8 West Yarmouth
Super Eight West Yarmouth
West Yarmouth Super Eight
West Yarmouth Super 8
Super 8 W Yarmouth Hyannis/Cape Cod West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing