We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clutter Fest!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alley's General Store

Alley's General Store
Attraction details
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clutter Fest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is always fun to visit. The shelves are jammed with trinkets, jewelry, spa products, food, and STUFF. You can grab an assortment of island-themed items or just some necessities and go next door for ice cream. Funky and intereresting!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
305 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Sets the right balance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This store was discovered by me by mistake. We were on Martha's Vineyard, travelling around, and suddenly there it was. It might look like an ordinary store, but as soon as you are inside you know this is something special. It would be easy for it to overdo the touristy vintage thing, but while those elements are there, and well covered, it's also a bona fide store in its own right, serving the local community as well. Put them both together and you get one place that sells gifts, souvenirs, hardware, groceries while also being a farmers' market.

In any caae, it has the right to claim to be old-fashioned, or vintage - it's over 150 years old now, and good luck to it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Historic Preservation and Fun Shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love the way this place is cared about and preserved and we always find something fun in here to buy. A real treat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chele32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our visit to the Vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We easily spent an hour in Alley's General Story in West Tisbury. We went in for aspirin and really got distracted. We found so many curious and funny items, old brands that we remembered from childhood. We found gifts to take back to California, a lobster bottle-opener magnet, a "must-have" for sure. Don't miss a visit to Alley's!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank afarfaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“"Dealers in Almost Everything"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

That is their motto, and est. 1858 is written on their mugs. This is a wonderful old general store with something for everyone...toys, games, gifts, groceries, a farmer's market, and hardware store, all rolled into one. I probably missed something, but a trip to Alley's is a must on the way to the Artisan's Fair. Some people might call it old-fashioned, but I prefer
"vintage" as Alley's has style! Alley's = Fun! Great for the whole family!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank f00lme0nce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alley's General Store also viewed

West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard
Chilmark, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Alley's General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing