We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a Halloween experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rouge

Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a Halloween experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were referred here by a local merchant after discovering that Olio's was no longer open for business. He told us it was the only restaurant to get dinner in town which was mostly true! He also recommended that we sit at the bar for faster service! Well the bar was full but we did sit at a high bar table and ordered dinner from the bar menu which was considerably less expensive than the dining room menu. The entrees at least. Drinks, coffee and dessert were DR prices, so while we saved a bit, dinner was expensive (a reason we had decided not to go there in the first place!) Given our non-options, we had a decent meal and an enjoyable evening with costumed staff who were delightful and an interesting array of dinner clientele!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust2NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    54
    11
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Firstly, we like the way the restaurant looks. The lights all around are pretty. The bar scene is lively. We were a group of six. We were seated in a room off the bar. Two of us had duck which was very good with excellent sauce. Those were the best meals. The steaks were okay. The fish special we sent back to the kitchen. There was maybe two inches of fish on the plate. The waitress politely took back the order and came back in good time with another fish that was three times the size of the first. The tiny portion of fish shouldn't have left the kitchen. Later they gave us free coffee and one dessert to spilt between all six of us to make up for the fish. The waitress gave us 6 spoons for a dessert the size of a small pudding. It was an expensive evening and not worth the cost. We don't recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food! And so were the staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I don't think I've EVER walked into a restaurant where you were first greeted by the bartender as soon as you walked in! The hostess was so nice, as were every person who waited on us. I felt like I was a rock star by the treatment they gave to my husband and I!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
605 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
“A Fine French Cafe Using Lots of Fresh Local Products”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the upcoming Berkshire town of West Stockbridge, this little gem of a french restaurant delivers high quality, somewhat Basque influenced food using mostly organic, free range and local ingredients. The atmosphere is relaxed and charming...more Bistro style than stiff upper crust formal. Service is good, but could be a bit speedier. Carnivores and non-allergic eaters like me (Extra Gluten, please) are very pleased with the offerings but vegetarians and folks with more sensitive palates are extremely well provided for,too. For non-meat people the salads, breads, soups and vegetarian plates are superior. I liked the free range duck but the organic Lemon Chicken was tempting as well. We had a fairly large group, so we got to sample al lot including a fine Steak Au Poivre and an on-the-mark charcuterie. There is no shortage of seafood either with Calimari, Escargot, Oysters and the like. Desserts are splendid. The wine is well chosen and the company was terrific.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“..#1 in West Stockbridge... no-brainer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Consistent... every visit. Well prepared, tasty dishes.. exceptional service.. priced slightly on the high side... wine list probably it's weakest point. Should they be serving the brisket special, don't pass it up. Finish with a well made cappuccino ($6.00?). Closest in overall style and feel is Bistro Zinc over in Lennox.. Rouge has better food and friendlier service, Zinc has a nicer looking building.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bjaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing