We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Accommodations!”
Review of Shaker Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaker Mill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2010

This is a great place to stay in the Berkshires. Tucked away behind a restaurant, it doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms were all recently renovated and are gorgeous inside, with all amenities you could ask for. The prices aren't the cheapest, but you get value for your money. The owners are very friendly and really care about their guests. I strongly recommend a stay at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharday_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 268 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

Three adults traveling together, we chose the largest suite at the inn, which provided two bedrooms, two baths, and a living area that equaled the size of both berooms together. The living area had a complete kitchen (e.g., large refrigerator not a mini) and two sofa beds. The whole suite would accommodate 6 people. Like several offerings at the inn, ours was actually the combination of two separate rooms linked by a small vestibule just inside the principal entry off a staircase. We paid no more than what a standard room would cost in the heart of the Lenox/Stockbridge area yet were only a few miles and minutes away down those great rural byways that are one of the Berkshires' main attractions. Several quite respectable restaurants are in walking distance along with small groceries, "touristical" shops, and liquor stores. Service and amenities were impressive without being especially luxe, more like what you'd expect at a good bed and breakfast than a city hotel. Lots of maps, travel brochures, current magazines, games, and books are examples. The owner/inkeepers were very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive, again much like a top-notch B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j4r6h42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My wife and I have busy city lives and we love to break away to unwind. We just got home from three days at the Shaker Mill Inn (first time) and we are very glad we stayed there. Let me sum it up: the room was immaculately clean, well-appointed, quiet, comfortable, and stocked with everything we needed. The Berkshire location is beautiful. The owners are truly friendly, relaxed, and thoughtful people. They made it clear that we could ask them if we needed anything, but then they respected our peace and privacy. Simply put, this is a very good place at a very reasonable price. There is a great breakfast place and a tavern right next door. There are all kinds of things to do in the area, but we went just to relax, though I did drive my wife to the nearby Prime Outlet shopping area. For our purposes, I give this place a perfect review all around, and I'm not all that easy to please.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talking_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed there nearly 14 days. It was our base for cruising around the Berkshires.
Each day the breakfast was interesting, we could choose between bacon, egg, muffins & pancakes but several times we had vouchers for nearby breakfast places, like Noog & Cranny or Perk in the Berk.
Twice the hosts totally forgot us and we had to buy something by ourselves. At the end we had paid nearly 50 $ for breakfast outside the Inn although we paid for B&B because the vouchers never fit with the prices outside. (we got the money back at the end of our stay)
Room was clean, litter too small and first try to open up our windows ends nearly in a destroy disaster. Beds were okay. There a signs everywhere that you should save the earth by minimize your waste and the energy. But every time we went back into our room there were always the lights on! Although we switched them off before we left!
Bob & Mary are nice, they bought the Inn 2 years ago and maybe they have to fit into the role as hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyButton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We found the Inn on the Internet and were pleasantly surprised that it exceeded our expectations. We arrived at night to find a friendly note welcoming us to the Inn. Upon entering the Greylock room we were greeted with soft music, a bottle of wine and a view of the mountains behind the Inn. Bob came by to welcome us and suggest a few eateries. However, the Greylock was so warm and inviting it was an effort to leave the room. We went to the adjacent Tavern for a low key and enjoyable evening. We wandered around the Village and then headed back to relax in the cozy room. From the continental breakfast to the soaking salts for the bath, Bob and his wife have thought of everything to make a stay at their Inn a truly memorable experience. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Found this gem online while searching for a place in the Berkshires....my first choice was a simple hotel - but for the same price, we stayed in the lovely honeymoon suite at the Shaker Mill Inn. From the time I drove up, to the time I picked up my personalized note at the front office.....welcoming me and telling me that my room had been prepared....I was in awe at the attention to detail. I walked in, the fire was going, the room was bright and fresh and I was like a kid in a candy store, looking behind every door and waiting for the next surprise! Bob, one of the innkeepers, came to check on me and welcome me - it was Christmas day- and I began my w/end stay relaxed and comfortable. When I opened the frig to put away my items I had brought, there was a wonderful surprise, quiche for the morning, fruit, juice, condiments and fresh baked goodies in the basket! Teas, coffees, popcorn, hot cocoa - all at the lovely buffet in the kitchen. The town is totally walk-able, and there is a tavern just about a stones throw away. The private entrance and the deck on the back was just perfect, and I can imagine ourselves there in the fall and/or summer time sitting out there, enjoying the view. Quiet, clean, comfortable and WAY affordable. Oh, and total relaxation in the (bigger than) 2 person jacuzzi tub in the spacious bathroom! Don't miss the opportunity to check this place out before going anywhere else. Within minutes we were at the Rockwell Museum, the Furnace Brook Winery, the Prime Outlet Stores and the sweetest shops in West Stockbridge. A do-over for sure! And a new tradition for this happy couple.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We were simply looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the holidays for one night. We found our perfect escape in a night in the Honeymoon Suite of the Shaker Mill Inn. It was everything that we were hoping for with lots of little extras. The two person spa tub was heavenly. The bed was very comfortable. The best surprise of the trip was the Tavern just yards away from our door with the most delicious twist on pub fare that we have ever experienced. We left relaxed, rejuvinated, and reconnected.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serenitynow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Stockbridge
4.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,078 reviews
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.9 mi away
Devonfield Inn
Devonfield Inn
#1 of 8 in Lee
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
537 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
11.9 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Mill Inn

Address: 7 Albany Rd, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266-9505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Stockbridge
Price Range: $148 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming small town of West Stockbridge, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires, the Shaker Mill Inn combines spacious suite-style rooms with the charm and individuality that bed & breakfast establishments traditionally offer.Each suite has its own private bath, kitchenette, and comfortable living and sleeping areas - and most of them have their own private deck or balcony! A wonderful continental breakfast - with a choice of quiche or fruit salad - is included in your stay.The Shaker Mill Inn is a child & pet friendly inn. Our spacious rooms, along with owners/innkeepers Bob & Mary, will make your stay in the beautiful Berkshires one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Shaker Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Mill Hotel West Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing