We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dog-friendly B&B with garden and trails” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaker Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shaker Mill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dog-friendly B&B with garden and trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Garden Room, which has a private deck with a loveseat rocking chair, dog gate, and patio table. Inside, the room was kept very cozy and immaculate, with a big bed, private bathroom, a small kitchen equipped with essentials (a toaster oven, microwave oven, refrigerator-freezer combo, coffee maker, sink, etc.). We loved the thoughtful doggy basket with blanket, towels, and a book of dog-friendly hikes in the region. The included breakfast can be enjoyed in the room, on the deck, or in the well-kept garden. Adjoining the inn are some nice trails for exercising canine companions (who are very much welcomed at this establishment), and the inn is also just a few minutes' walk from all of West Stockbridge's eateries, the farmer's market, and other conveniences of town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DVinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    35
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
155
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent a couple nights here and enjoyed every moment. The Greylock suite was like having an apartment. They literally have everything you would need to be comfortable. Yes, the pillows were a little hard, but that is a small quibble. Very fair price for a really wonderful spot. Be sure to go to Rouge, walking distance from the inn.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beckperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouth of Wilson, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a great get together here last week with sisters from around the country. The location was very easy to get to from 90 yet quiet and walking distance from restaurants and store. Bob was very friendly and set us up with some enjoyable hikes to go on.We had campfires at night in the yard with the full moon. Everything in the rooms were clean and comfortable,felt like home.If you stay, walk in to the Vietnamese restaurant in town for an enjoyable time. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed in the Tanglewood room and it was even better than I expected. Plenty of room, plenty of amenities, great price. I was traveling with my dogs for a dog agility show. Upon arriving, no one was in the office, but the owners left me a note detailing my reservation and information to know about the Inn and the room. In the confirmation email, it had stated there may not be anyone in the office when I arrived, and if that was the case, my room would be left open with the key inside. And that is exactly what happened, and was totally convenient. As I was unpacking my car, Bob (the owner) came down and pointed out a few things in the room and let me know to call him if I have any questions. Later on, I met Bob's wife Mary, and she recommended a few restaurants to go to and we chatted about our dogs. Bob and Mary are very pleasant people and want to make sure you have everything you need so that your stay in comfortable.
The room had everything I needed and more. I loved the little bone basket they left with the doggie goodies. The kitchenette was convenient for my dogs' food. The TV had all the channels you need. The bed was very comfortable. There were bathrobes, an iron and board, coffee, tea and hot cocoa, a microwave, coffee maker, dishes and silverware, shampoo and body wash in the shower, hair spray, hair dryer. They really did think of everything.
I absolutely will be back to this place if I am in the area again for a dog show, or any other reason. It was just lovely. A real highlight of the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing time in the Berkshires at The Shaker Mill Inn. The rooms were homey and extremely clean. They stock the fridge and room the day before with breakfast for the next day, which were delish! The property was beautiful and the owners were lovely! Will be back!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank arcladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Wonderful spot. Quaint and peaceful - great hospitality. We weren't bothered at all and breakfast was delightful. It was a half way point for a quick girls weekend and easy to get to and accessible from 90. Great food choices within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our one-night stay in the "honeymoon suite" was all too brief! The bed and linens were very comfortable, the room is roomy, the jacuzzi and gas fireplace were delightful, and the access to the back patio is great. We appreciated the ample supply of towels, and the kitchenette was well stocked, with coffees, teas, cocoa, honey, milk, orange juice and just about anything else you could think of (scissors! corkscrew! tin foil!). The pastries and quiche that were left for us were pretty good--not quite the same as a cooked breakfast, but very decent. Our only concern was with several places in the unit where the floor is uneven: there are a few steps here and there, and places where the hardwood meets tile. We just had to be careful in the unfamiliar setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bea0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Stockbridge
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.0 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Terrace Inn
Hampton Terrace Inn
#1 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
5.9 mi away
Federal House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Mill Inn

Property: Shaker Mill Inn
Address: 7 Albany Rd, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266-9505
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming small town of West Stockbridge, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires, the Shaker Mill Inn combines spacious suite-style rooms with the charm and individuality that bed & breakfast establishments traditionally offer.Each suite has its own private bath, kitchenette, and comfortable living and sleeping areas - and most of them have their own private deck or balcony! A wonderful continental breakfast - with a choice of quiche or fruit salad - is included in your stay.The Shaker Mill Inn is a child & pet friendly inn. Our spacious rooms, along with owners/innkeepers Bob & Mary, will make your stay in the beautiful Berkshires one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shaker Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Mill Hotel West Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing