We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 West Springfield/Route 5

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 West Springfield/Route 5
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Shreveport, La.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This motel needs to hire more people to take care of the customers. First thing its not for we are use to in a Super 8 motel. The first room they assigned us has a bad smell in it so we asked for another one. About couple hours late the toilet stopped up, called the front desk to advise needed some one to unstopped the toilet. He said my maintance man has gone home and I'm by my self. We said that is not our problem we are paying for a room and we expect to get what we pay for. It appeared it made him mad but he did come and unstopped the toilet. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wpatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    61
    102
    62
    55
See reviews for
102
67
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

When we opened the door to our first room, we were overpowered by the odors of urine and Mr. Clean. We insisted on a new room, and ended up in a smoking room (we have 2 asthmatics in the family). The staff was discourteous, indifferent, and lazy. The hotel is dirty, shabby, and run-down. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Springfield hotels

Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I saw the reviews that said it was great and don't pay attention to the bad reviews. I hoped this was a good review. Maybe the owners did those reviews to get your business. No on who goes there would give it a decent review. We had a 'suite' with jacuzzi. Several people were outside because the door didn't work. It was very hard to try to open. And close behind you!! The smell hits you immediately when you get inside. Then we were given a room on the second floor....no elevator. Carry your luggage upstairs. Then we couldn't get the door to the room open for a while. When we got it opened, it would not close. Finally, we discovered that if you slam it very hard, you could get it closed and hope you could get it opened again. There were two cushioned chairs that were covered in stains. The room smelled terrible and there was mold on the floor around the tub. The commode sat crooked. After taking my shoes off and having my feet stick to the carpet, I washed my feet and did not ever walk barefoot. We pulled the spread and blanket off the bed and just used the sheets. The pillows were lumpy. After about 3 miutes, we both started itching. I checked for bedbugs.....there were none. It must have been mites. About 3:30 in the morning, we had enough and left very tired. I'm sure we woke up the whole place trying to close the doors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyuherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

To describe the room as "seedy" is to put it mildly. The smell hits you in the face as you walk into the room. It was a combination of old beer, urine, mold, moth balls, disguised by some kind of deodorant coming out of the air conditioner. My husband and i felt like we were in a cheap horror movie. The bathroom smelled like a dirty mop. There were two burn marks on the counter of the sink. And we couldn't open the windows to air out the room. The comforters looked like they had been on the beds since 1955. And, the beds were lumpy. But it was late and we were too tired to go look for another motel. We stayed just one night and left first thing in the morning. The complimentary breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, toast or English muffin. We passed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydragonfly49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very good location if your going to six flags, clean rooms, good price. Did not smell at all! Dont read the other bad reviews, i did not smell anything very clean and a great location!....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeefStu02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just stayed at this Super 8 for 3 nights and I have to say its much better then I thought it would be. I booked here becuase it was the only one that had availability and after reading the reviews I was super nervous. When we got there we checked in and the front desk was very nice and helpful. They gave us 2 rooms on the first floor and both were very clean and did not smell moldy or musty at all. The comfortor had a whole in it and looked very old but the blanket and sheets under were very clean. Bathroom is small but the sink is on the outside. Excellent water pressure and very hot water. And the AC was great. They offer a continental breakfast but they don't put much of anything out. Just a couple of muffins, cereal and rock hard waffles. But for $65 a night I wasn't expecting much. Each room does have a fridge and there is a micro in the breakfast area. The hotel is outdated but our rooms were clean so thats all that mattered to me.

Room Tip: Not sure how the second floors were, so get rooms on the first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colochita03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Well i show the rate photo and it show 95.00 and is not 95 when I west over it just 58.88. Thank god that I dont look other review.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atodariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Springfield
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.5 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Aqua Lagoon Water Park
Clarion Hotel & Aqua Lagoon Wate...
#10 of 17 in West Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Express - Springfield
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in West Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn
BEST WESTERN Springfield West In...
#2 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 West Springfield/Route 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 West Springfield/Route 5

Property: Super 8 West Springfield/Route 5
Address: 1500 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089-4640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > West Springfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 West Springfield/Route 5 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 West Springfield/Route 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 West Springfield / Route 5 Hotel West Springfield
Super Eight West Springfield
West Springfield Super 8
West Springfield Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing