We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stopped at this restaurant not knowing what to expect. It was on our way to Albany.
Our waitress made us feel that we have hit the right place. She was honest, helpful, and very attentive. The dark and warm bread was excellent; we found ourselves asking for more of it. Nothing beats a fresh bread and butter to start a dining evening.
We ordered the rib eye steak and the combo victoria steak with king crab legs. The food was delectable, and he portions were generous.
I highly recommend this place despite some of the reviews that i read afterwards.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52Overtherainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dried up steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I thought the food was just ok Not a good value for the buck Steak was small and fried up.......................

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“learned our lesson”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We found the wait staff treating us like we had no clue what was going on in the world. She squatted down to talk to us like we could not hear her.The food was ordinary. I cook better at home, but we had a gift certificate and decided to use it. Big mistake. Have learned our lesson and will never go there again. Just because the waitress thinks that we may be "old" does not give her the right to treat us with any less dignity than we would treat her. Case Closed!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Too much change in the menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

When the outback first broke out on the scene in West Springfield, they had an exclusive market, being the only steakhouse in the area ,since the failure of Vallee's and Hilltop, Prior to that places like Ponderosa carried the burden.
We have gone for quite some time and noticed excessive changes in the menu, there's nothing wrong with expanding, but this place adds 3 and removes 4, these numbers are unacceptable.
Example: They had a potato soup which was very good, some time later it was gone. When we asked ,we were told, oh it's just a temporary menu item. We expressed that it was rather popular & many customers also saidf that it should come back. Many years later after many requests, it's now a standard menu item.
They also had a spicy pasta dish which was fabulous, again a temp menu inset which disappeared as fast as the sunset.
At first that center cut steak was fine, as time went on things got worse. One night the same cut was sent back 4 times for incorrect cooking, ranging from frozen interior to carbon scorched exterior, thier perception of medium to medium well was so bad, it took 5 times and a lot of wasted meat just to get it right. Also ,that night I was buried under 5 baked potatoes as compensation until the steak came out right.
Once I tried thier premier cut called "the Melbourne" it was a pricey cut and worse .
Why did they send it out at all ? It was cooked, but you'd think it came from a major US tire manufacturer. It was gritty, had excess cartlidge, fat and tasted terrible. I asked for the Manager and after he saw it ,was appauled and took it away, offering another and no charge for dinner.
Yes one thing I can say, the management does tend to the customers and satisfaction is key, so if things go bad, you can get a bill reduction or in extreme cases, total elimination.
Case in point, at the outback in KEY LARGO, FLORIDA had it's own sad course . After a day of touring the keys, the wife and I decided to stop and eat dinner before a lengthy trip back to
Palm Beach. I asked for a Sam Adams Boston Lager on tap, the watress was so ignorant she brought a Foster's Lager on tap, it tasted like beer and soap.
Who ever hires the alleged cooks for this place is having difficulty finding qualified help, consistently sending back food is a sure sign they need a new person cooking.
Another thing they NEVER used to speak of but do now is. IF you prefer your steaks cooked on an OPEN FLAME then clearly specify it. This automatic assumption of cooking a good cut of meat on a flat GRILL top and SEARIING it, is an insult to anyone who enjoys a good steak dinner.
Beware of thier TV specials, they hype the living emptinesss out of them. Recently tried a 12 dollar special and was disappointed, had a steak piece smaller than and lighter than a 1/4 pound hamburger,a salad and a yuppy style dessert with an unpronouncable name to it and it wasn't that good.
Recently they changed the interior look, it's not much of an improvement but it's a lighter version of Mick Dundee's watering hole in "Walk- about -creek" Austraiia. Would this place insult a real Australian citizen by taking thier culture, dipping it in neon and trying to copy how they live just to sell a steak?
Let's face facts mates! Poor cooking skills, wasting overpriced meat supplies, decimating an already good menu and having it delivered by inexperienced servers can make a dining out experience very memorable , alright, more like a bad memory.
If it wern't for the Texas Roadhouse to appear in TRi-County area, you'd settle for less than acceptable standards, let's see now, where would you prefer to get your beef from TEXAS or Austrailia?
The choice be yours.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

since i'm vegetarian i go for the seafood. mom has the steak. only bad part is they're not open for lunch.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

West Springfield, MA
 
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing