We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while moving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn West Springfield
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here while moving into the local area until we could close on our house. This hotel is perfect for that--pet-friendly, pool & hot tub, free breakfast daily, free dinner 3x per week, convenient to shopping & restaurants. Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: We like staying near an exit to take the dogs out more conveniently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank karanmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIWS, General Manager at Residence Inn West Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Relocations are our specialty. Residence Inn is designed with the extended stay traveler in mind. We are happy that you enjoyed your room. It was our pleasure to make your moving experience just a little bit easier, because as we all know, moving can be tough. We hope you are enjoying your new house. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 227 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Spend many of nights in the area, doing projects at the air base in Westover.
The hotel sits back off the road in West Springfield. It has all the accommodations
for someone who needs more than an overnighter. The staff is outstanding. The
property is as clean as a whistle, and I couldn't be more comfortable. Check it out!!!!

Room Tip: The hotel is constructed so all rooms are close to lobby, pool, parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIWS, General Manager at Residence Inn West Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We are so happy that you found our hotel. It is a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for letting other travelers know about your great experience at a Residence Inn, West Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

First off the location is great--away from the highway, so we were hopeful of a quiet stay. We were also initially given a room on the top floor--again hopeful of a quiet stay. When we entered our assigned room, however, we were taken by surprise. It had not been cleaned and it was a mess. With the amount of food on the counters and still in the refrigerator my husband was convinced that the room was still occupied. We tried to call the front desk from the room but the phone did not work. We lugged our stuff back downstairs to the front desk and were told that there was a very nice upgraded studio room they could give us. We had reserved a 2 bedroom, so that was not an option. They then said the only other 2 bedroom was on the first floor. What could we do--we took it. It was a handicapped room but that was no problem. It was rather worn, though--the "pleather" on the arm chair in the living room was worn off,etc. Still for 1 night, and they did discount the rate substantially, it was OK. The front desk staff was clearly embarrassed and tried their best to please us. We had had a very busy day so we opted to stay in that night. Around 6 PM the room above us became occupied by the wild family. It sounded like they were wrestling or playing basketball on the laminate flooring in the kitchen area. We put up with it for nearly an hour and then complained to the front desk. The noise after that was normal (and the reason why we never stay in a lower level room as there is constant foot traffic over your head). Then around 8 PM the room around the corner from us but still adjoining the 1 bedroom became occupied by people with a barking dog. It barked steady for 20-30 minutes but then quieted down for the night. The next morning it barked constantly after we assume the owners left for the day. SO I'm being generous in giving 3 stars, because I did get a fairly good night's sleep. This hotel could use a freshing up, though, unless it was just the room we had. We can not understand how they could give out key cards to a room that hadn't been cleaned or worse still occupied??? If we had been informed that we would need to wait an hour for it to be cleaned, we may have opted for that until we saw the mess. Guests--at least us--like to feel that the room has never been occupied by really messy folks--that illusion was shattered and we could never have stayed in that room after seeing the mess the previous people had left it in. We don't expect to be in this town again, but we will continue to stay at Residence Inns and hope for the best next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Been-there712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIWS, General Manager at Residence Inn West Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for giving us the feedback we need to make our hotel a better place. I would like to appologize for room 416 not being ready at the time of your check in. This room had in fact checked out and got marked as clean in error when it was not ready. This mistake should never happen and I have shared your comments with our staff.
We do our best to respond as quickly as possible to noise complaints, and I fully understand how frustrating it must have been when it is noisy, and you were trying to relax.
Please know that it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope that your experience will not hinder you from staying with us again if you find yourself in West Springfield in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here with our kids for a quick overnight. The place was clean, the staff friendly, and it had everything we needed. Our room was quiet, we enjoyed the pool, and a quick walk to the On the Border next door. Breakfast was hot and delicious. Every staff person we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: we had a one bedroom suite which was perfect for the four of us. The kids went to bed and we still c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIWS, General Manager at Residence Inn West Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you so much for telling fellow travelors about your stay here at the Residence Inn, West Springfield. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you folks again soon. Have a wonderful weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We are a family of 3 that stayed(for the second time) at the Residence Inn. We arrived early the day before Thanksgiving and expected a long wait for the room. We were delighted to have a room available and a free upgrade was a definite plus. All of the personnel that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and everything was so very clean. The DR area serving dishes had "shine on the shine" The breakfast offerings were very good. We were impressed.
The pool area also was very inviting and CLEAN. The water temp was great as was the whilrpool. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macdons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIWS, General Manager at Residence Inn West Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Welcome back to the Residence Inn. We are happy to have had you as a return guest at our hotel. We are delighted that our hotel was able to meet the needs of your family for the 2nd time. Next time you are in the area, we at Residence Inn, would love for your to come for a 3rd time. Have a wonderful holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights on business travel. My suite was very functional. The room was well kept, the furniture starting to show age, but the staff very accommodating. The complimentary breakfast is very nice amenity. The fitness center can really only handle one person working out at a time due to its size. My only gripe is there seemed to be A problem with the TV signal in my room, and the picture would drop for about a second every few minutes. I'm also still not a fan of the bath sink being over a carpeted floor (is this a Marriott thing? It is the only brand I've encountered with that kind of layout) I would definitely consider staying here again if I came to the area

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank rykberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIWS, General Manager at Residence Inn West Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give other travelers your feedback on our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the carpeting in front of the sink, I will share your comments with our corporate office. They take all feedback into consideration when it comes to improving our hotels. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights beginning on Thanksgiving night into Sunday. We were in town for the holiday and our son was playing in a three-day hockey tournament. The hotel is just a short trip to the ice rink.

When I checked in Thanksgiving night, the staff provided me with a room upgrade at no additional cost! I went from a one bedroom suite to a two bedroom suite! Very nice touch!

The room was clean and certainly enough space for two adults and one child. I noticed that the paper towel holder in the kitchen was not screwed in place on one side. I mentioned it to the maid who had arrived at our room to clean. When I returned later in the day it was fixed! Water pressure in the shower was nice and strong. Some downsides to the room - it could use some furniture upgrades - not a big deal but it looked like some pieces have seen better days. Some of the room's wall paper and paint were in need of a touch up in certain sections. Some things to consider for upgrades include the convenience of a coat rack near the door entrance as opposed to the room closet. Also, it would be nice to have outlets built into the base of the nightstand lamps for easy device charging. I had to unplug the alarm clock so I could charge my phone.

A continental breakfast was included from 7:00-10:00 AM. Standard fare included scrambled eggs, sausage patties, home fries, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fruits, assorted bread/bagel and juice/coffee water. Also free newspapers were available. Something for everyone!

The pool area was a decent space with tables and chairs. Pool was average sized along with a nearby jacuzzi. I did not use the gym but heard it was small but functional.

The common area was relatively small but nicely staged with a big flat screen TV, fireplace, tables and lounger chairs.

This is a pet friendly hotel - I didn't hear any noisy 4-legged or 2-legged guests during my stay.
All of the staff, front desk, food service and cleaning were very friendly and helpful. The staff allowed the boys to play knee-hockey in the conference room which was a great piece of space for them to be loud and play their games without (hopefully) disturbing the other guests.
While the weather was not super warm, the hotel did have a nice tennis court and outdoor patio for use during warmer weather.
It is located near many shops and restaurants. The location, while not the fault of the hotel, it quirky and difficult for a GPS to locate. Once I found it, the remainder of the stay was simple in and out.

Overall, a very nice stay staffed with caring, attentive and friendly employees.

I would certainly come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne_July
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIWS, General Manager at Residence Inn West Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful in depth review. It was a pleasure having your team staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again when your team has a tournament in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Springfield
1.5 mi away
Best Western Springfield West Inn
Best Western Springfield West In...
#2 of 17 in West Springfield
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn West Springfield
Hampton Inn West Springfield
#1 of 17 in West Springfield
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Holyoke-Springfield/North
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
3.1 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn West Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn West Springfield

Address: 64 Border Way, West Springfield, MA 01089-4626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > West Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Price Range: $145 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn West Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn West Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn West Springfield Hotel West Springfield
Marriott West Springfield
West Springfield Residence Inn
West Springfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing