We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Equine Affair”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Big E

The Big E
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Equine Affair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Everything for the horse lover (Seminars and trade show). Worth the trip!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank JR6090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    120
    49
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Eat your way through!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Food, rides, demonstrations, livestock. I go to the big e every year. It's a great event for a group of adults, couples or children. There are bathrooms in all the large buildings like the Better Living Building and Farmarama, but not the state buildings. Storrowton has a good selection of beers and bands. Remember state buildings close at 9:00 everyday, so don't miss them. Don't be intimidated by the potato line at Maine, it moves fast. The midway stays open the latest. Bring plenty of cash, atms fees are high and there is plenty to buy!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We love the Big E and look forward to it every year!
So many things to do and see, something for everyone.
fun for children/adults, if you go you have to try the Big E Cream Puff!!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank nooccaraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern NH
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Definitely worth going to but there are some things to know first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I had a great time at the Big E. We had never been but finally went this year. We got there around 11am and walked, ate, drank (they let you walk around with beer) and saw stuff. There were 2 concerts "The Buckinghams" played .. an old group from the 60's. Their biggest hit was "Kind of a Drag". They have only 2 original members but it was really nice. We stayed until 10pm.

Somebody here said the employees weren't friendly; we did not find that at all. Everyone was ready to wait on you and get your biz due to the high amount of vendors.

You definitely have to stop and visit all the animal barns. We saw a horse competition in a huge stadium - as big as Boston Garden. Gorgeous horses. We went into the building that houses the Clydsdale Budweiser horses. Massive! There are so many craft stalls in one big building with a variety of crafts and gifts. Yes there is plenty of junkfood to be had but there are a few sit-down places that offer chicken and ribs.

The only negative was leaving the parking lot at night. You are faced with folks merging which delays every single car - hundreds of cars trying to leave at night. You would think that after decades of holding it that this would be more organized. IMPORTANT to READ: all drivers try to exit at the main gate from where they came in. This is wrong. There are other exits that nobody seems to know about. You drive down the road behind the fair as if you were going INTO the fair. You'll find multiple exits behind these buildings. Don't forget because you'll sit in that traffic for hours trying to get out.

The highlight was the concert at night "Bowser's Rock N Roll Factory" which had that guy from Shanana and he was great ! He basically sang and told jokes and then had other performers. The woman who sang "Angel of the Morning" (just ok), Lou Christy "Lighting striking again", Eddie Holman "hey there lonely girl", and Gary US Bonds. The best one was Eddie because his vocals were EXACTLY like the record and he hit all the high notes and it was wonderful. we had shivers. Plus the night was really nice and the stage was huge.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NHgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“always a fun time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Who doesn't like the Big E, really? There's tons of stuff to buy in all the buildings and tons of food to buy at all the vendors! I love the $6 after 5:00 deal (especially because I live like 10 minutes away and usually only go in the evening anyway) and it's not nearly as crowded after then. I can't even say anything bad about the fair really, other than the fact that I'm happy it only comes around once a year because I would have been dead from a heart attack years ago if I didn't have the 50 weeks following to re-coop from the crazy amounts of calories I consume!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank hugebrat413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big E also viewed

 

Been to The Big E? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos