We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but service poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Cod Wishing Well
Ranked #5 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2012

PLace is ok, but what bothered us was that everything was done and run very cheaply. Never when you needed there was anybody in the office, you have to use a phone to reach somebody and at least for a foreigner getting the WLAN passwords right through muddy phone line is mission impossible. Also the phone was set so that you could only push the redial button and since the last time it had gone to operator I was only able to reach them. This is too bad service for 200 USD/night accommodation. WLAN was very slow. Connection shows all bars but just getting a basic news page to open takes 5 minutes, completely useless at least in the cabin where we stayed and should not been included in amenities of this place.
The cottage was basically ok but floors and dining table were dirty and again the kitchen was equipped with cheapest stuff I have ever seen. The forks were like from kids toys. In principal the pool was in use, but again you have to "See Wally or Staff to unlock" but... as nobody is never around, getting into pool would mean a phone call and waiting for somebody to show up. That´s it for a quick morning swim before your hot day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jukka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Cape Cod Wishing Well
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have stayed at the Cape Cod Wishing Well several times. It's just what I need on Cape Cod, conveniently located, near the beach, restaurants, and shopping, reasonably priced and open all year round. The rooms are very clean, the staff friendly and promptly responsive to any need. I will continue to stay there for my regular Cape Cod get away weekends.

Room Tip: There is a range of rooms available, from singles with one queen sized bed, to studios with a single...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatherineDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Ok i read the other reviews, i have been staying at the Wishing Well since i was a child. As a child we took family vacations here with close family friends. 15 years later we are all grown and still coming here with our spouses. Our parents have since upgraded to a much more expensive place with a private beach now that we are out on our own but will still occasionally booked for a night here or there. Listen this is not the Ritz or the four seasons, and they don't pretend to be! It's a great location with beaches all around. i have read that the beaches are for residents only, this is not true! If you want to go to the beach that is in walking distance then you have to walk. The parking on the street is for residents. There are several entrances to the beach that you can park and walk down near the center, Its a 5 minute walk and if your lazy have your friends drop you off with the cooler and have them park. I read that you can do better for the price on here.... really? whoever wrote that clearly does not vacation on the cape often. Under a hundred bucks in season THATS UNHEARD OF! This year we showed up to check in and we were informed our reservation was for the next day. Which it was we wrote it down wrong. We were covered in sand and we were not looking forward to driving back to Boston and then back in the morning. Wally asked us to grab a bite and come back he rearrange some stuff and cleaned a room for us to use. I can't give then 5stars this year because our room was not as clean as has been in the past, but again we were all sandy and wanted to shower ASAP so we rushed them. Also our TV was not working, again though our fault we never told Wally because we really didn't care. However had we told him I know it would have been fixed immediately. Is this the place i go on my honeymoon probally not but it serves its purpose for a few day get away. I have sent several friends over the years and they loved it! It is what it is a motel so if you’re like us who spend most of your vacation on the beach and out in the evening drinking and eating then its probably right for you. P.S. This is a family friendly place do not bring your entire frat and try to jam 6 people into every room, you will get kicked out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My wife and I arrived in early Aug 2011 from Saratoga NY for our annual trip to the Cape. We found conditions at the Wishing Well as expected - up to standard. The Staff was friendly and remembered us from last year. The rooms were clean and modern, and the price was reasonable. Everything that was promised was delivered. The location is also central. We are looking forward tp going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWarrior1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Spent 4 nights at the Wishing Well as part of a 3 week touring holiday. Stayed in rooms 15 & 16. Facilities exceeded expectations as the motel had recently been refurbished. The units were small by comparison to some of the hotels we had stayed in, but were well appointed. It was good to have inter connecting doors and a small kitchen area in room 15 which was big enough to accommodate four and made a great location for evening cards & games.

Wally & his team couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff & in particular Baird was a great help, providing additional cooking utensils, cleaning out the BBQ pits, providing washing detergent to clean the 2 weeks of laundry we had accumulated and also for the classical literature quotes. A real gent in every sense of the word.

The big upside was the fact the location had its own pool (unlike many other Capre Cod accommodations). The kids loved it and would have been in it 24 hrs a day if allowed.

Dont forget to pop into the tourist office in Harwichport for all the latest recommendations on where to eat (and more importantly where to avoid).

A must try restaurant is Castaways, east of Harwichport on Route 28. Excellent food, great beer and very friendly staff. It was so good we ate there twice.

The Wishing Well in West Harwich was a great little find. Dont be put off by the old reviews, things have improved greatly for this season.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Great place to stay. Quiet no hassels and nice pool. In thed middle of cape. Room looked to be newly remodeld. Wally the owner was friendly, helpful and kind. Would stay there again on next trip to cape. Glad I came across this place

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOLTSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

It was our first time ever to Cape Cod and we went with our kids and exended family. After looking on the internet, we called to inquire about availability and rates. He called us back with some type of special. When we got there, got suckered into accepting and it was nothing as advertised. The rooms are tiny/small, old place, the driveway is gravel, on the busy street and the what he charges is outrages. Offers nothing here. We decided not to stay and he actually charged our VISA for 3 rooms. Beware of this place and policies. Booking here will result in unhappiness. There are hundreds of places to stay that are better than this place. Don't throw away your hard earned money. We drove by it daily and it was always empty. Now we know why!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TMHAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Harwich
3.0 mi away
Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Handkerchief Shoals Inn
#1 of 2 in South Harwich
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachman Motor Inn
Coachman Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in South Harwich
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Beach Breeze Inn
A Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 1 in West Harwich
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
345 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seadar Inn By the Sea
Seadar Inn By the Sea
#4 of 8 in Harwich Port
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tern Inn
The Tern Inn
#2 of 7 in West Harwich
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cod Wishing Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cod Wishing Well

Address: 212 Route 28, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671-1220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range: $81 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Cod Wishing Well 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cape Cod Wishing Well reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Cod Wishing Well Hotel West Harwich
Cape Cod Wishing Well West Harwich, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing