We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
143
12
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
12
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blueberry pancakes cape cod grounds are lovely old friends the entire property new owners local history coffee blend pleasant street wonderful hosts home away from home memorable weekend beds were very comfortable short walk long weekend beach within walking distance room was beautifully decorated
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 159 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2017

We have been renting the Gazebo cottage for years now. Just returned from another amazing stay. There is not a shortage of accommodations on Cape Cod, and we have tried a few different places. What keeps us coming back to the Tern Inn is the rare combination of having the independence of staying at a cottage (come and go as we want, cook our own meals, etc.), but able to enjoy 2 acres of well-kept grounds with a pool, get great tips and stories from the inn keepers (Dan and Sue), and meet fellow travellers.

The cottages are very well maintained, tastefully decorated, and they also offer light housekeeping to keep things fresh (a bonus when we are staying for more than a week). We have 2 kids and the pool and basketball net got a LOT of use!

Dan and Sue really go out of their way to accommodate the needs of their guests. When we arrived at the Tern Inn, the warm welcome we received made it feel more like visiting old friends than just being on vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HaveFunTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Owner at The Tern Inn Bed & Breakfast And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Hi HaveFunTraveller! You guys are the best! What a generous review. Your stay of 2 weeks was way too short! For people who are interested in booking one of our awesome Cottages, your review is exactly what we would like everyone to know. I admit, we have the cutest Cottages on Cape Cod.....Sue and I miss seeing you all everyday and hearing about your adventures. Thank you for pre-booking for 2018 and we hope you'll be able to add the second week, as well......See you soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

This was our first visit to Cape Cod and a friend recommended The Tern Inn. The grounds are beautiful and the room was pristine and charming. Dan and Sue, the innkeepers, were so welcoming when we arrived that it felt like we had known them for years. They have a thorough knowledge of the area and every recommendation they made for us was spot on, and by far they helped us make the most of the short time that we had there. Fantastic breakfast, and they bent over backwards to accommodate us, even preparing us a to go breakfast when we had to leave early for the airport. When we return there is no way we would ever stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StaciM117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Owner at The Tern Inn Bed & Breakfast And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Staci! We are so happy that you had a great time at our Inn and on the Cape. We enjoyed our conversations with you both, as well. Everything you made mention of was the result of us trying to create an oasis for all of our precious guests. Next time you and Aaron come, please stay longer. There's so much more for you to explore and enjoy!
Our breakfasts are always fun. I love making my signature Wild Maine Blueberry Pancakes for our guests. The fluffy Omelets and delicious French Toast as well as Sue's creative Cranberry-Blueberry Nut Muffin Bread Pudding are also wildly popular. I'm trying to entice you guys back........Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

This was our first visit to Cape Cod. We found the Tern Inn through Expedia and it did not disappoint. It's a charming bed and breakfast, the rooms are up to date and clean. The grounds are lovely and serene. It is in a good location and easy ride to other parts of the Cape. Dan and Sue were super welcoming and very knowledgeable of the Cape. They made us feel very much at home. Breakfast was delicious especially the blueberry pancakes and fruit salad enjoying both outside dining and in the lovely dining room. We would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.
Lori and Dave Paglione

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgianchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Owner at The Tern Inn Bed & Breakfast And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Hi Lori and Dave! We are so grateful for your terrific review. The two of you are in the top 5 couples we've had stay with us who made the most out of the time you had. Sue and I love to be tour guides of sorts to our guests. You took everything we suggested and ran with it. It was fun to hear about your adventures all over the Cape from the previous day during our breakfast conversations. We hope you will re-Tern real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

We loved this charming inn with gracious hosts and the best blueberry pancakes on the Cape!
The Inn and grounds are lovely and the inn keepers are truly passionate about providing excellent service and making your holiday be to remember. Great location in Cape Cod with excellent hospitality. Enjoy!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank SharonW3687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Owner at The Tern Inn Bed & Breakfast And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Sharon! Thank you for such a great review! You both are a great couple and it was fun to serve my Blueberry Pancakes to such enthusiastic fans! There are other dishes we serve in the same league like Sue's new Blueberry-Cranberry Nut Muffin Bread Pudding! It has been a huge hit. I hope you find your way back to the Cape soon. The Blueberry Pancakes will be served!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

The innkeepers are wonderful people and were very helpful to make our visit to Cape Cod memorable. Great hospitality and advice to help orient our visit. The breakfasts are superb and they were very accommodating to adjust for gluten intolerance. Wifi is reliable and fast. And the room is beautiful and comfortable. The location we found to be well situated to see all of Cape Cod, from Plymouth to Provincetown to Woods Hole.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Owner at The Tern Inn Bed & Breakfast And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

John...Thank you so much for the great review! We are putting heart and soul into making our guest's experience memorable. Being natives, we know the Cape and our aim is to point anyone in the right direction. Our breakfasts are a lot of fun to prepare, even when a gluten free is option is needed. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews