We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of The Tern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tern Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Everything was absolutely perfect. Four women ages 40 - 74 together in a spotless and well appointed cottage had a wonderful vacation. Plenty of hot water - no blown circuits from hairdryers and curling irons! Grounds are beautiful - location great. Innkeepers Dave and Joan are great and really know how to make your stay memorable. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for The Tern Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 132 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2008

We stayed at the Inn this past weekend for 4 nights. A very nice place to stay. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Excellent breakfast buffet which included a different hot item each day. Owners very friendly & helpful. Will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GramLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

My husband and I and our two children stayed at the inn this past July for four nights. The room was bright and very clean and the breakfast each morning delicious. It is very quiet in the grounds of the inn and the pool was perfect for the kids. We really enjoyed it and would not hesitate about returning. The hosts Dave and Joan are truly hospitable. Dave even offered to pick us up from the beach if we got caught in the rain when we told him we felt like walking instead of driving! Not the kind of service you get at the bigger hotels!

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank WardsOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I've been visiting Cape Cod now for 12 years and The Tern Inn is my favorite place to stay. The innkeeprs, Joan and Dave, are lovely, and their hard work is evident all around. Its incredibly quaint, beautifully landscaped, a short walk to the beach, with all the comforts of home. The daily breakfast is also delicious. The property also has a family friendly pool and swingset area for the kids that comes in handy. We're always so sad to leave, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LoriBallone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My husband and I took our 4 year old son to Cape Cod for the first time at the end of June. Both of us had spent many summers there as children and couldn't wait to share this special place with our son.

We found the Tern Inn online and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay! The location was perfect for everything we wanted to do on the Cape, from going to the nearby beach (just a short walk away) or heading up to Provincetown for a Whale Watch.

The Innkeepers, Joan and David were amazing. They were helpful and attentive and they made the greatest breakfast to get us started each day!

The Inn itself was beautiful and quaint... I've already told my extended family to start planning a family reunion there for next summer.

Thanks again Joan and David for a great trip!

Katie, Brian & Sam

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kfm223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My family and I stayed at The Tern Inn over Memorial Day weekend. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. David and Joan were so accommodating. When I asked for her recommendation of beaches to bring the kids, Joan printed out maps and directions, giving us bike trail information and good rest stops along the way! David was great with the kids in the pool. My son even won an ice cream for winning the pool basketball game with all of the other kids! The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. The Tern Inn will be our home away from home from now on when we visit the Cape!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Italcom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

I wholeheartedly agree with my fellow Tripadvisors - the Tern Inn is a hidden gem! The friendly owners, Joan and Dave, have created a lovely family oasis. We recently stayed at the Honeymoon Cottage with our 4 year-old. We loved it! The cottage and grounds were clean, very well-maintained, and adorable. They have thoughtfully provided balls and beach toys for the kids, along with a shaded playground and 3-foot pool. But what makes your stay extra special is Joan and Dave - they love what they do and it shows. When you stay at Tern Inn, be prepared for a nice, family-friendly B&B experience. We will definitely return! Happy travels.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JandLandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Harwich
6.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
713 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Platinum Pebble Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Allen Harbor Breeze Inn & Gardens
0.1 mi away
A Beach Breeze Inn
A Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 1 in West Harwich
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tern Inn

Address: 91 Chase St, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range: $162 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tern Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big thank you to our awesome guests for the great reviews they've posted on Trip Advisor! The Tern Inn is in the ideal central location on Cape Cod just a short drive to Provincetown, Chatham, Wellfleet or Hyannis. We have clean, updated rooms with new whisper quiet Mini Split Air Conditioning. We offer a great breakfast (included with a guest room stay) and are a short 1/2 mile walk to the beach. We are in a residential setting. On our 2 private acre property, there is our Main Inn which offers 2 guest rooms (each with private entrance and bath), our Carriage House building has 6 guest rooms (all with private baths). In the summer season we offer 6 terrific guest cottages which are each different from one another. The cottages are booked for a minimum of one week. They are fully equipped with complete kitchen, AC, color TV, and a variety of bedroom arrangements. Come to us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Tern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tern Hotel West Harwich
The Tern Inn West Harwich, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing