We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay!”
Review of The Tern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tern Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous stay at The Tern Inn! We were so lucky to have found this gem as it was a very clean and pleasant place to stay during our time in Cape Cod. The owners, Joan and Dave couldn't be nicer as they welcomed us with open arms and provided us with many helpful travel tips/sights around the Cape. We enjoyed starting our morning with an inviting breakfast and we looked forward to a comforting stay each night. We would highly recommend The Tern Inn for anyone who is looking for a place to stay in Cape Cod!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Our new friends, Dave and Joan, run the most beautiful Inn ! Every detail is so perfectly cared for! Wonderful morning breakfast, very spacious and comfortable room, incredible well groomed gardens with swings, chairs and conversation pits to enjoy the beautiful weather, company and grounds!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dggwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My family (wife and 4 kids) just returned from a week stay at the tern inn. We rented one of the cottages which worked out perfect for the 6 of us. The grounds are perfect for a family like ours, close to everything, quiet and very safe. The innkeepers are and have always been accommodating and treat us like family. We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cityslixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Tern Inn was very clean and updated. The room we had was not as large as some of the chain hotels, but for 2 people was fine. We were met by a very friendly Inn keeper Dave, who gave us a couple good recommendations for dinner (which made us feel young since we were the only ones under 70 in the place...but it was good). The property is well maintained. the pool looked nice, but we did not have time to go in it.

Dave also took the time to show us the cottages on the property. We will probably go back with the kids, and rent a cottage. Location is on a quiet side street. A few things within walking distance though. Swingset, and lawn toys are available too. Each cottage has a gas grill and clothesline.

Breakfast was good - toast, muffins, bagels, coffee, tea, OJ, fruit and a warm entree each day (scram eggs Fri, french toast Sat).

Room Tip: room 104 was nice. Cottages looked nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location... quiet street away from the buzz, but right in the midst of Harwich off route 28. It's a family oriented place and as the weekend rolled around, so did the mini vans and kids. They have a nice, clean pool where you can sit and relax and they're grounds are lovely and very well manicured. If you stay in one of the Cottages, you have your own grill, which is nice. We stayed in the B&B part and the rooms were sparse but very clean and comfortable. Our towels were changed every day and we got more soap & shampoo. Our beds were made too. Our rate came with breakfast and there was always one hot dish available along with assorted cereal and breads and fruit. The owners are quiet but very accommodating. One minor nit which I'm not sure they have control over: the neighbor owns a massive wood chipper and every afternoon around 4pm he fired it up and chipped what sounded like an entire forest. He also owns a very large chain saw too!

I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyZ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ternjoan, Owner at The Tern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your visit, and we do hope you return. We just want to clarify, the chain saw and wood chipper are TEMPORARY. Severe storm damage has caused a lot of tree work in the neighboring yard. The work will be done by 6/27. We have asked that they not work after 5 and they do try to comply. It has been very noisy for 5 days, however it will end. The owner with the tree work is actually a concert violinist, and he is upset by the noise as well!! It will be over soon!!
Thanks again for your kind words. Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fabulous Inn, perfect location, great food and excellent hosts Joan and David. What more can I say.The Tern Inn ticks all the boxes. All you could ask for in a beautiful area of Cape Cod. Will definitely be back. Have recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What makes the Tern Inn so special is its charm, location and thoughtful hosts. A gentle 10 min walk from a pleasant family beach, the tern inn enjoys quiet surroundings and a park and pool for kids. We loved the hosts Joan and David who were wonderfully helpful yet discreet, giving insider tips yet not overbearing: we had plenty of room for family time and privacy. West harwich is a gem of a place, there was even a music evening celebrating summer at the end of our stay. A perfect end to a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamixm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Harwich
5 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
406 reviews
1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
2.2 mi away
Bluefish Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
A Beach Breeze Inn
A Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 1 in West Harwich
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Cod Wishing Well
Cape Cod Wishing Well
#5 of 7 in West Harwich
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Platinum Pebble Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tern Inn

Address: 91 Chase St, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range: $151 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tern Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big thank you to our awesome guests for the great reviews they've posted on Trip Advisor! The Tern Inn is in the ideal central location on Cape Cod just a short drive to Provincetown, Chatham, Wellfleet or Hyannis. We have clean, updated rooms with new whisper quiet Mini Split Air Conditioning. We offer a great breakfast (included with a guest room stay) and are a short 1/2 mile walk to the beach. We are in a residential setting. On our 2 private acre property, there is our Main Inn which offers 2 guest rooms (each with private entrance and bath), our Carriage House building has 6 guest rooms (all with private baths). In the summer season we offer 6 terrific guest cottages which are each different from one another. The cottages are booked for a minimum of one week. They are fully equipped with complete kitchen, AC, color TV, and a variety of bedroom arrangements. Come to us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Tern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tern Hotel West Harwich
The Tern Inn West Harwich, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing