We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cape Cod Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tern Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tern Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cape Cod Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fabulous Inn, perfect location, great food and excellent hosts Joan and David. What more can I say.The Tern Inn ticks all the boxes. All you could ask for in a beautiful area of Cape Cod. Will definitely be back. Have recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

What makes the Tern Inn so special is its charm, location and thoughtful hosts. A gentle 10 min walk from a pleasant family beach, the tern inn enjoys quiet surroundings and a park and pool for kids. We loved the hosts Joan and David who were wonderfully helpful yet discreet, giving insider tips yet not overbearing: we had plenty of room for family time and privacy. West harwich is a gem of a place, there was even a music evening celebrating summer at the end of our stay. A perfect end to a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamixm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were in Harwich Port for a wedding last June and chose The Tern Inn based on my fellow Tripadvisor reviewers. We had two great rooms connected. I was not disappointed at all.

We have told Joanne that we were going to were arriving mid afternoon and when she did not see us arrive, she called us to see if we were allright. It happened that we were returning from a convention in Minneapolis thru Chicago and all flights were cancelled from Chicago to Boston since the day before and no way to get to Boston from any other airport that day.

We informed Joanne that were going to arrive past midnight. She gave us the instructions to find the key for our room. To our surprise, when we arrived at 1:00AM her husband came out to help us park (it was very full) and give us the key. He told us not to worry about registration or payment, that we could take of it in the morning after resting and breakfast. What a nice welcome!

We stayed two nights, very nice area, very safe. The breakfast was very good, directions everywhere, anything you needed it you got it. Rooms were pleasant, good AC and comfortable beds.

All in all, we highly recommend The Tern Inn and their owners. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CitizenoftheAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL GAL in NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Due to late booking they did not have a room for the 3 contiguous nights that we needed. We stayed in room 4 the first night and then moved to room 8. I wasn't looking forward to having to move, but they made it easy. Dave and Joan were wonderful hosts in so many ways---we truly felt like guests.

Room Tip: Room 8 was roomier than 4, Bottom floors are likely to hear guests above them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EXPATTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just spent two nights in Room 8 at The Tern Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had two queen beds in a fairly large room with lots of windows and could not have been more comfortable. Not gorgeous but nice. Rather spartan bathroom soap and shampoo but we managed. The grounds of the inn are pretty - adirondack chairs for the guests and a swimming pool. We did not eat the provided breakfast but spent a little time having coffee later in the morning in the dining room and enjoyed speaking with the owners who were most accommodating. In truth the reason we chose this property was because there wasn't a three night minimum but it was well located and we would recommend it for a nice little visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank travelforfun2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Recently returned from a 5 day stay in cape cod and enjoyed our time at The Tern inn and Cottages. Our room was very clean and spacious with lots of natural light. We slept in room #8 which has its own entrance and close parking. Its located on a quiet residential st. which is nice to go back to after a long day at the beach or driving about town. Its a small establishment which means fewer guests and less noise. We have a 14 and 16 yr who truely loved it as well. I researched many other hotels,motels, etc. in the cape and for what the tern inn had to offer $180 was a great price! From location to the free breakfast you cant get a better deal and a pool to top it off. Dave and Joan were also very helpful with beaches and restaurants to explore. Both my kids said they looked forward to going back to the inn when our day was over...they felt safe and homey. We just crawled right into bed after a swim in the pool or hot shower. They even have a Dominos pizza close by that delivers. I cant say enough about The Tern Inn...we just had a great overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy48713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

For us, this was just a place to sleep and we only booked a few days before arriving so didn't have an opportunity to shop around. We found this was a bit expensive ($180/night) but we do know that the Cape is expensive in the summer. Bathroom/Room was clean (although I hate carpeting in a bedroom) but the bathroom is very ordinary with the bathtub/shower combo having no room in it to put your soap/shampoo. Small counter. The room did have AC and a small refrigerator and that's really all we needed. We had a King bed which was in fact two twins pulled together so there was a bit of a crack that could be felt but was nonetheless comfy with plenty of nice pillows. Also, we love our huge breakfasts in the morning with bacon/sausages/eggs so we ended up not benefitting from the included breakfast which was a continental style although every morning there was one hot offering (ex. pancakes). Since we were away most of the time, we did not use the pool nor the grounds. The owner (Dave) was very welcoming and pleasant and even helped us bring our bags up to the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Harwich
6.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Platinum Pebble Boutique Inn
0.8 mi away
Allen Harbor Breeze Inn & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Beach Breeze Inn
A Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 1 in West Harwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seadar Inn By the Sea
Seadar Inn By the Sea
#3 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tern Inn

Property: The Tern Inn
Address: 91 Chase St, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tern Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big thank you to our awesome guests for the great reviews they've posted on Trip Advisor! The Tern Inn is in the ideal central location on Cape Cod just a short drive to Provincetown, Chatham, Wellfleet or Hyannis. We have clean, updated rooms with new whisper quiet Mini Split Air Conditioning. We offer a great breakfast (included with a guest room stay) and are a short 1/2 mile walk to the beach. We are in a residential setting. On our 2 private acre property, there is our Main Inn which offers 2 guest rooms (each with private entrance and bath), our Carriage House building has 6 guest rooms (all with private baths). In the summer season we offer 6 terrific guest cottages which are each different from one another. The cottages are booked for a minimum of one week. They are fully equipped with complete kitchen, AC, color TV, and a variety of bedroom arrangements. Come to us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Tern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tern Hotel West Harwich
The Tern Inn West Harwich, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing