We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”
Review of The Tern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tern Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great hosts”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

David was really welcoming and great source of information about area, really appreciated loan of beach chairs and sun umbrella. Kids loved the playground and play equipment. Room was on the small side for a family of four, one bed was right by ac vent and blinds at windows let loads of light in in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
50
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Starting with turning in the driveway and seeing the beautiful gardens in bloom, to the warm welcome from Joan and Dave, the cozy comfortable room, fantastic breakfasts, and help anytime one asked, staying at the Tern Inn was a delight!!! We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LikeToEatOutMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Spent July 15,16,17 in Cape Cod at the Tern Inn. Hosts were very warm and accomodating. We stayed in main house room 15, very comfortable and cozy. Your stay includes breakfast which was wonderful with fresh fruit, cereals, coffee and juice, an entree and even a bread pudding that was awsome. Hosts are very helpful and can offer great suggestions on where to eat, local beachs and other places to visit. If you go, you must visit Provincetown. Get the whole belly fried clams at the Surf Club in town at the harbor pier. They are awsome, not greasy and you get plenty of food. Eat on the deck and people watch!!

We also booked a whale watching boat that Joan booked for us when we arrived. David and Joan will do anything to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rock36662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
248 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Freshly renovated and very clean. Rooms were small but well equipped apart from the lack of means of making an afternoon cup of tea. Pleasant owners and garden.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ternjoan, Owner at The Tern Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thanks for the kind words, and sorry about the tea... we are almost always available to help out, and coffee and tea are always available, just ask! Sorry , hope you will visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Not Cape Cawwd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Hi
I have stayed twice here and loved it. I have only stayed in the Duplex. The only word of caution is in the Duplex if you have a grumpy puss neighbor, as did I the second stay, it feels pretty small. But the owners were fabulous and spoke with the neighbors twice. Also, the owners went out of their way to help. They threw in the linen service and didn't charge me for an additional guest. It poured for four days and we still had a wonderful time. I highly recommend it and want to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unqateena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We have stayed at the Tern Inn for the last couple years and had great experiences every time. The rooms are nice, always clean and the staff could not be friendlier. The breakfast in the mornings has a good selection and saves us from having to go find something, as well as saving us some money. We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaze16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We enjoyed a really relaxing week's holiday at the Tern Inn. We rented the Dollhouse cottage, which was a charming traditional wooden building with comfy sitting room/ kitchen, bedroom with a double and single bed, bathroom, and patio with dining space and barbeque. The space wasn't huge, but it was very cosy, and refreshingly decorated in blues and whites with a seaside theme, patchwork quilts, etc. Parking conveniently by the cottage. Just a stone's throw away, a perfect little pool for our 8-year-old daughter - we all swam and played in it every day. And a play area well equiped with games, and there is lots of other stuff available, eg local guide books, beach chairs to borrow. David and Joan were helpful and friendly hosts, always willing to stop and chat, and answer our questions. The Inn is a short walk to the local beach, although we preferred the pool on our doorstep. Some shops within walking distance, and food, laundry and restaurants a short drive. We were even entertained by raccoons walking around while we eat our breakfast. Warm weather/ only one thunder storm. A perfect week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNoseyBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Harwich
6.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Platinum Pebble Boutique Inn
0.1 mi away
A Beach Breeze Inn
A Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 1 in West Harwich
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
280 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seadar Inn By the Sea
Seadar Inn By the Sea
#4 of 8 in Harwich Port
172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn On The Beach
Inn On The Beach
#3 of 8 in Harwich Port
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tern Inn

Property: The Tern Inn
Address: 91 Chase St, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tern Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big thank you to our awesome guests for the great reviews they've posted on Trip Advisor! The Tern Inn is in the ideal central location on Cape Cod just a short drive to Provincetown, Chatham, Wellfleet or Hyannis. We have clean, updated rooms with new whisper quiet Mini Split Air Conditioning. We offer a great breakfast (included with a guest room stay) and are a short 1/2 mile walk to the beach. We are in a residential setting. On our 2 private acre property, there is our Main Inn which offers 2 guest rooms (each with private entrance and bath), our Carriage House building has 6 guest rooms (all with private baths). In the summer season we offer 6 terrific guest cottages which are each different from one another. The cottages are booked for a minimum of one week. They are fully equipped with complete kitchen, AC, color TV, and a variety of bedroom arrangements. Come to us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Tern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tern Hotel West Harwich
The Tern Inn West Harwich, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing