We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Inn, Would never stay anywhere else on The Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commodore Inn Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I have been staying at The Commodore for over seven straight years. It is the warmest, friendliest environment we have ever experienced. From the great full breakfasts, to the refreshing pool, to the immaculate rooms, to a 1/2 block walk to a great beach, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: immaculate room, some with fireplaces and whirlpool baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skinut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

Have stayed at the Commodore Inn for about 8 years. Just love it. So cozy. Friendliness of owners - can't do enough for you. Rooms are beautiful. Breakfast every morning just great. Minutes from the beach and pool in front courtyard. Towels, beach chairs and umbrellas are provided (for pool and beach). Run by the family - so friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larsenbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is a hidden jewel -- more like a motel with about 25 private rooms located on beautifully maintained lawns within steps of the clean/gorgeous sandy beach just perfect for building sand castles or walking off the Inn's fabulous breakfast buffet. They have an immaculate fenced-in pool with comfortable lounge chairs that are just perfect for watching the swimmers, reading, chatting, or snoozing plus 2 shuffelboard courts which offers challenging fun for the young and old. We never leave without making our reservations for the next year, giving our family (kids and grandkids) something to look forward to over the next 12 months.

Room Tip: Reserve early, this Inn has a very-high return rate of guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shoppers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The accommodations are beautiful, the location is so convenient: short walk to a semi-private beach; beautiful surrounding neighborhood; great shops and restaurants; wonderful breakfast by the pool every morning...what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mabickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We have stayed at the Commodore Inn several times over the past 11 years and have never been disappointed. Flora and Dick Jones, their daughter Fiona and family made all of us feel at home.

We vacationed on the Cape last week and stayed at the Commodore Inn for seven nights. The room was spotless and well appointed with two queen beds, a small fridge and microwave. Our three children loved the nearby beach and heated pool. The grounds are very well maintained with beautiful hydrangea bushes of blue and pink in full bloom. The full buffet breakfast was delicious with enough of a selection to keep everyone happy.

The beach is a short walk away, which made it so much easier, logistically, with the kids.

Amenities aside, the most attractive aspect of this place is the warmth and kindness of its owners. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, right down to taking pictures of our family in front of the inn when we checked out. I highly recommend the Commodore and echo what all of the recent 5-star reviews have said. I clearly do not understand one or two of the bad reviews on this site. I would ignore them.

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpmvt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a great place! My fiancé and I explored New England starting in Boston and up thru New Hampshire, ending up on Cape Cod, West Harwich, Massachusetts at the Commodore Inn by the Beach. This was our favorite hotel stay. I travel extensively throughout the U.S. for business and have stayed at most of the best hotels and inns and this inn is charming, quaint and so beautiful with hundreds of hydrangeas adorning the property. The innkeepers Flora & Dick Jones, their entire family (daughter, grandkids) were so friendly and eager to suggest activities and restaurants. The Inn is less than a minute from the beach. They even supply beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for you!

Our room was large, very clean and decorated like a cute beach cottage. We had a king size bed, with a refrigerator and microwave. We enjoyed a hot breakfast every morning with excellent service. The Inn is close to shops, and the ferry to Nantucket is right there in Harwich Port. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My family has traveled from as far away as the deserts in the Middle East to the clear blue waters of Bermuda, and everything in between. But, in all honesty, one of our all time favorite places to vacation is the Commodore Inn. In fact, we look forward to it every year and it has become one of our annual getaways. The rooms are absolutely charming, clean and welcoming. The grounds are manicured exquisitely with breathtaking Hydrangeas all over. The pool is warm, crystal clear and incredibly relaxing. The morning breakfasts are absolutely superb!! You have a choice of eating in the lovely breakfast rooms or outside on the magnificent grounds. Everyone can be heard marveling at all the delicious choices and trying to decide where to begin! That's probably the biggest problem- trying to decide what to eat first!!! My own family adheres to a strict diet, but rest assured, we can easily find an assortment of different items to choose from and enjoy!!!
There are also clean barbecues that are available to all the guests!! The staff- WOW!!!
Don't even know where to begin!!!- Does wonderful, kind, hospitable, loving, mean anything to you?? Well, that's just the beginning.... They open their hearts and home (Inn) to our family year after year. They practically lay out the red carpet for us- not just for us though, for everybody!!!! Whenever we speak to other guests at the resort, everyone shares the exact same experience with the innkeepers!! We thought maybe it was just us- but every visitor enjoys the same welcoming attitude and is taken care of with warmth and love equally!! YES!!!! Paradise really does exist!! By the way, the beach is just a two minute walk from the Inn- possibly one minute if you're a faster walker than us. We tend to stroll rather leisurely. Anyway the resort is situated in West Harwich, a town centrally located to many fantastic amenities.
Anyway, on a final note, we had to seriously laugh out loud after reading "Orthonj"'s review as it was a complete misrepresentation of what the Inn is all about!! There are truly some people in the world who, unfortunately, are never happy with anything when they vacation. C'mon, we all know those types of people!! Our opinion about "orthonj" is that he/she should spend less time slandering an outstanding, reputable vacation resort, and more time reviewing his/her grammar lessons from second grade (it would be scary to think this person is someone working in the dental profession- "smelt" is NOT a word..proper word for past tense of smell is "smelled") Sorry, we digress..... anyway, the only smell we "smelled" at the resort was the sweet fragrance of freshly cut lawn, Hydrangea scents wafting through the air, and fresh homemade breakfasts ready first thing in the morning...YUMMY!!!!!
One more thing, and trust us on this one... most places we know that are situated so close to the beach can cost at least $400 and upwards per night!!! And do you think that includes a beautiful breakfast daily??? NOT!!!! For the amount that you will spend (which is a lot less than that) on vacation at the Commodore Inn- it will be WELL WORTH IT!!!
RUN- Don't walk to this charming and wonderful resort by Nantucket Sound!!!

Room Tip: Each and every room is beautiful!!! You can't go wrong!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewYorkers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Harwich
5.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
2.8 mi away
Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Handkerchief Shoals Inn
#1 of 2 in South Harwich
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Cod Wishing Well
Cape Cod Wishing Well
#5 of 7 in West Harwich
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
1.3 mi away
Seadar Inn By the Sea
Seadar Inn By the Sea
#4 of 8 in Harwich Port
181 reviews
8.6 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Inn Resort

Address: 30 Earle Rd, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671-1910
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range: $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Commodore Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Commodore Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel West Harwich
Commodore Inn Resort West Harwich, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing