We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Beach Breeze Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Coachman Motor Inn(South Harwich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gaslight(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dennisport Motel(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
145
26
5
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
26
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade muffinsevery morningcape codfelt like homestay there againroom was spotlessa king size bedtravel agentgreat place to staycouple of nightsbeach chairs and towelsnice poolrefrigerator and microwaveair conditionerold stylegreat suggestionsthe location is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 183 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this inn based on the reviews on TA...the room was the exact opposite of what I expected. The room had a moldy smell to it upon entering, it was dark and dismal due to the decoration and forest green carpet. The facucet in bathroom sink is so close to the sink itself that it is nearly impossible to do anything using the water from the faucet and the shower head is so old that it was irritating taking a shower because of the water pressure. I did not walk around the place without shoes because it felt so gross. I paid $98 a night and felt like I was ripped off because this place should be priced at around $50 a night...a Motel 8 or Red Roof Inn is upscale compared to this place. I now know why there is a No Refund Policy at this Inn because I would have walked right out if I was able to get my money back and unless you like muffins and coffee for breakfast, you will be paying for a meal elsewhere. My neck and back hurts because the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. And thank goodness I walked with my own toothpaste, shampoo etc. because the only thing they provide is a few small cheap soaps.

I am so annoyed at the fact that I spent so much money for a crappy place. The owners need to renovate this place so guest can get what they are paying for.

Room Tip: Please look around elsewhere....there is a no refund policy and i can guarantee you that you would want a refund once you open the door to your room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cindy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachBreeze, Owner at A Beach Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Wow this person really did not like our inn which is ok. We realize we cannot please everyone. Steve and I thought we made it clear on our website what type of inn we are. If you are looking for a chain motel or 5 star resort, then we are not for you. We purposedly are trying to recapture the charm & quaintness of Olde Cape Cod (of times gone by). Having said that, we offer all the main conveniences: hairdryers, tvs, dvd players & movies, irons, ironing boards, alarm clocks with radios, refrigerators, microwaves, AC & heat. Our king rooms have electric fireplaces. We refresh our rooms every year by painting & regrouting. We consistently update the bed linens and drapes. We wash our carpets regularly. Our mattresses are firm but not hard. Most people love them and some have even asked where we bought them and bought them for their own home! Most people love our decorating style - again it is old-fashioned & quaint which we do on purpose so our guests can recapture the feeling of Olde Cape Cod. Our rooms are very clean - there is no mold! Our inn is located near a river and wetlands. Sometimes there is a musty smell (especially after it rains) from the river and surrounding trees. That is Mother Nature and if your windows are open, it will come into the room. We usually tell our guests to close their windows and put the A/C on and the odor will be gone in about 10 mins. We clearly state on our website that we serve a continental breakfast of coffee, tea, juice and muffins. We tell everyone that check in that we serve, coffee, tea, juice and muffins. We do not offer a deluxe or expanded continental breakfast (lack of space). Hopefully potential guests will read this and realize what we are. If you are looking for clean, quaint rooms, helpful, friendly service, and want to walk to a warm-water ocean beach, then we are the place for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was the first time we stayed here, and we were very impressed. (We have stayed at several other Cape hotels/motels over the years.) The hosts were very friendly and helpful. On the first night we had a problem with the air conditioner (may have been our own fault) and, after my husband reported it, it was taken care of immediately.The breakfast breads and/or muffins were very tasty and obviously homemade. (Coffee was good, too.) Our room was very clean and. although the bathroom was dated (not at all unusual for the Cape), it was also very clean. The pool was clean and well-kept. The location of the Inn was close to lots of restaurants, family activities and the beach. The owners obviously take a lot of pride in providing reasonable, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeresMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This spot was great for many reasons: 1) reasonably priced - at less than $200/night at end of august it was less than most options on the cape, 2) great hosts - hosts were very friendly and willing to help out with directions to best beaches and dinner recommendations, great for folks in the cape for the first time, 3) nice pool - pool was nice and clean, 4) morning coffee/muffins - nice treat in the morning, 5) close to beach - only 2-3 min drive / 10-15 min walk to beach, 6) very close to all the major beaches and towns like chatham.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank jenanddre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Pam, Steve and Charlotte went out of their way to ensure that we got the best out of the few days we had in the area.

Without their recommendations and directions we would have missed many of the real gems in the locality. Pam has all this thought out, discount vouchers in hand and directions ready to print out. Steve gave us some excellent restaurant recommendations which ensured that we ate well and affordably at some of the best restaurants the area has to offer.

At the inn the rooms are well appointed and Pam's homemade breakfast treats ensured the best possible start to the day. There is a pool at the Inn and a good public beach is a short walk away...Pam and Steve have beach towels and chairs available on a first come, first served basis.

We came to the area as a stopover between Boston and NYC with no particular expectations. Pam and Steve's natural desire to ensure that guests get the best experience of the area turned this stop into a high point of our vacation.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I expected a lot more after reading the glowing reviews from TA. Our experience was simply unpleasant. Although our room was indeed spacious and the decoration is nautically charming, the bathroom is not very well designed. Too small and too OLD; its toilet did not flush properly. We had to take off the lid and add water everytime to flush, a nuisance I must say! We didn't report this to the owners because we didn't want to bother them. There were many other minor issues that made our stay disagreeable - the annoying noseethem (some sort of flies), the stagnant water stench from a nearby marsh/river ( perhaps I have a sensitive nose), and the breakfast is too minimal (should be called "morning snack"). What I find very this place very frustrating is its overall management. Albeit our initial check-in was efficient and friendly, however, when our check out event was terrible. True, the owners want their guests to leave the key in the room, but my family thought that we should personally hand the key ( just one old fashioned key) to them since they can be easily misplaced. However, we couldn't do so because their office (and breakfast) won't open until 8:00 a.m. We tried knocking, but guess what - they refused to open even they awared we were there because we saw them inside and their dog was barking! To add further insult, they closed the side door and pretended we were not there (?). I just couldn't believe it - we were only 10-15 minutes early ( it was about 7:47 a.m then). ** if you are the owner reading this, please open your office earlier. It's too unprofessional that you ignored your guest's knocking**

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guests007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachBreeze, Owner at A Beach Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Steve and I were so sorry to read how unhappy this family was. We do wish that they had come to us with the toilet problem. We always tell our guests at check-in to let us know if they need anything. We would never think our guests are bothering us. The comfort and happiness of our guests are our main proirities! We have a maintenance man on staff daily and he certainly could have addressed that problem.

Regarding our bathrooms being small and old, although they are not huge, they are not tiny. As we state on our website, we are "The Cape You Remember". We purposely try to keep the Cape Cod Charm from years past (the quaint Mom & Pop motels from days gone by). The bathrooms have yellow tiles and blue tiled floors. Yes, they are old-fashioned but we paint our bathrooms every year, regrout our tiles and make sure everything is clean and neat. We have updated our light fixtures and added hairdryers.

Regarding the noseeums (very tiny flies), we actually post a sign in our lobby stating they they arrive for about a 2 week stay in August and there is nothing we can do about them. They do not bite and we advise our guests to make sure they keep there doors closed.

As for the river, obviously we have no control over that. When there are extremely low tides, the river does have an odor (which I'm sure is the case with most rivers). It doesn't happen very often and only lasts during the low tide period.

Regarding our continental breakfast, we clearly state on our website and again always tell our guests at check-in that it consists of coffee, tea, juice and home-baked muffins or breads. We just don't have the room in our lobby to offer more. We keep our office open till 11pm at night and then re-open at 8am in the morning. Most of the small inns on the Cape (since they do not have a huge staff) open between 8 and 8:30am.

Lastly, we feel very bad that this family tried to reach us when checking out. We would never intentionally ignore our guests. Yes, we do have a notice on the back of each unit door and in a guest information book that they may leave the key in the room on early check outs but if someone came to our door and knocked, we would certainly answer if we heard it. As for the dog barking, he barks even if someone is loading their car. Many times we close the door if he starts barking, so it will not bother our guests. We did not hear anyone knocking nor did we see anyone at the door because if we did, we would have surely answered. Steve and I love our job and try to do all we can to make our guests happy (which is reflected in most of our reviews)! We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences this family experienced. We do hope they will give us another chance and if not, that in the future (wherever they stay) they let the owners/ managers know if they are experiencing any problems. We want to know, so we can correct the situation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews