We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Our Sign You Have Arrived
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Sign You Have Arrived
The old lookout from the kitchen of the Crows Nest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Our Sign You Have Arrived
The old lookout from the kitchen of the Crows Nest
Weber Gas Grill
Enclosed Yard
Patio
Back Yard
Earle Street Beach Less than 3 minute walk even with kids.
Life Guard from 10 to 4 every day
Just Add water At Earle Street Beach.  You can even get a permit for a evening cookout
Yes The Ice Cream truck comes to the beach every day more than once
View one of nature's wonders up close by visiting  Herring Run, In Brewster Just a short drive away.
Over recent years, the seal population has increased ten-fold off the shores of the Lower Cape.
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West Harwich, Harwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bradee201...
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in the off season. We were spending Christmas with our daughter and the Crows Nest was perfect. We cooked Christmas dinner in the fully equipped kitchen. The property manager was very helpful. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
Ruth and I are glad that you found the Crows Nest at Captain Alexander's a great place. Ben and Stacey have been with us for about 4 years and Ben seems to always make our guest's stay enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmp35
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing stay close to beach”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed our 3-night stay here very much. Family of 4 with 2 teenage daughters. Perfect for our needs - good amount of space, a nice walk to the beach, in a quiet neighborhood with a short drive to area restaurants and shopping. We really liked the Earle Street beach - not too big and not too crowded. The outdoor shower and patio area were great for washing off sand after a day at the beach. Everything was just as we expected from pictures and description. Bedrooms were comfortable, air conditioning easily controlled to our liking. We also liked having the washer and dryer to use. The owners were a pleasure to correspond with in making our arrangements and offered great suggestions for our stay. The onsite property manager gave us peace of mind and was very accessible to address any questions or needs. The only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2015
Dear Sharon,
Ruth and I are glad you and your family enjoyed Captain Alexander's and your time at Earle Road Beach. We have had many comments about the nice homes in the area. There are many find restaurants within an easy drive of captain Alexanders and although we know that the kitchen in the rental is small most people find the living room and bedrooms have adequate space. One of the many ways that we try hard for you to enjoy your vacation is to be flexible with the check in and check out dates. Thanks for submitting your review and we hope you have a nice fall back at home.
Yours Ruth and Jerry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location close to the beach, lovely back yard”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Captain Alexander's! The owners were great about sending us information beforehand and great recommendation for places to eat and go. We never actually met the property managers at the location but check-in and check-out was super easy. The place is a bit old and run-down but it met all our needs for a few days at the beach. The rental was flexibel about staying for less than a full week, it really is only a short walk to a nice, family-friendly beach and an easy drive towards the National Seashore. We loved the outdoor shower and the seating area in the backyard. The kitchen is small, but it has everything you need. Thanks for the great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor shower
Liked least: condition of bathroom and furniture
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Dear Lisa,
We're glad you had a good time at Captain Alexander's and the beach at Earle Road is really convenient. The home was built in 1956 and has been well maintained with new windows air conditioning and heating. In June we replaced the carpeting in the apartment. Yes I understand the kitchen is small and although it has a new cooktop and wall oven it is dated. One of the ways that we try to make your vacation special to you is the flexibility of having checked in and check out dates around your schedule and not just Saturday to Saturday which has been the norm on Cape Cod ever since I was a little boy when we were vacationing there.
We appreciate your review and we're glad you had a great time on old Cape Cod.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service from owners!”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I'm sure this review won't see the light of day as the owners will say that it never happened but that's exactly why I'm writing it. We were to rent for 5 days to stay for a wedding that was occurring in Cape Cod. When we got to the rental, there was a smell of mildew. My mother, who is allergic, started having a reaction within 2 hrs. We left the premises for something to eat and upon coming back, decided we could not stay there the night for fear of her having a bad reaction and having to call an ambulance or have to go to the ER. It was verified that it was okay if this occurred. When I asked for my deposit to be returned by the owners, I was told no because we did not stay there. Nothing in the lease says anything about forfeiting the deposit and I was assured $200 of the money I gave, would be returned. Alas, I have not seen any of my money and have been told that I would not be given the money back despite not staying there. The owners were unkind, dishonest and rude to us. I would not recommend staying here because god forbid you have any issues come up, you won't get your money back.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Dear Paola

We are sorry that you did not stay at Captain Alexander's. When you arrived the manager Ben met you and you said that everything seemed fine then your mother seem to have a problem with the rental. The first thing that she said was that it was dirty so Ben asked where is the problem and after looking around she said the outside patio. Then she said that the place had mold and that she could not stay. We know from all our guess that we keep a very clean rental and there is no Mold. As far as returning the security deposit the rental was for the amount of $895.00 with a security deposit of $200.00
We received a booking deposit of $390 and the balance was due on arrival. Since we only received a booking deposit of $390 and did not receive any security deposit money we are not in a position to refund that. And yes your review will stay posted because we get excellent reviews from all our guests over the past six or seven years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patterson...
patterson
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First trip to Cape Cod... will not be our last”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

To say that we loved it at the Captain Alexander's would be an understatement! I would have to say that it was one of the best places that we have ever stayed at. It was just what we needed to relax and unwind from all the craziness. Being so close to the beach and the water just added to aura of the place and we managed to go done to walk along the water nearly every day that wee were there. The bike trail was just as beautiful and inviting, and we took full advantage of it as well. It was so peaceful to ride along the wooded areas, and along the ponds and cranberry bogs. The on-site manager and his wife were a pleasure to know. They were very personable and helpful. On a scale from 1-10, I would rate our experience at an 11+. We could not have asked for a better place to go to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ability to walk to the beach; easy access to the bike trail; the closeness of grocery stores and other activities
Liked least: there was nothing I did not like about it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream8098...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great property for the Beach Lover”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great rental has everything you need and close to the beach ideal for spending days on the beach and the outside shower ensures you can leave the beach at the beach and not bring half of it home in your suitcase. Small kitchen but we usually ate breakfast in, packed and ate lunch on the beach and ate dinner out. Front loading washer and dryer are wonderful I could bring home a suitcase of clean laundry for a change. A great value.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2014
Ruth and I are glad that you enjoyed your time at Captain Alexandra's Hideaway. Our Crows Nest 2 bedroom unit does have a small kitchen And we know that you found everything you need to cook with. One of the nice features of Alexander's it's it's close to the beach and of course the outside shower and barbecue area is really enjoyable. Thanks for your time and writing review.

Captain Edwards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denise m
Rensselaerville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in the Cape”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and 3 children ages 8,13, & 15 traveled for a long weekend to the Cape. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment at the Captain Alexander's Hideaway and it was wonderful. The bedrooms were large with plenty of closet and dresser storage. The kitchen is small and it may be difficult to cook larger meals but it suited us just fine as we often ate off premise. It was clean with a large living area and a washer and dryer. With only a 5 min walk to the public beach the location was very nice as well.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
Ruth and I are happy that you found the Cows Nest at Captain Alexander's a great place for a long weekend. At Captain Alexander's we understand that people do not always vacation from Saturday to Saturday so having the flexibility to create the days you want to vacation at Captain Alexander's is one of the many ways that we can make your vacation special to you. Thanks for mentioning that the bedrooms have ample closet space as well as plenty or draw space for you personal items. We do understand that the kitchen is small and only has seating for four guest, that's why we always post 4 guest maximum
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing