We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Scallops!”
Review of Summer Shanty

Summer Shanty
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in West Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Casual waterfront dining servicing local seafood, black angus burgers, clam chowder and other light fare. Full liquor license with GREAT frozen drinks. Winner 2009 & 2013 "Best Waterfront Dining" by New England Cable Network. Winner "Certificate of Excellence" by Trip Advisor. Cape Cod's best sunsets EVERY day!
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fried Scallops!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great and quick service. Delicious and succulent fried scallops! It was to die for, ate there twice during our short stay in Cape Cod.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan K, Owner at Summer Shanty, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for visiting The Summer Shanty and your positive comments. I'll thrilled to read you enjoyed your visit. Please visit us in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    25
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great views, a little pricey.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I shared a plate of fried whole belly clams and fried scallops and piña coladas. It was huge and delicious, especially the scallops. The view of the docks and boats was lovely, though we were there just before sunset, a little too early. The only problem for me was that it was a bit pricey compared to other fried seafood "shacks" in the area. Everything is served on paper plates and with plastic, which is fine, but I just didn't think it should be quite so expensive. I guess you pay for the view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkeefe, Owner at Summer Shanty, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Good Morning. I happy to hear you enjoyed our good food & great views. Due to the potential of breakage in the boating and marina atmosphere the use of glass and china is not utilized. Additionally, our close proximity to the water does not allow for expansion of the Shanty's waste disposal system, limiting us to single service cups, cutlery and plateware. Thank you for visiting the Summer Shanty and please visit next time you are on the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth,ma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place and good food”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Basic cape Cod fried food but was very ggod. Had the fried clams which where abundant and cooked very well. Not a very large menu but something for everyone.
Sat on the deck over looking Bass River. Great Cape Cod feel for the entire family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlars25533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice view and sunsets, but pricey for the atmosphere”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Recently went to the Summer Shanty for drinks and dinner. The sunset over the marina was beautiful, and the restaurant does a great job of providing lots of outdoor seating so that you can enjoy the views. Once we went inside for dinner, we found the menu to be somewhat limited, but what was offered all sounded good. Dinners ranged from lobster rolls (delicious) to a lemon-butter salmon (a little bland), with the obligatory clam chowder appetizer (very good, but small portion). Unfortunately, as good as the food and the views were, the dining atmosphere was disappointing. All drinks were served in cheap plastic cups (or beers served in the can), and the dinnerware was all plastic ... certainly didn't match the prices. Bottom line, go for drinks around sunset, but there are better meals to be found nearby.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Service”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visiting this restaurant over Labor Day weekend. We were seated out on the deck, which was nothing spectactular, it looked like someone's backyard porch. The inside was full of nasty drunk older men standing around the front door, blocking the entrance, it was a dive, not a nice place.

Our waitress came over shortly after we were seated. We asked what beer they had on draft, she responded sounding very annoyed and said nothing, its all in cans, we don't do draft beer. Which is fine. but the attitude was not necessary. Then she rudely asked us to all give her second forms of ID because we are from NH, again, not a problem, if you ask nicely. After that, we decided that we were going to take our business elsewhere, we were not impressed by the service at all. So, when she came back to take our orders, we simply told her that we changed our minds and decided to just finish our drinks and head elsewhere, which we had every right to do. Well, this clearly angered her, and she told us that we will have to go "on the grass then", so we said not necessary, can we please have our check. As if that wasn't awkward enough, she then sent the hostess (or bartender?) over to yell at us in front of the entire restaurant. She came charging from the inside onto the deck, and started yelling at us , telling us "I asked you if you were eating here and you said yes, you need to get off the deck, this is for people who want food only", all while flailing her arms around and talking to us like we were toddlers in trouble. We were mortified, it was completely unnecessary and embarassing. Then to boot, we see our waitress go over to the table of rude people next to us, and start talking about us. Literally the worst service ever, and after reading other reviews, it sounds like they need to get rid of their bartender/hostess, and train their employees on customer service and hospitality. Don't waste your time here, unless you like getting yelled at and paying way too much for a beer in a can.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan K, Owner at Summer Shanty, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Good Morning, First I want to aplogize for your uncomfortable experience during your recent visit to my restaurant. As in life we strive for perfection with every customer we serve, obviously we missed our mark during your recent visit. I have discussed your uncomfortable situation with members of my staff, they also extend an apology to you and your friends. Next time you visit Cape Cod, please try us again and ask for me when you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Shanty also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Summer Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing