We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of GuestLodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GuestLodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in West Dennis
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and me stayed there for 1 night (we needed 1 night to spend on Cape Cod to help our daughter to settle with 2 little kids in rented condo, so we wanted to be near by). Location was very good to get everywhere we needed at that time. We requested no-smoking room, but room on the 1st floor that we got in had awful smell, carpet was dirty, and in the bathroom was wet towels from previous guest. We had our door open untilll the dark, hoping the smell will dissapear, no way!
They promised coffer and mufins in the morning, but when I stop by, all was gone.
In addition, when we checked in, I felt the alcogol smell from the owner.
We did not sleep at all at this horrible place for the price of 189$ with tax.

Room Tip: Please avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nisn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
18
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The pictures posted on travel sites and the reviews of other customers do not represent the true nature of this hotel. The rooms are very small with an exposed concrete wall at the head. The odor when entering the room is overpowering and no amount of fresh air gets rid of it. The tv is old, small, and barely visible from the bed. The linens are old with some stains, the pillows are paper thin, and mattress is uncomfortable as well. The whole place could use a serious make over and upgrades. Next time we will spend the extra money and stay somewhere more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjc621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Dennis hotels

Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
551 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Barnacle on a whim. We stopped there due to location and wanted to stay in the area longer. The location is what we needed, the price is what we needed, and they had parking for our boat and trailer. They were accommodating. They had a fridge for our cheese and drinks, all ready for our wine to wind down with. The stay was only for one night only and to sleep after a long day sight seeing and the next days long journey home. The location for site seeing to beaches highways and other towns was good. The bed was a bit hard for us, we could have changed rooms but we didn't. The price was right, a bit noisy with others over head but it solved all our basic needs,...and it was really cheap. So saty on the second floor if you need to. We got what we paid for and had a laugh about it later but it was clean and had amenties so it depends on your own needs at the time,...don't complain unless you want to pay more or do something about it. A decent establishment.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor and check to see how hard the bed is, and change rooms if need be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockiroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Everything we needed and wanted. The room was clean, refrigerator larger than most (and clean), free wi-fi, we requested and received first floor, coffee and muffins each morning, surprisingly quiet inside and outside the rooms, pool was immaculate. We sat outside while my husband smoked his cigar (ALL non-smoking rooms which we love) and owner came to chat with us. He has a great attitude about not renting a room he would not sleep in and he does not tolerate guests disturbing other guests (a definite plus) late at night. Owner obviously takes great pride in his place and keeps the prices low. Located .4 miles from Christmas Tree Shop, 1 mile from Cubby's, near the beach and plenty of options for shopping and eating. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We are "seniors" so we asked for first floor to make it easier to load/unload car. Noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in August with kids and it was a great experience. Rooms are big, clean and the owner and staff are very nice. Location is great if you are not interested to be right on the beach with many shops and restaurants nearby. The value is amazing for this motel and what it offers. Located right on RT28 but still quite and relaxing. We ll definatelly stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailors10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

What I disliked about this place was how while I was checking in, the owner felt it was appropriate to berate me for other people's behavior for things that took place the night before which I had nothing to do with seeing as though I wasn't physically there. In fact, my stay was in jeopardy before I even arrived to check in because the owner lacks customer service, diplomacy, and professionalism. It was uncalled for and it was insulting. If it wasn't a weekend night I would have taken my business elsewhere. I was embarrassed that this lecture took place in front of other guests as well. All additional 8 check-ins received the same type of treatment. The owner never identified himself, so I just assumed that he was the owner based on his arrogance and scolding that he projected onto me for events that transpired before my arrival. He threatened me with calling the local police if there would be any issues for noise which again hadn't taken place because it was 1pm in the afternoon. I left with an extremely poor taste in my mouth, and I feel bad for anyone that has spent their money there. I purposely didn't use the pool or even stay in the room until it was time that I retire for the evening because I felt like the owner was out to get me doing something that had violated our conversation earlier in the day. It was odd that I saw the owner's son walking around the perimeter late at night once I stepped foot onto the property. Of course, I was charged more than what was confirmed via email. The owner discriminated against me because he assumed due to my youth that I automatically was going to be trouble. It was supposed to be a fun trip that this experience put a damper on. This was my worst experience staying at a hotel in my life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed in several other hotels nearby as I visit my mother every year. This one is my favorite. The owners and staff are eager to help. The rooms and the property are spotless and for July on the Cape, the price is fantastic. Muffins and coffee in the morning. Although it is along route 28 and I was expecting road noise, it is set back and was surprising quiet. The towels could have been thicker but they were plentiful. I will come back to this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dennis
0.8 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ambassador Inn & Suites
#20 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cape Cod Area
Travelodge Cape Cod Area
#1 of 3 in West Dennis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Rock Resort
Blue Rock Resort
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Club at Cape Cod
The Club at Cape Cod
#6 of 19 in Dennis Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestLodge

Property: GuestLodge
Address: 221 Main St, West Dennis, MA 02670-2204 (Formerly Barnacle Motel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Dennis
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in West Dennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestLodge 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your GuestLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacle Hotel West Dennis
GuestLodge West Dennis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing