We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bass River Kayaks, Cruises and Paddleboards
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in West Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What fun!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

First time kayaking - one single for me (mom), dad and 8 yr old daughter did a 2 person. The guy who checked us in was super knowledgeable. At the put out location the kids working there were efficient and knowledgeable as well. The trip was great (except my shoulders got tired). We saw 2 osprey in a nest. Tons of ridiculously expensive homes and boats. Lots to look at. We'd do it again in a heartbeat. We used a coupon for $1 off and a free half hour!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank nomadswithchildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific excursion out to the Sound”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good location, excellent equipment, reasonable price. A fun few hours on the water.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rsnow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“i always come here and don't want to share my secret place”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I will share however. It is a great place to kayak, and for first timers you will feel safe doing so. Head towards the ocean and you can wind up at a little beach and inlet that is just plain fun so wear your swimming suit. You can head the other direction, away from the ocean,f you feel the current or wind is too strong for you. The only heads up is that it is so popular that during peak summer days it can get crowded, but they always seem to have enough kayaks. You can rent a paddle pontoon boat as well.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank caperelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FUN!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Venue is lovely for bird and critter watching... .you meander down the estuary and it opens up at the end onto the open water... Lovely!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A fun 90 minute activity”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We hired some single and double kayaks for 90 minutes to explore the Bass River estuary. The kayaks were all in good condition with a range of life jackets to suit all sizes.
Waterproof maps were provided and advice on where to go to make the most of the kayaking. There are many points to land and swap around who is in which kayak and, as the river is reasonably enclosed, provides a safe environment for novice kayakers.
The only down side was us being hurried out of our boats at the end of 90 minutes as all their boats were in use and they had customers waiting - so suggest you get there early!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jschwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bass River Kayaks, Cruises and Paddleboards also viewed

 

Been to Bass River Kayaks, Cruises and Paddleboards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing