We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 West Dennis B&B and Inns
Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Upon driving into the parking area we knew this was the kind of experience we were looking for. The property looked like the Cape Cod of our imagination. We were in Cottage 15 which had 1 Queen and 1 Double with a couch, 1 soft chair and 2 straightback chairs. The staff were wonderful and more than willing to help us in anyway possible. Breakfasts were part of the cost and were fine. Unfortunately the same can not be said for dinner and when we were there they did not serve lunch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank define1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    56
    27
    17
    14
See reviews for
73
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is beautiful. Our room had an amazing view out on our deck.
We had a beautiful sunset in the evening and even a rainbow appeared after a light drizzle.
Our room was very nice. Very large with a sitting area and fireplace.
Unfortunately we had to leave before breakfast was served. I was disappointed as it would have been really nice to enjoy the beautiful view as we ate.
Our room was very comfortable and the bed was perfect. The bathroom was very spacious with a tub and a shower. However, the shower was rather small.

Room Tip: we stayed in the main house and had an amazing view with a deck up on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandBsALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in the ocean view cottage. For the price, I had expected nicer furnishings. The arm chairs in the room had lost all of thier springs and were impossible to sit in. We did have a fire place and the room was clean. We were steps from a small but serviceable beach. If you walked a 100 yards to the right, you had the entire stretch of West Dennis Beach to enjoy. On a windy day the heated pool was great. We even played mini golf.

Service was good but the front desk did not go out of its way for anyone that I could see. Wireless is poor at best.

The breakfast buffet included in your room price was ample and you were able to order ala carte. Otherwise, I was not impressed with the food. Think "nursing home quality".

How ever we did have friends staying with thier kids and they loved it. Tons for the kids to do. No reason to leave the resort.
I would go back if I was traveling with kids but as a couple, I think we could have done better for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bemama627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

You get the sense that people have been coming here for years. The staff is, for the most part, proud of the gathering of kids from all over who serve your breakfast. And there are a few who know what's what. But the reason to come is that it works like an old clock. The food is fine. The buffet breakfast is fine. The beach has an odd smell from the seaweed that's washed up by the ton in part of the harbor. The pool is a little over-chlorinated. But the breeze is fantastic and the little cottages are comfortable. I have a feeling that I, too, will return year after year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditzyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this Inn and would not recommend it. We arrived early for check in and decided to have lunch while we waited. We each ordered a lobster roll and the lobster was old. We ordered another one which was better. When we got our cottage, it smelled bad. We could not find the smell, so we got a map to look at the surroundings. I pulled a chair to the table and found the smell. The chair smelled like a huge, sweaty person had sat in it and had never been cleaned. We stayed for 4 days and the carpet had never been vacuumed nor the bathroom floor cleaned.
Not a fun vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kshall1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is nice and the staff is friendly. The breakfast was the best we had with plenty on the buffet, plus the ability to order from the menu. Still, the room needed updates. It looked a little old and run down, plus it could use more cabinet space or shelves in the bathroom. Also, the windows need curtains. They just have old vinyl blinds which gap at the sides leaving you exposed to the outside...and that includes a big window in the bathroom. I never felt entirely comfortable with that. Still, it's a neat place for families and there were a lot of them there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanwithagoodbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent three nights here, very charming. Most of the rooms are not in the main building in the pictures but in bungalows scattered throughout the property, so we overlooked the lawn, another building the an area where cars parked. That said, the building did have a little deck with chairs. The main building is pretty, the deck is huge and there is plenty of seating inside and out for breakfast. The breakfast buffet was very good although the 8 - 9:30 AM hours somewhat limiting. It is very close to the W. Dennis public beach. While we liked it we did not think it was a good value for nearly $300 a night, the room was small and the bathroom needs updating (as do the towels in the rooms!) Front desk staff was nice, although the staff at night should be more familiar with area restaurants, they directed us to a local divey bar for food since many restaurants stop serving food early. The grounds are very well maintained and everyone friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dennis
1.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
4.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.5 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Property: Lighthouse Inn
Address: 1 Lighthouse Rd, P.O. Box 128, West Dennis, MA 02670-3046
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Dennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Dennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Inn-A True Oceanfront Cape Cod Classic.. The historic oceanfront Lighthouse Inn is home to the only privately owned and privately operated US Coast Guard-sanctioned lighthouse. Variety of accommodations, Cape Cod-style houses with private guestrooms and bathrooms, quaint cottages or traditional hotel style guestrooms. We offer bed and breakfast rates or American plan rates, which includes breakfast and dinner. Open mid-May through Columbus Day. Special packages are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel West Dennis
Lighthouse Inn West Dennis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing