We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartless”
Review of Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 West Dennis B&B and Inns
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heartless”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Do not plan an event here. I was going to get married here on August 11, 2012 and my brother (and best man) fell extremely ill and this place is refusing to refund any money. It's not like they are out any money, they haven't even started cooking the food when we had notified them at the end of July. They don't have to set up for the wedding now, so they are not out any money. I just hope if anyone working there has a family member that becomes deathly ill, they won't have to go through the hell this place is putting me and my family through. My brother is still in the hospital and he has had 3 brain surgeries to date. How heartless of Lighthouse Inn and shame on you. I would have re-booked with them at a later date, but because of how heartless they are being, I would not be comfortable getting married here, as they have added even more stress in my and my families life even more difficult and I don't believe they care about their customers or people. Lighthouse Inn is HEARTLESS.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    32
    18
    14
See reviews for
87
69
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just came back from a weekend at the Lighthouse Inn and we had a wonderful time. Great for families, friends and couples. Right on the beach but there is so much more to do...pool, jet skiing, kayaking...and it is located right near town. Beautiful area and comfortable ambiance. Looks a bit old fashioned from the outside but our room was modern, spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the Lookout but next time are planning to rent a bunch of cottages and bring the kids. The only thing we were disappointed in is not being able to make an early reservation for dinner to be sat on the deck. Suggestion: make it early if you are going to eat there. Great service, great time and would DEFINITELY go back again. I wish I was still there!

Room Tip: The Lookout looks deceiving from the outside but the room was huge with a king size and queen size b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyjames410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseinncapecod, Manager at Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for the positive review of the Lighthouse Inn. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Lookout room and took note all the activities available on our property for your family to hopefully come back and enjoy. It is unfortunate you were not able to dine on the deck as I do know the restaurant has been extremely busy the last few weeks with so many large familes. We have hopes you will return with your children and prehaps enjoy a cottage and dine outside on our deck overlooking Nantucket Sound during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Brought our son and his family with 2 young children. We had gone to the Lighthouse Inn when our children were young and always loved it. This is the type of facility where you park your car and throw away your keys. Everything you need is right there, fabulous beach, clean outdoor pool with a snack bar, little kiddie golf course, game room, candy bars, the biggest breakfast buffet included, spectacular dining, huge veranda facing ocean for cocktails and great service always. You have to see it to believe it. Lots of different buildings but all shingle style, cape cod like. Not the cheapest but the best and worth every penny.
Gloria

Room Tip: If you want to wake up hearing the ocean ask for Oceanside cottages or guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseInnCapeCod, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted your family enjoyed their time at the Lighthouse Inn. We have many families that return after years and are able to have their children enjoy the charm of Lighthouse Inn as they did while young. A True Cape Cod experience! We continue to look into more ways we can provide the ultimate Cape Cod vacation for our guests & familes, while still not losing the charm and history of the Inn. We hope you and your family continue the tradition for years to come, enjoying your time together on Cape Cod at the Lighthouse Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Lighthouse Inn is right on West Dennis Beach, and most of the rooms have an ocean view, and all rooms are a stone's throw from the water. Teriffic accomodations include very spacious rooms, a beach, a large restaurant open for lunch and dinner with indoor and outdoor seating, breakfast buffet (hot and cold) included with your room, jet ski and kayak rentals,and a pool. You really don't need to leave there for a few days.
Got married there 7/4/11, (with 75 very happy guests) and returned for our 1st anniversary 7/4/12.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseInnCapeCod, Manager at Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
As returning guests, we are once again delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Lighthouse Inn and was able to enjoy the large breakfast buffet along with other meals overlooking the breathtaking view of Nantucket Sound. We love it when guests are able to just park their car, kick up their feet and truly relax at a great Cape Cod location, so it is wonderful you were able to do that.. Happy 1 year Anniversary, as we have hopes you make it a tradition to enjoy several more here during the fourth of July weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Came here for the second time. Made reservations for a party of 9. Table was ready promptly. Waitress informed us that we were going to have a lengthy wait for our food because there were many large parties being served that night. She also suggested that we get our food orders in as quick as possible to help shorten the wait for the food. Not the best way to start out a meal that was supposed to be relaxing and enjoyable. Food was average at best. View is excellent. We finished our dinner about 9:30 pm and were next to a couple who was very angry. They had waited an incredible amount of time for their food and were still waiting. At this point, the restaurant was nearly empty. The waiter explained to them it was because of the crowd - and I thought the patron was going to blow a gasket since there was no one left in the restaurant! There are many more places on Cape Cod with a view and better food for a better price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrasshopperBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great place for one night or more. On the water, beautiful views, good food, very wonderful breakfast which is included in the very reasonale price for a night stay. Cabins for singles or ajoining rooms..heated pool, mini-golf (cute) tennis....jet skiis and other water activities. Breakfast from menu or buffet....lobster included in the omelet! Fireplace in our room with a view of the water.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed here for five days in October at the very end of the season. The accommodations were adorable: small guest houses on the property that were adorable and private. Breakfast was served in the main Inn which sat directly on the beach. You could sit outside and enjoy the sunset at evening and take long strolls (for miles) either way down the beach. This is truly an authentic old-town Cape experience. The location is not super ideal to avoid crowds, but at the same time, is very convenient to travel to... not far at all from rt 28. This seems like it would be perfect for both families and couples. I was traveling with a very large group and we enjoyed nights on the lawn hanging out and drinking a few beers. There were adults and kids in the group and all really enjoyed. The only thing to note, is that some of the guest houses have shared living space and then separate (locked) bedrooms off of that. So if you want to stay in a house with just you, and no strangers, you may have to pay extra. However, everyone is in vacation mode and super friendly so this would probably not be a problem.

Room Tip: We loved the gatehouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingQueen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dennis
1.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
601 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
392 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Property: Lighthouse Inn
Address: 1 Lighthouse Rd, P.O. Box 128, West Dennis, MA 02670-3046
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Dennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Dennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Inn-A True Oceanfront Cape Cod Classic.. The historic oceanfront Lighthouse Inn is home to the only privately owned and privately operated US Coast Guard-sanctioned lighthouse. Variety of accommodations, Cape Cod-style houses with private guestrooms and bathrooms, quaint cottages or traditional hotel style guestrooms. We offer bed and breakfast rates or American plan rates, which includes breakfast and dinner. Open mid-May through Columbus Day. Special packages are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel West Dennis
Lighthouse Inn West Dennis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing