We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I was looking for!”
Review of Beach House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach House Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 West Dennis B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I stayed at the Beach House with a couple of friends of mine for a few days in the early part of the season, and it did not disappoint. It has an absolutely perfect location, right on the beach and secluded from the touristy cape people. Patty and Bill (the owners) are fantastically nice people, and they definitely know how to run a B&B. I have stayed at other B&B's where the owner treats you as an inconvenience...not so here! Next time I come to the cape I'm staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachboy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

My wife and I with our two young daughters had a wonderful time at the Beach House Inn. If you’re looking for luxury and five star treatment, this probably isn’t the place for you. But if you want a place where you can hear the waves crashing on the beach from your room, where you can open the door and step right onto the beach, and where you can spend a hassle free week with the family, this is the place. From the moment we showed up, the owners made us feel right at home. The house was built almost 100 years ago and maintains a lot of its old Cape Cod nostalgia. We stayed in room #1 and though the room was not huge, the four of us fit without a problem. The kitchen and barbeque areas were also a plus. Affordably priced, the Beach House is a place I would recommend to anyone looking to have a great beach experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

The good news about this boarding house/B&B is the location - slap bang on the beach (whilst not particularly clean, the sea is warm and shallow, which is great for kids). The bad news is just about everything else. The rooms - euphemistically called "suites" - are small and badly in need of updating as well as a good, proper cleaning. The shared kitchen - in the basement, with tenants all given their own fridge - is absolutely filthy, as is the outdoor gas barbecue; the microwave is downright dangerous and actually caught fire when I used it.
The worst thing though is that the large family who own the place and rent out rooms, are all over the property including in the shared lounge and porch area. Although nice enough people, they also have friends/family who live over the road and seem to be always present too, which means you find you are often confined to your room. It's hard to avoid feeling ripped off when you have paid $1200 for the week! Avoid...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank JustinKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Stayed at this place the last two nights of our honeymoon. As soon as we arrived, I knew we should have left and found somewhere else. The owner's teenage son met us and said his dad and mom were out of town. He called and spoke with his dad who then said that he did not have any record of us for being there. I had spoken with dad on the phone several weeks previous. He did say he had rooms available, but his wife, who does the cooking, was not going to be there. So pretty much we were on our own for breakfast. It was our first time on the Cape and we didn't want to try to find somewhere else, so we just decided to stay. The teenage son showed us around and asked us what room we wanted and we picked on that was right on the ocean. Very pretty view, but all the seaweed that was washed up made it stink pretty bad. I should have demanded a much lower price than he had previously told me. It's nice to have breakfast cooked for you and that was just a huge disappointment. I felt sorry for the kid who was left unsupervised all summer... I do not at all recommend this place. Keep searching..

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mid-Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2006

We loved our 4 night stay in this lovely house, very homely, we had the fantastic room 2, with the balcony overlookng the ocean! The location is fantastic we spent hours just sitting onthe lovely deck! Lovely owners Patty and Bill made us feel very welcome on arrival.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seaweedUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank riccardoiossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dennis
2.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
272 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#1 of 3 in West Dennis
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#13 of 19 in Dennis Port
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Inn

Address: 61 Uncle Stevens Rd, West Dennis, Dennis, MA 02670-3037
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > West Dennis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Dennis
Price Range: $106 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel West Dennis
Beach House Inn West Dennis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing