We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing ice cream”
Review of Benson Ice Cream

Benson Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in West Boxford
Restaurant details
Verplanck, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing ice cream”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

You might have to go a little out of your way to get here, but its worth it if you love homemade ice cream. A single cup is good enough for two people to share. They have a decent selection of flavors as well as sherbet. I can't wait to have their ice cream again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougzillathe3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Benson's is the best!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This 80+ year old family business makes the best homemade ice cream. Coffee brownie chunk and Fresh Native Peach (limited availability during August) are favorites. Vanilla, banana and ginger are also great. We usually get several half-gallon containers to take us through the winter months.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AprMay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best ice cream”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I like sitting outside on the benches .I feel their a bit pricey and I feel uncomfortable with them having cans for tips on the counter It makes you feel obligated to donate.Their ice cream is one of the best around.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dooze14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Homemade, Fresh and Flavorful”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Benson's is known to be a unique gem by people from all over the North Shore. This family-run business has served the very best ice cream for several generations and it is loved by all. Note: Open weekends in Spring and Fall and every day during the Summer season.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best coffee ice cream”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the two best places I have ever been to for coffee ice cream. Great homemade ice cream, made onsite. Very good seasonal flavors. Have never had a flavor here that I haven't like, and we're talking decades of eating here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Disney_Traveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benson Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Benson Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing