We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Honeysuckle Hill”
Review of Honeysuckle Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Honeysuckle Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Honeysuckle Hill is the best. Freddy does an outstanding job of making your visit as pleasant as possible from the first cup of coffee in the morning to that last beverage (whether alcoholic or not) in the evening. He has a wealth of information about the Cape and can direct you to everything from whale watching to the latest restaurant opening. The best part however is the delectable four course breakfast with the wonderful British wit that accompanies conversation at his lovely table. Be sure to ask for Freddy's apricot scones! Freddy, Ruth and Roberta run an intimate B&B that is second to none on the Cape. We are already counting the days to our visit next year - a true find not to be missed!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sconelover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 215 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2008

Great place to get away.My wife and I have stayed at the Honeysukle Hill 3 times and have never been disapointed.If you want to be pampered with a 4 course breakfast fit for a king in a lovely dinning room and everything you would need or want to make an enjoyable stay,this is the place for you.Freddy and Ruth have continued to provide the best accomodations and hospitality in a flawless manner for all to enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenbake77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

The Hill was highly recommended, so when we arrived we were excited, however we quickly saw that we were not necessarily welcome being younger than baby-boomer age. We are a young, affluent couple who have been all over the world and yet we were ignored or talked down to, including being repeatedly called "kids" or not informed that breakfast was being served. Too bad, since we had high hopes for this stay! Good for an older crowd just not us.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bugandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeCodHoney, Owner at Honeysuckle Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2008

As I write this response to Bugangoose's review, the Inn is full with happy guests, all under age 45. They are all aware of the time breakfast is served because it is an intrinsic part of our welcome tour of the Inn. Breakfast times are indicated in each room as well. Also, we are happy to do earlier or later breakfasts. All they have to do is ask. I am always available to answer any question.

Freddy Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Excellent , that is the only word to describe our stay at the Honeysuckle Hill Inn on Cape Cod , nothing could prepare us for the most relaxing and enjoyable week we had at this fine Inn .The moment we met the genial and friendly host , the Inn-keeper Freddy , my wife and I new we were in for something special , we stayed in the large and airy , beautifully decorated and furnished Wisteria room , with its beautiful views over the garden , large comfy bed , white fluffy bathrobes , luxury toiletries and every other conceivablecomfort you could think of, a truly grande and comfortable room.
Nothing could prepare us for the standards of comfort and pampering that Freddy and his staff set in this spotlessly clean gem on the Cape , from the complimentary soft drinks , beers and wine from the fridges on the porch to the numerous nibbles, fruit and sweeties in the Sitting room along with the complimentary spirits and aperitifs ..... the selection of fine Ports, amazing ............ . Freddy has geared the Inn for complete comfort and relaxation of his guests , from the complimentary use of towels and umbrellas for the beach , including sun tan lotion [ and after sun !!] to the free use of cycles [ including cycle holder for your car] to explore the lanes , and every other conceivable need his guests might have , Freddy as thought of it.
Every day started with the most pleasant of experiences , a gastronomic delight THE breakfast , words could not do it justice this is another area where Freddy excels, it is an experience that as to be experienced . American cuisine at its ultimate best , prepared with a touch of British quality and flair.
This was such a lovelly relaxing experience staying with the most convivial of hosts ,Freddy , in this beautful of Inn , that I can highly recommend the Honeysuckle Inn to anybody who is thinking of a stay on the Cape , so much so that my wife and I will be back next year.

A must if you are holidaying on Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlytheBridgeValiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed at the Honeysuckle Hill Inn from June 6 to June 8. As we arrived by bus to Barnstable, we found out that there was no possibility to take a taxi from the bus station. Fortunately, our bus driver called the Inn Keeper and asked him to pick us up. We were embarrassed, but Freddy kindly came and made us feel at ease right away.

The Inn is a very nice old house and the garden is just beautiful. You can drink as much as you want, ranging from wine & liquors to sodas. Everywhere you find little nuts, chocolates…to eat. There are plenty of books, guides you can borrow during your stay. Freddy lent us two bikes and we biked back and forth in this magnificent area.

Even in a five star hotel, you would never get such an incredible breakfast. Freddy is really a “cordon bleu”. You start with freshly baked cakes or muffins (still hot when Freddy serves them) on the porch – just delicious. You move then to the dining room, where the “Festival” goes on for another three course breakfast, where everything is just perfect. Even if Freddy is occupied with cooking, he always finds time to make little jokes and comments in between courses.

Freddy, Ruth and Roberta made us feel at home and their kindness and hospitality went far beyond what we have ever experienced.

Thank you for taking care of us so well.

Claudine and Serge
Switzerland

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cloclo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

For the past 35 years I have been coming to Cape Cod and have stayed at a number of Inns from Sandwich to Provincetown and The Honeysuckle Hill Inn is by far the nicest. There are a number of reasons why The Honeysuckle is my favorite, but to me the most important reason is the owners and the atmosphere they create. Freddie and Ruth are the kindest, most generous and gracious Inn keepers I have ever met. And because of that, we have been coming 3 times per year for the past 4 years.

The Inn itself is impecable with its beautiful gardens, bright sunny rooms and screened in porch where the guests often gather for a cocktail in the evening and hot homemade muffins in the morning. The beds are incredibley comfortable and the 3 course breakfast keeps us going throughout the day until dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jakewhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

My husband and I are in our 60's. We have never been to a B&B before. When we traveled we always stayed at a hotel or motel. We loved our stay at Honeysuckle Hill B&B. Freddy, the Innkeeper was most gracious and accomodating. The morning breakfast was wonderful and you never knew what to expect each morning. Having breakfast with other guests was also interesing. Everyone was different and from a different part of the country. One couple was from California and another couple from Florida. The B&B's spring gardens were beautiful. Freddy loves to take care of them. We will definitely be going back to Honeysuckle Hill.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettyboop67NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Barnstable
7.0 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,126 reviews
6.7 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,276 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
High Pointe Inn
High Pointe Inn
#1 of 3 in West Barnstable
186 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lamb and Lion Inn
Lamb and Lion Inn
#2 of 6 in Barnstable
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeysuckle Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Hill

Address: 591 Old King's Hwy, Historic 6A, West Barnstable, MA 02668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Barnstable
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Barnstable
Price Range: $163 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Honeysuckle Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting Cape Cod seaside Inn, circa 1810. Beautiful gardens, romantic setting where you will enjoy comfort and relaxation, unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, delightful guestrooms and gracious New England hospitality near beach, island ferries, fine restaurants, whale watches, antique shops, museums and all Cape Cod attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Honeysuckle Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeysuckle Hill Hotel West Barnstable
Honeysuckle Hill West Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing