We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ginger

Blue Ginger
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Ginger is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Wellesley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church St.
Transit: Commuter Rail to Wellesley Square
Description: Blue Ginger, located in Wellesley, brings urban dining and sophistication to the suburbs. In celebration of its 10-year anniversary, Blue Ginger expanded with a Rockwell Group-designed renovation, creating a chic, feng-shui inspired space with three distinct dining options. Enhancements include an updated main dining room in which to savor Ming's signature East-West cuisine, three private dining rooms, and the new Lounge at Blue Ginger, complete with cozy banquettes and a 10-stool granite bar. An Asian Tapas menu is served in the Lounge, featuring casual, shareable dishes like "Ming's Bings," Ming's East-West take on the burger. "Blue Ginger is unusual, not only because of the food or the room, but because it's a neighborhood restaurant of a type not found too often in the Boston area...those of us who live farther away will just have to travel now that the secret is out." --The Boston Globe *NOTE* Reservations are not accepted for The Lounge at Blue Ginger
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

One of my favorites. Have been here many times for dinner. The bar is menu is different and excellent too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    124
    74
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ming Tsai was there the night we dined and was very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We've eaten ad Blue Ginger a number of times and while it is on the pricey side, it's a treat to have a high level restaurant in the western suburbs. My wife loves the butter fish. I have always really enjoyed the Tuna Poke(tartar) but it wasn't quite as good as in the past. We didn't have trouble making a reservation on the early side on a weekend night. Service was good and Ming was there to add charm and charisma to the evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happytravels18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

First time dining here. Had a generous gift certificate so thought we would do a special night out. Ambiance was casual and cool. Did not reflect the high prices. ( no butter knife, paper table covering). Both Entrees were very disappointing. I had curry pasta with cocoanut shrimp. The shrimp was overcooked and dry- no dipping sauce to alleviate that problem. Pasta was pasty and did not taste like curry that i had experienced in the past. They did not charge us for that entree because it was really not satisfactory and I ate very little of it. Husband had the rack of lamb medium rare. It was served sooo rare it almost did not look cooked. They took it back and cooked more- not at all what we were expecting. Husband ate the lamb with no complaints. Dessert was delicious- creme brule with cookies. They accommodated my husband's gluten free needs and were very nice overall. Total bill, with one bottle wine, and one entree credited was $159.00. Sooo disappointed! Really wanted to love this place but won't return even though we have $ left over on our gift certificate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1972rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A superior dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was very pleased to recently have dinner at the Blue Ginger. This Asian Fusion restaurant had a great selection of appetizers, entrees, deserts, and wines. The Korean Flat Iron Steak was exquisite!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rbreuning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
191 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at Fine Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

It's been a while since we've eaten at Blue Ginger, though we've had many meals here over the years. If you're in the Boston suburbs--those to the west, anyway--there's probably just a handful of other restaurants of comparable quality. In short, it's always a good special occasion choice. In this instance, with a large party, the food was excellent and the service impeccable. Every dish was served to the appropriate diner without the now customary "Who has the ...?" that's sadly become an accepted standard in the restaurant industry. My only caveat is the cost which exceeds what we'd ordinarily want to spend. I can only wonder if that contributed to a less-than-full house the evening we were there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger also viewed

 
Wellesley, MA
 

Been to Blue Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing